Skip to content

How to Feed a Small Army

February 13, 2011

Hey, I hope everyone is having a good weekend so far. I’m having an amazing weekend, which has included the beginning of my running programme and some mega cooking.

One great thing about this weekend is that my boyfriend has let me play with his fancy-pants camera (Canon 400D with 24-105 f/4.0 lens – doesn’t mean much to me, but all I know is it takes pretty pictures).

We decided we wanted to cook up a big pot of something healthy yesterday evening. Peter’s housemate gave him this recipe a few years ago and we make it fairly regularly. It makes about 10 huge man-size portions, so bare that in mind if you don’t want to have to fill up 2 freezers with the stuff.

Lentil and vegetable pasta sauce

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 5 large carrots, grated
  • 3 large leeks, sliced in quarters lengthways and then chopped
  • large pack closed-cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 250g red lentils
  • 3 tins chopped tomatoes
  • cinnamon (lots)
  • ground black pepper
  • pinch chilli flakes
  • 2 tsp vegetable bouillion
  • 1 tablespoon soya sauce
  • few drops Worcester sauce

1. Fry the chopped onion in a little oil few a few minutes until translucent.

025

 

2. Add the crushed garlic and the lentils and fry for a couple of minutes.

039

 

3. Grate the carrots and chop the leeks.

038

(Yes that is A LOT of grated carrot)

4. Add the chopped tomatoes, carrot, leek and spices (not the vegetable bouillion) to the pan, plus 1 can of water.

062

 

5. Put the lid on and simmer for about an hour, or until the vegetables and lentils are soft (this won’t take as long with fewer ingredients).

6. Add the sliced mushrooms and vegetable bouillion and simmer for another 30 minutes.

… et voila!

We served with some really good quality spaghetti (Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference) and some mature cheddar cheese as this was a bit of a weekend treat and the spaghetti really holds the sauce well. It’s also delicious with any wholewheat pasta, brown rice, as a filling for sweet potato or thinned down into a soup (and maybe blended).

079_edited

This was Peter’s man size portion, and this was Peter afterwards:

 

083

(Very full indeed!)

 

As I said, I also started my running programme this weekend. I’m doing a very gradual build-up programme as I’ve never ran outside before and I’m a bit scared! I’m running/walking twice a week until the end of the month and then doing three runs a week from the beginning of March.

On Friday morning and this morning I did a very easy run/walk:

5 minutes power walk warm-up;

1 minute run, 3 minutes power walk x4

I’m hoping to build this up to become a “proper” runner and I’ve already signed up for a race (Leeds Run for All 10k on 19th June) to try and keep my motivation going!! Leeds University also hosts a timed 5k race every Saturday morning which I hope to run once I’m able to run 5k!

Despite the easy start, my legs are complaining about the fact that where I live in Leeds is very hilly – I won’t have a problem with finding somewhere to do my hill training once I get better! My run in Cambridge this morning was much kinder on my poor pins.

Enjoy the rest of Sunday – I’m going shopping for a new sports bra this afternoon (I lead a very exciting life!).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 12:35 pm

    Have fun shopping- the shock absorber Run bra is the best one I have ever tried. It is expensive but really worth it- and its on amazon and a few other websites so might be worth a look?

  2. waltersdaughter permalink
    February 13, 2011 12:36 pm

    Peter certainly looks to have been floored by that!

  3. February 13, 2011 12:58 pm

    I agree with Maria – the shock absorber run is by far the best! Love the sound of your lentil and veggie sauce, if only I could get my man to eat lentils!

  4. February 13, 2011 9:19 pm

    Yes, the one advantage of my lack of chest is that it doesn’t get in the way while running. Hope you do find a good sports bra and I definitely think that 10K is doable for you because you have such a great level of residual fitness already.

    Pfft, man-size portion indeed. Now I feel like a right pig because my portions are all that size or bigger 😦 Oh well!

    xxx

  5. February 13, 2011 10:18 pm

    YUMMY sauce!! I am a lentil ADDICT, so this looks delish!! And I just use a cheapo sports bra, cos I have a v small chest! 😛

    You’re gonna ROCK that 10k by the way!! I started out the exact same way 🙂

  6. AlisonM permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:23 am

    Haha, I love that picture of Peter!

    And it sounds like you’re taking a really sensible approach to the running. It can be quite daunting starting I think; it’s certainly a bit of a shock to the system! The soreness will ease off pretty quickly once you’re into a regular routine 🙂

  7. February 14, 2011 9:57 am

    Thanks for sharing that recipe, it sounds delicious and I like that it could be used in so many ways (particularly loving the sound of it piled on top of a sweet potato, yum).

    I hope you managed to buy a good sports bra. I second (third?) what others have said about the Shock Absorber ‘Run’ one, it’s by far the best sports/running bra I’ve ever owned 🙂

  8. February 14, 2011 11:15 am

    That sounds so good! I may have to make it and serve it with some wholewheat pasta! 😀

Leave a Reply

