Skip to content

The First Post

January 17, 2011

I thought in my first attempt at a blog post I would introduce myself and a little bit about the philosophy (maybe that’s too grand a word) idea behind my “Every Day’s a Picnic” blog. For anyone who’s interested I’ve given a more detailed introduction of myself on my “about” page.

A silly picture of me pretending to drive a tank on Saltfleetby beach (Lincolnshire) … I’ve no idea if they’ve even got steering wheels!

Saltfleetby9

Once I decided that I wanted to start a blog, the hardest thing to do was to choose a name. My boyfriend helpfully came up with a string of innuendo, claiming that I’d get more hits from the male internet community. I calmly explained that wasn’t audience I was going for! I eventually stuck on this title because:

1) It was the first half decent idea that I came up with.

2) It sort of encapsulates my attitude to food and eating.

Picnics to me symbolise having a variety of foods to choose from and grazing throughout the day on the yummy leftovers. I love variety – I want different textures, flavours and colours and I want to try new things. I want to eat healthily and for me the best way to do that is to explore all the sumptuous healthy foods that are available out there. That’s part of the reason why I love reading so many of the healthy living blogs – they give me inspiration to make and eat things that I hadn’t even hard of the day before.

No picnic is complete without egg sandwiches in my opinion – this is the egg and cottage cheese on toast I had as a pre-gym snack this evening. I was seriously yummy (better than it looks – I have to work on the photography) and great fuel for my hard-core circuits class.

111

Picnics symbolise fun and that’s the relationship I want to have with food and exercise. I’ve crow-barred the metaphor in based on a snappy title for a blog … but I hope it kind of makes sense.

I hope to start blogging a bit about what I eat during the day, my fitness regime and my attitude to life in general … and just see how it goes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:31 pm

    Enjoyed reading this – hope you get lots of satisfaction writing it.
    Keep up the good work and fun.
    x

Leave a Reply

