Skip to content

Who Am I and What Am I Doing Here?

February 10, 2011

Don’t worry, I’m not going to start a great existential debate, instead I’m reflecting on my blog so far and pondering on what I want it to be in the future.

I’m new to blogging and only started this blog about a month ago (over a week of which I was on holiday, so that doesn’t count!), although I’ve been reading various other healthy living blogs since the summer. I wanted to start my own because I feel I have a lot in common with other bloggers in terms of the way I eat, my attitude to fitness and to life in general. I love the “Gosh, I thought it was just me that did that” moments as well as learning new things with every post I read. I want to add some of my own experiences, triumphs and cock-ups to the community.

Having said all that, one thing I’ve learned is that I am unique – we all are. Although a lot of healthy living bloggers have similar attitudes to food and exercise, we are not the same. I’ve made a conscious effort not to change who I am and what I eat based on the influences of other people. Although I love coming across new ingredients, recipes and handy fitness tips, ultimately I’m happy with my diet (in the sense of the way I eat on a day-to-day basis) and don’t need to make any drastic changes.

I’ve also learned that there are lots of different styles of blog out there. Some with lots of pretty pictures, some that are basically food journals, some that focus on fitness and some that are a mixture with some random bits thrown in! So what do I want this blog to be? Well, I guess it’s the last one – I can be quite random at times! Most of the blogs I admired when I first started reading them were food journal types and I guess that’s what I was going for too in my first posts. I’ve had chance to reflect on that and realised that over the course of the week I eat fairly similar things – porridge or muesli for breakfast; nuts, dried fruit, yoghurt, Nakd bars for snacks; and various kinds of salad based on spinach for lunch. It’s boring for me to write about this every day, plus I’ve not managed to take an appetising picture of porridge yet!!

So, I’m going to go with the edited highlights of what I eat each day, and if I have a really boring day I won’t even bother with that! There will be more if I have a day when I’m really excited about my food. Today happens to be one of those days!!

Breakfast:

10Feb11(1)

This is yummy Mornflake 5-fruit and seed muesli topped with (defrosted) frozen blueberries and a sliced kiwi. Talking about edited highlights – I actually had this with milk and flaxseed, but that didn’t look pretty.

Also, in the category of things I’ve learned from blogging: kiwis with the skins on! Who knew? My family thinks I’m crazy, but it works.

Potato-based lunch:

9Feb11(3)

This was the seasonal vegetable of the week recipe I made last night. (Again – edited as I actually ate this at work in a huge Eeyore bowl!)

Potato, carrot and lentil soup (2 servings)

  • 1 small chopped onion
  • 2 small-ish potatoes, diced
  • 2 small carrots, diced
  • lentils (sorry I didn’t measure, it was probably about 1/3 cup)
  • 2 tsp marigold vegetable bouillion
  • water (I used my judgement to make the thickness of soup I wanted – I probably used about 1 litre or just under)
  • ground black pepper

Fry the onion in a little oil until soft, then add the potatoes, carrots and lentils. Add the water and the bouillion and simmer for 30 minutes or until vegetables are soft. I then whizzed it with a hand blender a little, so that I got a creamy texture, but there were still chunks of vegetables.

Leek & potato soup is the traditional combo, but I think potatoes and carrots are a match made in heaven.

Late-afternoon snack:

10Feb11(3)

This was good! It the sprouted hemp bread that I picked up from the health food shop a couple of weeks ago, lightly toasted and topped with cottage cheese, served with cucumber batons. I love this bread, it’s so chewy and moist and has a great flavour. I can’t wait to try to sprouted spelt bread I bought too.

Dinner:

10Feb11(5)

Apologies for the blur, I used heavier weights at my class tonight and my hands were shaking a little! This was a delicious mix of vegetables (courgette, broccoli, leeks, carrots and sweetcorn) tossed in a little pesto Siciliana on top of quinoa and chickpeas. I love the combination of quinoa and chickpeas. In fact I made extra to have for my lunch tomorrow.

I’m off to Cambridge straight after work tomorrow to see my boyfriend for the weekend, who i haven’t seen for 4 weeks! Eeeeeeeee Smile

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 7:39 am

    Yaay, have a good time in Cambridge!

    I don’t think I could *ever* be a food blogger! Like you, I often eat similar stuff. Over the course of a month my diet is really varied, but week to week I’ll batch cook something and then just eat it for days on end! Plus I’m not very good at presenting my food.. !

    I think a good place to start is what do you *want* to write about. If you feel proud or pleased with your days food for its overall balance and variety, then post the whole lot. But I think a recipe / food ideas format is usually better.

    And for the fitness obsessives amongst us, tell us more about your fitness stuff!

    Nice work on the weights 🙂

  2. DonnyFan permalink
    February 11, 2011 9:18 am

    interesting post 🙂

    I know that, for me, my blog at the moment is more of a food journal because I’m back to actively losing weight for a couple of months or so, having gained a few pounds in recent months. By spelling out everything I’ve eaten, and taking photographs, it’s keeping me focused and on track. I am conscious though that somedays my food is ‘samey’ as I do tend to stick similar stuff, especially when it’s there in the fridge to be used up :p

    I do try to throw other stuff in there too though just to make it a bit more interesting – for me and for anyone who stumbles across it and reads it.

    I do like reading other blogs though for inspiration to shake things a bit, but like you, I know what I like and what suits me.

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. February 11, 2011 6:56 pm

    Yay another UK blogger! I am excited as I love reading blogs and the US ones have so many things. ingredients that we cant get over here!

Leave a Reply

