Skip to content

A Weekend Studying

January 21, 2011

So this is what I’ll be doing this weekend:

008 - Copy

Believe it or not, I actually enjoyed studying when I was at school and at university, but I find it a real bind now I’m working full time. It sucks that I have to spend most of the weekend tied to my parents’ dining room table, but it will be over by 12:30 on Monday and next weekend I’m off to Cuba (yay!).

I haven’t done any sort of exercise today – my body has been crying out for a rest day, everything feels very tight. I’m not very good at stretching on a regular basis, but I know I need it today. I might have a hot bath and stretch out later!

I started off the day with banana porridge which was much more successful than the one I had earlier in the week now my bananas were riper. I microwaved 50g oats with half a banana and some skimmed milk. I then topped it with some milled flaxseed and a pinch of cinnamon – perfection!

I then drove from Leeds to my parents’ home in Chester. I always tend to study there because I can take over their table, I get lots of cups of (herbal) tea made for me and I get to enjoy my Dad’s cooking. When I arrived mid-morning I grabbed a cup of decaff coffee, a Coco-Loco Nakd bar and the other half of the banana I had for breakfast. Then I hit the books.

I had two courses for lunch. I love that I can be really decadent when I’m at home for lunch. My Dad’s chicken and vegetable soup to start (not 100% sure what was in it but I detected chicken, carrots, cauliflower, cauliflower leaves, barley, red pepper, potato and onion).

005 - Copy (2)

I also made a salad with mixed leaves, cucumber, beetroot, baked tofu and a simple olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. I baked the tofu yesterday and it was my first successful attempt. I cut the tofu up smaller than I have done previously (I cut about 1x1x2 inch pieces) and marinated it for an hour in soy sauce, ginger and cumin and then baked it for about 20 mins, turning halfway.

010

Mid-afternoon I had some hummus with 2 sunflower seed and oat ryvitas and some cucumber batons.

Once I’d got fed up of revising Dad showed me how to cook mussels. It was very easy, just putting them on a in-pan steamer and steaming them in a little water for 5 mins. I love mussels, but I haven’t decided how to eat them yet. One of us might make a mussel and prawn broth with the cooking liquor tomorrow.

016 - Copy

I repaid the favour by showing Dad how to cook quinoa (I’m not sure how he was going wrong) and we had it with the lovely turkey mince stir-fry that he made for dinner.

021

I’m going to have an evening snack now – some sort of combo of 0% Total yogurt, dried fruit and nuts I think.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 9:20 pm

    What are you studying for? I’m sure i could work it out — is that an accountancy textbook?? — but it’s Friday and I’m tired and my dinner still isn’t ready! 😦

    Good luck anyway. Studying at the weekend sucks, but with the exam so close it becomes easier to motivate yourself. And then you’re going to Cuba! Are you going to blog from there?

    • January 22, 2011 7:32 am

      Thanks – I’m studying for a professional qualification in purchasing and supply … so nearly as thrilling as accountancy!!
      I’m not planning to take my laptop to Cuba, but will blog if the hotel has internet access.

  2. January 22, 2011 9:21 am

    That tofu salad looks scrummy! Have fun in Cuba… jealous!!

  3. January 22, 2011 2:45 pm

    Just caught up on all of your previous posts and I have to say how refreshing it is to find a UK blogger with such a balanced attitude towards health and fitness, neither under nor overtraining, not starving herself but eating what I consider to be a near perfect diet in terms of food groups and, as I said, balance.

    I particularly like the look of all of your tofu dishes and shall have to try and recreate some of them!

    Good luck with all your studies: I am currently procrastinating by blog reading and commenting…it’s been the pattern for the last week it seems!

    Looking forward to reading more 🙂

  4. Angela permalink
    January 22, 2011 8:24 pm

    Well, I was enjoying your blog until I caught sight of the mussels!!!!! Agh! and Urgh!
    Hope the revision is going well.

    • January 22, 2011 10:39 pm

      Mmmm – mussells my favourite! I’m afriad they feature a little in today’s post as well … but I promise that’ll be it for a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

