Skip to content

Getting in the Holiday Spirit

January 29, 2011
tags: ,

Today I’ve been getting ready to jet off to Cuba for a week with my Mum. Fingers crossed, we’re leaving in the morning on a 10 hour flight over to the beach resort of Cayo Coco. I say fingers crossed because I haven’t been having much luck in the holiday department recently. I was meant to go to Tenerife with my parents in December, but we were thwarted by the Spanish air controllers’ strike. I was due to go on a walking holiday with my walking group over New Year and that was cancelled because of a problem with the water pump.

We’re going to an all-inclusive resort and not so long ago this would have really panicked me – how would I cope with a never ending supply of food and drink? I would be sure to overeat! I’m feeling a lot more chilled about my diet now and I’m more confident that I have my appetite under control. However, I think it’s good to set a few goals for myself to keep myself on track, and so that I’m accountable when I return in a week and a bit:

1) Enjoy myself! I don’t want to be so focused on food that I forget to have a good time.

2) Keep active. There’s a gym at the hotel and intend on using it to keep up my fitness levels and maybe work off any excess calories. They’ll also be plenty of opportunity to swim, dance, and try out some water-sports.

3) Lay off the sugar. I’ve broken my sugar addiction and very rarely have sugary food now. I’d like to keep this up while I’m away as it makes me feel so much better. I’ve packed a supply of Nakd bars and mixed nuts in case I get snacky.

4) Don’t go mad on the alcohol. I haven’t drunk alcohol since the 1st January (apart from a mouthful of champagne yesterday when a colleague left work). I don’t want to abstain altogether necessarily, but I would like to stick to one drink a night and have a couple of no-alcohol days.

5) Try new things. Food-wise, trying new things keeps me interested and helps me stop reaching for the junk. I’m hoping there will be plenty of fresh fish to try as I don’t get round to eating much fish at home. This goal also applies to activities that may be offered to me. I’m fairly cautious my nature, but perhaps now is the time to throw caution to the wind!

I’ll report back when I return!

 

Packing and preparing to go away hasn’t stopped me having some delicious food today and engaging in part 2 of “operation eat everything in my fridge before I go on holiday”. Breakfast was a sliced pink lady apple and a sliced kiwi topped with Mornflake 5-fruit nut and seed muesli, milled flaxseed and skimmed milk. This variety of Mornflake is probably my favourite muesli – it’s cheaper than a lot of other brands, has no added sugar and is a local Cheshire company!

I went to a circuits class mid-morning which was quite tough compared to other classes I’ve been to lately – but that was very welcome. I’ve been becoming dissatisfied with my workouts lately, but I’ll write more about that when I get back.

I was starving when I got home and needed to refuel. I was planning to have lunch soon after, so I only made a small snack – a sliced banana cooked in a dry pan for a minute each side with a small dollop of peanut butter. Yum-tastic! The best bit was the burnt bits on the bottom of the pan!

29Jan11(1)

 

Lunch was some wholewheat penne pasta with leftover roasted veggies, tinned sweetcorn and Pesto Siciliana (pesto made with almonds that I picked up at the health food shop) served on a bed of spinach. Despite my valiant efforts I couldn’t use all the spinach, so I’ve left some for my housemate to finish.

29Jan(2)

 

I drove over to my parents and my Mum helped me finish packing (I’m still not old enough to pack my own suitcase properly – lol!) I had a pot of 0% Total yoghurt with mixed fruit and nuts as a mid-afternoon snack. Dad made yet another gorgeous dinner – grilled chicken with ratatouille, served with broccoli and carrots.

The ratatouille before it went on the plate:

29Jan11(3)

All served up on my plate:

29Jan11(4)

 

I had some honeydew melon for afters and I’m now feeling very full – I think I overdid the volume tonight!

Off to get my beauty sleep before an early start and a long flight tomorrow! I’m going to try and blog if I can get access to the internet in Cuba, but probably not as frequently as usual, so there will be a full round-up when I get back.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 8:54 pm

    Bon voyage! I think your goals are great for keeping a relaxed focus during your stay. Do make sure it’s relaxed though! And I’ll be interested to read what you have to say about workouts when you get back. I have trouble with feeling stale sometimes..

    Safe flight 🙂

  2. DonnyFan permalink
    January 29, 2011 9:35 pm

    have a fantastic time!

    I have to admit, I always set out with good intentions when going on holiday but those intentions are gone by about the 4th day :p

    having a gym will certainly help 🙂 x

  3. January 29, 2011 11:23 pm

    Have a wonderful break 🙂

    I think your coping strategies look good and if they help you to relax then that’s the main thing. No matter how much or little you work out, remember that it IS a holiday and you deserve some real ‘you’ time while you’re out there.

    xxx

  4. January 30, 2011 9:26 am

    Have a brilliant time!

Leave a Reply

