Skip to content

I Heart Breakfast

February 16, 2011

Well, we didn’t win the pub quiz last night! We managed 31 points out of 50 and the winners got 36 – so not too bad. I amazed my work colleagues with my random music knowledge when I recognised “Delilah” by Tom Jones after the first note (they might think I’m a little odd now!)

I had the most amazing breakfast this morning and it reminded me of how much I love breakfast in general. It’s by far my favourite meal of the day and definitely something to get out of bed for. I can’t understand people who skip it – I don’t think I have EVER missed breakfast and I would be seriously grumpy if I did.

This morning I had something I named “apple crumble overnight oats”. I made the oats yesterday evening by combining:

  • 50g oats
  • 1 dessertspoon milled flaxseed
  • a few sultanas
  • skimmed milk to cover
  • 1 tablespoon fromage frais

I left that in the fridge overnight. This morning I chopped up a braeburn apple into smallish chunks and zapped it in the microwave with a tiny bit of water for about 4 minutes (until it was soft). I added in some more sultanas and put the mixture on top of the oats. I topped all that with a tablespoon of Perfekt quinoa granola.

I did take a picture of it, but just realised that I deleted it by accident Sad smile It was very pretty and delicious though!

One thing I have got a picture of is the spinach hummus I made yesterday evening on top of a ryvita and heading towards my cake-hole:

004 - Copy

I made this by blitzing chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, spinach and pepper. I didn’t do any scientific measurement, I just chucked it all into a blender. It did end up a bit garlicky though (my poor work colleagues).

I also have an update on my injury. I went for an x-ray this evening and I’ve definitely got a fracture in one of the bones at the base of my right big toe. I’ve got to be fitted with an orthotic to change the way I walk. It will lift my toe off the floor and also correct the alignment of my knee and hip. I have an appointment next Friday to have gait analysis and have all my measurements taken. I should get the orthotic about 10 days later. I will have to wear it for at least a year and maybe forever, the podiatrist can’t tell.

In the meantime, he confirmed that I’ll have to keep off all impact exercise. I also asked him about walking and he said I should only walk for as long as it doesn’t hurt. At the moment it’s hurting after about a mile or two, so I won’t be able to continue walking home from work or going on hikes for the time being. This is a real blow as I love walking. I know it’s for the best and I should be able to return to all exercise eventually. I’m going to have to get creative in order to maintain my fitness!

Finally for tonight, seasonal food of the week is … ORANGES. I’ll try and get creative with orange recipes as well.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 9:39 pm

    You and my mother both clearly have weird little memory pockets in your brains for random movie & music trivia 🙂

    Loving your spinach hummus, I’ve never thought to make it with spinach in.

    Hope you can get your foot sorted xx

  2. February 16, 2011 9:46 pm

    Yay well done on the quiz! And at least you know what has caused the pain and hopefully it will get sorted. And that breakfast sounds yummy- I can never understand people who dont eat breakfast- I am hungry when I wake up, and love breakfast foods 🙂

  3. February 16, 2011 10:13 pm

    I keep meaning to try making spinach hummous, that looks delish!

  4. February 16, 2011 11:48 pm

    I love breakfast too: it’s all that gets me up in the morning some days! But breakfast foods just don’t seem ‘the same’ at any other time of the day…

    The oats sound lovely, and spinach hummus is on my long list of ‘to try’ recipes.

    xxx

  5. February 17, 2011 2:13 am

    Oooh, I love spinach hummus! I just bought a fresh bag of spinach- I’ll have to make some more 🙂

  6. February 17, 2011 7:27 am

    I have also never missed breakfast. Even when I’ve had to get up at 3am for a flight!

    It’s a shame you have to nix the walking for a while, but in the longer term you will end up in much better shape for this treatment on your foot. Can you still cycle and do the elliptical etc? Or just get REALLY badass at yoga! I had lunch with a friend who is big into Bikram yoga yesterday. He’s a runner, and he swears that this is just as hardcore. So you definitely have options 🙂

  7. February 17, 2011 11:01 am

    That hummus sounds delicious. I love how versatile hummus is, you can throw anything in!

  8. DonnyFan permalink
    February 17, 2011 3:23 pm

    pretty please can we have a piccie of the apple crumble oats next time? it sounds divine 🙂

    I have awful trouble trying to make hummus, my blender is too big I think, it just doesn’t like doing hummus at all 😦

    hopefully the orthoctic will help ease the discomfort for you 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

