Skip to content

Five Reasons to be Cheerful

January 24, 2011

It’s getting towards the end of January and winter seems to be dragging on – it could be quite depressing. Instead I decided to inject some positivity into my life and think of the things that make me happy and cheer me up. When I started to think about it I had loads more than just five reasons to be cheerful, but I decided to start with five and maybe make a regular series of posts out of the rest.

I’ve been planning this post all day and it’s put me in a brilliant mood. Even when things have gone wrong, like my newly bought blueberries scattering on the kitchen floor, I’ve shrugged and carried on.

 

Number 1 – having time to catch up with myself

I’ve spent all weekend revising, so I don’t feel like I’ve had much “me” time over the past week. My exam finished at 12:30 this afternoon, so I was able to get home early and do some of the things I’m normally too busy or too tired to do. I went to the supermarket and had a good browse (I normally rely on home shopping) and picked up some adzuki beans that I’ll try and do something with later in the week and some tahini, which I’ve never tried before. When I got home I couldn’t wait to try out the tahini, so I made some hummus. On it’s own the tahini was really bitter, but it made damn good hummus, so much better than you can buy in the shop.

I had half an hour catching up on some zzzz’s (I adore afternoon naps – heaven) and then browsing all the blog activity I’d missed over the weekend.

 

Number 2 – brightly coloured fruit

Nature is brilliant – it brings us food that is inspiring and so good to look at, so much better than the bland brown processed stuff. Cantaloupe melon reminds me of sunshine and brings a smile to my face looking at it (my melon obsession continues!). The purple blueberries complement the orange perfectly.

24Jan11(1)

I served this with some fat-free fromage frais as a perfect pick-me-up afternoon snack.

 

Number 3 – stews and soups

I love stews and soups and could eat them all year round. In fact, I’m hoping to experiment with chilled soup come the summer (I’ve got a new Covent Garden recipe book which has some interesting chilled soup recipes in). However, there’s something about a warming, preferably spicy thick soup or stew that really hits the spot on a cold winter’s evening. This is what I tucked into tonight after my circuit training class:

24Jan11(2)

Attractive? No. Delicious and healthy? Hell yes! This was carrots, leek, aubergine, butter beans and a tin of chopped tomatoes cooked for about 45 mins. I added some vegetable bouillion and spiced it up with a very generous pinch of pepper and cinnamon. I added some spinach when I reheated it once I’d got back from the gym.

 

Number 4 – enjoying exercise

Exercising really cheers me up. It’s something I look forward to doing and I find it fabulous fun. Here’s someone else having fun with exercise:

Saltfleetby5

It’s my boyfriend’s family dog, Spike. He was hobbling around quite a lot after a good session running about on the beach, but he really seemed to enjoy it at the time!

 

Number 5 – the new series of Glee

I’ve just watched tonight’s episode … enough said!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 9:53 am

    What a great post! It’s good to be reminded to be positive sometimes. Otherwise it’s so easy to just sink into a funk.

    If you like soups and stews and have some adzuki beans then they’re great in this recipe (I hope it works):
    http://whatsheseating.blogspot.com/2005/02/african-sweet-potato-stew-with-red.html

  2. January 25, 2011 10:30 am

    Great post – reminded me to focus on the positive things going on in my life this week and not get too bogged down by the end-of-Jan blues 🙂

Leave a Reply

