Skip to content

Holiday Round-up

February 7, 2011
tags: ,

I got back from Cuba this morning after an 8 hour flight. I’m feeling a bit jet lagged (even though Cuba is only 5 hours behind the UK, I took a night flight and cannot sleep on planes), but hopefully this blog post will make some sort of sense!

I did intend to write a couple of posts from Cuba, but I had a blog password fail when I realised that my password has a pound sign in it and Cuban keyboards don’t have pound signs!

I guess it makes sense to do a holiday round-up based on the goals I set myself in my last post before I left.

 

1) Enjoy myself!

Mission accomplished!

034

Relaxing in a hammock … OK – not so much relaxing, but trying really hard not to fall off, hence the slightly gritted smile.

010

Lying by the pool.

 

2) Keep active

I made it to the resort gym once, but the only thing that worked (albeit shakily) was the treadmill. The other day I attempted to go to the gym it was being painted. I did go for lots of walks along the beach and went snorkelling in a stream with a really strong current which was fab exercise. I actually enjoyed the rest from proper training and I feel fit and ready to get back into it this week.

042

Attractive snorkelling photo.

 

3) Lay off the sugar

Mostly achieved, I certainly didn’t feel that I missed out on desserts and ice-cream. I did indulge in a few sugary cocktails (yum-tastic!)

The food was so good that I didn’t need to indulge in unhealthy things. I did eat A LOT though and am looking forward to eating normal portion sizes now I’m back.

049

Healthy breakfast (NB – this was not all I ate for breakfast – there was more!)

 

4) Don’t go mad on the alcohol

I aimed for a couple of alcohol-free days, but the all-inclusive package was a bit too tempting. I did drink sensibly though and don’t feel any regret.

024

Fancy champagne cocktails.

 

5) Try new things

Food-wise the hotel buffet was fab. I tried loads of new fish and different salads. I also tried dancing to some Cuban rhythms (out of time!)

048

 

Despite the tiredness I feel relaxed and super-excited about getting back into the healthy eating and fitness groove – and of course getting back into the blogworld!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 9:11 pm

    Welcome back 🙂

    Looks like you had a brill, balanced, fun holiday!

    I think you stuck so well to your goals and also managed to relax, let go and unwind a little without being too rigid. A success all round I’d say.

    xxx

  2. February 8, 2011 8:04 am

    It looks like you had a great time! Keeping active by snorkelling and dancing to some Cuban beats is the coolest thing! And I’m glad you had a few champagne cocktails. That has to be what holidays are for 🙂

    Me neither with the sleeping on overnighters btw. Though in the end it can work to your advantage, as you’re so tired when you get back it’s pretty easy to get back on schedule.

    Welcome home!

  3. Stacey permalink
    February 8, 2011 7:57 pm

    It sounds like you had a fab time. I’ve always fancied going to Cuba.

Leave a Reply

