Skip to content

Drinking Habit

February 15, 2011

Thank you for all your positive comments about my hip/foot problems – I feel loads better today! I’ve really started seeing the positive side and I’m looking forward to the opportunity to improve other aspects of my fitness.

I’m off to a pub quiz this evening, which has partly inspired the theme of my post today (although I’ll be sticking to soft drinks tonight as I’m driving and it’s a school night!) I’ve written quite a bit about what I eat, but haven’t really said anything about what I drink. I think having healthy drinking habits are just as important as healthy eating habits. Firstly, staying hydrated is vital especially when doing regular high-intensity exercise. Secondly, as the cliche goes “I’d rather eat my calories than drink them”, although I’m no angel as you will see!

 

Water and diluted fruit juice

running-tap-water-recycling-photo

Source

I try to drink water throughout the day and always have a litre bottle of tap water on my desk at work to sip. I usually get through about a litre and a half during the working day. I don’t actually usually have a bottle of water with me when I’m working out (although trying to get into the habit). I always sip a glass of water before an exercise session and another glass afterwards.

I spice up my water drinking with diluted fruit juice as well. This is usually around 1 part juice to 6 parts water. My favourite juices to dilute are orange (without the bits) and anything tropical with mango in.

 

Caffeine

I haven’t drank caffeine since the beginning of November and feel great for it. There is an argument that caffeine can mess with your body’s insulin levels, plus for me it tends to cause an energy rush followed by a dip a bit like a sugar high.

I used to have a serious Diet Coke habit. For many years I would have at least one can or bottle a day, sometimes as many as 3 or 4! And I would get cravings for the stuff. I gave it up a while back, partly because it has caffeine in it, but also because it wasn’t doing my teeth any good (I have dodgy teeth with quite a few fillings) and it’s loaded with artificial sweeteners. I want balance in my diet and don’t want to eliminate anything, but Diet Coke is seriously addictive for me.

 

Herbal tea

I love my herbal teas (apart from anything with liquorice in it – yuck!) and my staple is rooibos tea with milk. I’m also loving Clipper teas at the moment and these are the ones I have in my cupboard:

006 - Copy (2)

The orange and coconut one is really yummy and the chamomile is great as a bedtime drink. I also occasionally drink green and white teas (although I realise these have some caffeine in)

 

Alcohol

This is where I’m no angel – I do like a tipple. I drink a lot less than I used to at uni and I’m a total lightweight now! I don’t drink every week, but probably on average a couple of times a month. I actually managed (nearly) the whole of January without alcohol! I drink not to overdo it these days, although I can always be tempted into having one too many when I’m back with my uni friends.

My favourite tipples are wine (especially red wine), vodka with anything (except coke obviously!) and good quality cider:

072

Aspall’s cider is soooo nice. Peter and I shared this on Saturday night and also shared a bottle of their Premier Cru cider.

Off to win the quiz now (there’s my optimism again!). Happy Tuesday Smile

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 7:17 pm

    Wow that orange and coconut tea sounds amazing! I agree with the saying that I would rather eat my calories than drink them! I used to like a diet coke, but I have gone off the fizzy drinks (and I think I had a holiday where it was the only thing I drank each evening), then I read an article about diet fizzy drinks leaching the calcium from your bones, and so I try to avoid it now. Even if I go out for dinner (I dont drink alchohol) I ask for tap water- I only drink water, roobois and other teas, and maybe one caffinated tea per day- so thats what I like when I go out to eat too! 🙂
    Glad you are feeling better about your hip/foot. 🙂

  2. February 15, 2011 8:38 pm

    I second / third the eat calories rather than drink them, besides I don’t like how I feel in the morning even after 1 glass of wine. ‘fraid I can’t live without my coffee yet though 😉

  3. February 15, 2011 8:50 pm

    Whoa, I’m impressed you’ve been without caffeine since november. Black coffee is my 1 serious vice. Like, I-totally-abuse-the-substance vice! It causes me problems with my blood sugar too sometimes, though I’ve learnt to keep it to certain times of the day, and to (usually) have it with food. It is something I know I need to cut back on though, and this is a good reminder, thanks 🙂

  4. February 15, 2011 9:03 pm

    A couple of times a month isn’t bad at all! And haven’t they proved red wine’s good for you – all that Mediterranean diet stuff 🙂

  5. February 15, 2011 11:47 pm

    I have to admit, I do drink more than I should. I think its peer pressure as most of my mates do drink a lot (being in our late teens/twenties). I’m trying to stop the whole ‘binge drinking’ thing, although I don’t want to give up drinking all together as I do enjoy a nice glass of quality wine when out for a meal or to relax after a hard day.

  6. February 16, 2011 7:54 am

    I have that coconut orange tea, its gorgeous! I drink all day long – mostly water, green tea and herbal teas. I do have a couple of cups of coffee and more caffinated teas during the week. I rarely drink alcohol but when I do my tipples are very similar to yours – red wine and a good cider!

  7. February 16, 2011 10:11 am

    I wish I could develop a taste for herbal teas ~ I tend to drink lots and lots of water (uh, 3-4L!), bottled, which is awful for the environment and my secret vice. I don’t drink alcohol due to a strange allergic reaction I have to it which is actually rarely seen outside of people with asian genetics but I have unhealthy addictions to Powerade Zero and vegan hot chocolate.

    Hope the quiz went well!

    xxx

  8. February 16, 2011 12:02 pm

    I love Clipper teas, thety have so many unusual flours too. the coconut orange tea sounds amazing- I must hunt that one down!

  9. DonnyFan permalink
    February 16, 2011 4:15 pm

    I like the sound of the coconut & orange tea, will have to look out for that one – I’ve just invested in a one cup tea pot and it really enhances the flavour of the tea rather than putting the bag into the cup 🙂

    I’m having a dry February and I have to confess, last night I nearly caved but that was for all the wrong reasons – mainly stress. I’m in awe that you’ve knocked caffeine on the head though, I love my flavoured coffees and they just don’t come in the same range as fully caffeinated ones 😦

    x

Leave a Reply

