Skip to content

Exercising Away From Home

January 23, 2011

The good news is my hamstring is much better today. It was still a little tight this morning, but improved enough to get my workout in and it actually feels 99% better after the workout. I’ve been very lucky with injury so far (touch wood) and haven’t really had anything more than niggles. I do occasionally have a problem with my big toes (doesn’t sound much, but can be quite painful) and I intend to see the podiatrist that visits work as I have weird shaped feet and I think that might be causing the problem.

When I’m away from Leeds for any period of time I have a few tactics to keep fit whilst I can’t go to my normal classes or to the gym. I know that running would be ideal as you can do it anywhere and it’s free! However, I’m not much of a runner, although I’m starting to feel inspired by all the running bloggers out there and may give it a go at some point – I’ll keep you posted on how I get on with that. One tactic I have is going to a class at the local council gym or going to the local swimming pool. Unfortunately there weren’t any classes I fancied on this weekend and the pool’s closed for repair.

My other tactic is doing circuit training in my parents living room. I’ve also worked out in hotel rooms (when they were big enough and I wasn’t going to be disturbing anyone below me!) and I did circuit training in my living room at home when it was very snowy in Leeds. I’ve been going to various exercise classes for two years now and my routines are a mixture of different moves I’ve learnt from circuits, boxercise, BodyCombat, aerobics and toning classes. There’s no science behind the routines – I just try and have lots of variety to keep me interested because working out in the living room could be quite boring. I have about three routines that I rotate, again to keep things interesting. I’ve posted one of the routines here.

My eats today were quick and easy as I didn’t want to take too much time out from my revision. I had my favourite banana oats for breakfast. Mid-morning I had more melon with some fat-free natural yogurt and some mixed seeds.

23Jan11(1)

Lunch was left-over mussel and prawn soup, some wholemeal bread and a small tofu salad. By the time I got to mid-afternoon my brain was fried and I was in a very indecisive mood. So, I had 3 sunflower seed and oat ryvita topped with marmite, hummus and cottage cheese, plus an apple for good measure. Other good toppings are nut butter (hazelnut is my fave at the moment), soft cheese, egg, banana. However, even my large appetite couldn’t cope with all those at once!

23Jan11(2)

Dinner was a roast beef dinner with a potato, carrots and sprouts and some delicious roasted veggies – onion, yellow pepper, butternut squash and courgette. Thanks Dad!

23Jan11(3)

Pudding was a very yummy (if un-photogenic) baked apple from my parents’ garden filled with raisons, dates and ginger and served with fat-free fromage frais.

23Jan11(4)

Now off to try and get my seven and a half hours sleep before my exam tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 10:26 pm

    Oooh I LOVE baked apples! Yum! 🙂

    Good luck for your exam tomorrow! 😀

  2. January 23, 2011 10:29 pm

    Good luck!

  3. January 24, 2011 5:18 pm

    I hope your exam went well! I find circuits at home can give you a really great CV / strength workout, especially if you have weights to hand. I definitely wouldn’t want to work out at home all the time, but in a pinch it’s a really good option, and can actually be quite exciting(? !) for the introduction of variety.

    Enjoy Cuba!

  4. January 24, 2011 8:07 pm

    Loving your blog! I the exam went well for you! 😛

Leave a Reply

