Skip to content

Squashed

February 17, 2011

Believe it or not, I’ve actually been waiting since I started my blog in January to use that pun! I know it must have been been used many times before by others, but I’ve got it out of my system now.

We’re well into the New Year now, but it it might be time to revisit my resolution. I’m not a huge believer in New Year’s resolutions – I think most of them go out of the window by the middle of January. So, this year I made a slightly silly one: eat more squash. I’m a fairly recent convert to squash having previously thought I didn’t like it. I love it now, but do find it a bit intimidating and I have no patience with peeling it. I’ve been doing OK with my goal, but recently I’ve been buying them and not getting round to eating them, so they’ve been piling up in my basement. Last night I decided to roast a butternut squash (with skin!) I scoffed some of it immediately after it came out of the oven and took the rest of it to work for my lunch today.

001

 

I served it with some barley and topped it with some cottage cheese (unpictured). This was a delicious and really filling lunch – I struggled to finish it.

I’ve also been thinking about how to tackle my seasonal food of the week – oranges. I started off simple with the best combination of them all, orange and chocolate!

008 - Copy (2)

 

This is the 99% cocoa chocolate I picked up from Hotel Chocolat at the weekend. At first I found it mega-intense, but it’s definitely growing on me. I love really high cocoa chocolate! You also might be spotting a theme here – I have no patience with peeling things. Oranges in particular are such a faff! I was reminded of how delicious oranges can be – this one was so juicy and sweet and made me think of sunshine. I’ve been trawling the internet for other orange-based recipes. I found an interesting winter salad that I’ll hopefully make over the weekend if I can get hold of all the ingredients.

I made an experimental quick dinner with mixed success. I fried 6 large closed-cup mushrooms in a little oil. Once they were nearly cooked I added 2 large handfuls of spinach and a half a packet of vacuum-packed chestnuts. At the end of cooking I added  2 tablespoons of fromage frais, a pinch of black pepper and some cinnamon. The fromage frais split a little (I added too much heat I think), but it was very tasty and quick (less than 10mins).

019 - Copy

 

This evening I had an appointment with a gym instructor to get a new programme, seeing as I can’t continue with running, walking and impact exercise. I was sceptical that he would come up with a suitable programme as previous experience of some gym instructors hadn’t filled me with confidence. Plus, in general I find the gym boring and the only piece of equipment I kind of enjoyed using was the treadmill (which is a big no-no now). However, I have to say I was very impressed. I explained my injury to the instructor and he knew what I was talking about straight away. He took on board my goals (to maintain and increase fitness and to work on my arms and abs) and I’m hopeful about the programme he’s come up with.

  • warm up on cross-trainer, followed by stretches
  • resistance exercises for the arms (I’ll give more details when I can remember the routine!)
  • intervals on the summit trainer (which I’ve never used before)
  • intervals on the rowing machine (seriously hard work!)
  • floor exercises for the abs
  • cycling
  • warm-down stretches

I went to the gym to work out for 40 mins before my appointment, but regret that now! I got a serious workout tonight and I’m feeling it already – I dread to think what my DOMS will be like over the next couple of days! I feel a rest day coming on tomorrow.

I’ve been thinking about my new routine and I’ll post some more details tomorrow. I think taking one week at a time is key at the moment as it’s a complete change.

I’m on a gym-high this evening and really very positive that once I’m ready to get back  to high-impact exercise I’ll be fitter than ever.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 10:46 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had leftover squash before. It’s impossible for me to not eat the whole thing!

  2. February 18, 2011 7:43 am

    The summit trainer absolutely kicks my ass — quite literally! I think it’s a great piece of equipment. And it’s great that you can still row. Not just for you, but for me too! I’d like a rowing partner here in blog world, it gets kinda lonely!

    Looking forward to more deets on the routine 🙂

  3. DonnyFan permalink
    February 18, 2011 9:58 am

    I love love love BS, it’s one of my most favouritest veggies 🙂

    when I do soup I keep the skin on as peeling it is definitely a pain in the ass!

  4. February 18, 2011 10:11 am

    I’ve never used a summit trainer, sounds scary! That veggie dish looks yummy, and yey for butternut – I love it!

  5. February 18, 2011 10:36 am

    Gym highs are the BEST!! Looks like you had an amazing workout girl, and the summit trainer is no joke!! Keep up the amazingness, and I LOVED the pun!! Hilarious! 😀

  6. February 18, 2011 11:05 am

    Glad the trainer at the gym was helpful. The summit trainer is evil…I think it has to be my least favourite piece of cardio equipment as each movement/stride is so long and feels like wading through treacle to me. Anyone that can stay on one of those for any length of time will most certainly not lose their fitness!

    I love squash, of any kind. Sadly I may turn orange if I eat much more of it…

    xxx

Trackbacks

  1. A Relaxing Weekend « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

