Skip to content

A New Fitness Routine

February 9, 2011

Before I get onto the main point of my post this evening … it’s Wednesday, so it’s seasonal food of the week time!

This week it is (drumroll please) … POTATOES!!! Yes, the good old, humble spud.

image

I know that white potatoes don’t feature regularly in the diets of a lot of healthy eating bloggers and I don’t eat them regularly myself, I usually prefer sweet potatoes. However, this is an opportunity to re-connect with an old favourite. I bought I huge bag from the market this afternoon (I only wanted one or two, but a huge bag was all they had) and I have a few ideas for recipes. I’ve already made a potato, carrot and lentil soup that I’ll have for lunch over the next few days. I’ll post the recipe tomorrow and report back.

Now onto my new fitness routine. Before I went on holiday I mentioned that I was becoming dissatisfied with my workouts. I’ve been doing various fitness classes for the past two years and at the moment I’m regularly doing 3 or 4 classes at week at local leisure centres – mostly circuit training. I’m finding this training less and less challenging. Occasionally the instructors will come up with a new routine that makes me go a bit wobbly at the knees, but that’s the exception. I started exercising as a teenager to lose weight, but since then I’ve really found a love for it. I feel that I’m in the best shape I’ve ever been in, but I want to give myself an extra challenge.

I think I’ve also mentioned that I’m not much of a runner. I run on the treadmill in the gym every so often and run a little as part of circuit training, but never for very long. I’ve had good intentions to start running several times over the years, but never managed it (too many bad memories of high school cross country!). However, I’m going to give it a proper go now because

a) it will give me a new challenge

b) it’s free and I’ll be able to do it anywhere

c) I have a competitive edge and it will give me a chance to work on something, improve and maybe even enter a race

I’m going to start on a basic walk/run programme and build myself up gently. I’m conscious that this will be a drop in intensity compared to my current classes, so I’m going to carry on doing 3 classes a week, alongside 2 runs and 2 rest days. So, this week’s training plan looks like this:

Wednesday Boxercise
Thursday Circuits
Friday Run/walk
Saturday Rest
Sunday Run/walk
Monday Circuits
Tuesday Run/walk

I’m also going to carry on walking the 3.5 miles home from work at a brisk pace whenever I can (not least because the £2.10 bus fare I save every time is going towards a fitness kit fund!)

I’m going to continue with this until the end of the month. I’m then going to cancel my gym membership and have a go at a local military fitness class – Commando Fit twice a week and up the runs to 3 times a week.

I don’t want to change everything at once and definitely don’t want to injure myself, but hopefully by changing it up I’ll be able to take my fitness to a new level.

I’ve rambled enough today, but I’ll just share the best food of the day –

My pre-boxercise snack:

9Feb11(2)

This was an amazing combo of frozen blueberries zapped in the microwave for 30 seconds, topped with fromage frais and Perfekt organic quinoa granola.

Post-boxercise dinner:

9Feb11(4)

A green-tastic courgette and pea duck egg omelette on a bed of spinach. This was good – the peas gave a lovely sweetness. Also, I think I might be addicted to spinach and I’m getting very worried that my supplies are running low!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 11:14 pm

    HA I eat white potatoes pretty regularly- I don’t have a problem with them! Still prefer sweet taste wise though 😛

    YAY for running!! And I’m a total spinach addict too, so I can relate! 🙂

  2. February 9, 2011 11:26 pm

    I have horrible memories of cross-country too…always coming last, being yelled and jeered at, being made fun of for my weight, being cold, tired and miserable. But running for yourself is an entirely different experience, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it 🙂

    xxx

  3. February 10, 2011 10:15 am

    I love that you’re resurrecting the white potato! I don’t know why they’re demonised so much. I know they’ve got less nutrients than sweet potatoes, but they’re still pretty good for you. Especially with baked beans and cheese! 😉

    Exciting news on the running. And you’re right to make a thing of walking home too. Building in regular activity like that is what keep base fitness levels ticking over (as well as allowing for an extra biscuit or two.. )

  4. DonnyFan permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:11 pm

    oh that pre-boxercise snack looks FAB! as does the omelette….. 🙂 🙂

    I too am a huge fan of spinach, I love love love it 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

