Skip to content

Attack of the Hunger Monster

February 18, 2011

Yay – it’s Friday! I’ve been on a really boring course for the most of the week, so I’m pretty glad that it’s the weekend. I’m off to a ceilidh tomorrow evening, which is probably the highlight. Although it’s probably something I shouldn’t do with my sesamoidosis, I’m going to ignore medical advice for one evening (I promise I’ll be as careful as I can).

I have been seriously hungry today. I woke up starving and I was still hungry after my breakfast of muesli, milled flaxseed, a kiwi, a clementine and milk. When I got to my course, the tutor has bought us a packet of Marks & Spencer mini-brownie bites and I couldn’t resist one. I only had the one (plus another mid-morning) despite the fact that I could have easily fitted five in my mouth at once! Mid-morning I devoured the snacks that I took along with me (I would normally have saved the nakd bar and clementine for mid-afternoon):

031

The little bag contained some chopped apricots and pumpkin seeds which I mixed in with the yoghurt.

I unexpectedly finished work at lunchtime, so I did a little bit of shopping in Leeds and then headed home for lunch. I decided I needed something filling to keep the hunger monster at bay:

022

This was a huge bowl of wholemeal penne pasta, leeks, courgette, broccoli and chickpeas with some vegan pesto siciliana mixed in. I ate an orange afterwards and that just about hit the spot.

I’ve think I’ve identified why I’ve been so hungry all day. The length and intensity of my workout at the gym last night took me by surprise and I hadn’t fuelled properly beforehand. When I got home I wasn’t that hungry, so I had a light dinner and I should have eaten a bit more. Lesson learnt. Plus, eating those brownie bites probably didn’t help me to control my hunger this morning.

I’ve just had a snack of some freshly baked (at ASDA) wholemeal bread and homemade spinach hummus and I’m planning to cook a mixed bean chilli for dinner, which hopefully should do the trick at filling me up.

Onto my new fitness plan. I’ve spent the week thinking about what sort of weekly routine will help me to:

1) Maintain my fitness while I’m injured

2) Challenge me and hopefully improve my fitness

3) Keep me motivated

I wrote about my new gym programme yesterday and I hope to do it 2-3 times a week. I want to swim twice a week and also fit in a yoga class. This will definitely challenge me! I’m not great at swimming – I’m pretty slow, my technique is awful and I find it hard work. However, I’m willing to put in the effort to improve. Step one was buying some goggles (lack of goggles has probably held me back in the past).

021

Personally, I think I look REALLY attractive in them! I’ve found an improvers programme on the net that I’m going to give a go and I’ve spent some time watching tutorials on YouTube. Plus, my housemate used to be a competitive swimmer and has offered to come and give me some tips.

I’m also a relative newbie to yoga. I’ve done quite a bit of pilates in the past and I did do some yoga a few years back, but I’m basically starting from scratch.

I’m going to have to be flexible with my schedule and fit in workouts when I can as I’ve got an exam and some weekends away coming up. So, this is what this week’s schedule looks like.

Saturday Gym workout
Sunday Rest
Monday Yoga class
Tuesday Swim
Wednesday Gym workout
Thursday Swim
Friday Gym workout

Ideally I want to have 2 rest days each week, but this past week I’ve had quite a few rest days. Plus, initially the swimming sessions will be fairly low intensity while I’m getting better and improving my confidence.

Have a great weekend everyone!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 9:12 pm

    Hope you enjoy your fitness plan! I love swimming just wish it was easier to get to a pool! Love those googles, they suit you! 😉

  2. February 18, 2011 9:31 pm

    Goggles make such a huge difference to your swimming: I find it impossible to get the breathing right without them. I actually had a minor panic attack at the gym today when mine started letting in water…I thought they were going to break and I’d be in real trouble. I’m a wuss when it comes to opening my eyes underwater and can’t even do 100m without goggles!

    I’d be really interested to hear any tips you might have or advice you receive because I’m constantly trying to improve my swimming ability (or lack of it). Would it be possible to have those YouTube links at all? Thanks!

    I am always at the mercy of the hunger monster. Your day so far looks like a snack for me 😉

    xxx

    • February 19, 2011 4:14 pm

      The clips I was looking at were the one’s featured on YouTube by someone called Jimmy Shea:

      It seems quite easy to understand, although there are probably other videos that are also useful – there seem to be loads on YouTube.

  3. February 18, 2011 10:02 pm

    I need to start swimming again! I swam on a team when I was a kid and for a year in high school, but I got so preoccupied with running last year that I haven’t been swimming in ages. It’s such a good workout!

  4. February 18, 2011 10:03 pm

    Aaaaaahhhh the hunger monster, the evil twin of the cookie monster 😉 well done on pulling it back to healthy eating after brownie bites.

  5. February 19, 2011 7:48 am

    Haha, that picture is awesome!

    I think that programme looks pretty well balanced. What will the gym workouts look like? Circuits, weights, cardio, or a mixture of all 3?

    Oh, and if the hunger monster attacks after a tough session, you should feed it! I get told off by my PT for trying to resist it, and he’s always right about everything else, so.. 😉

  6. February 19, 2011 11:44 am

    Excellent goggles- love them!
    I have had the hunger monster and it normally comes the day after body pump- as the class is late I dont always eat much after- but I am learning (also if I eat not much I wake up starving in te night!)

  7. DonnyFan permalink
    February 19, 2011 12:40 pm

    love love love the pic!

    I’ve recently joined a new gym that has a great swimming pool and one of my aims is to improve my technique – I’m very much a ‘dry hair’ swimmer and it’s not good for the neck!

    the programme looks fab 🙂 x

  8. February 19, 2011 3:37 pm

    Haha, oh that photo is fabulous! Googles are amazing. I can’t swim without them.
    Your fitness plan sounds great, I hope both the swimming and yoga are rewarding and fun.
    I hope your foot held up OK at the ceilidh and you had a wonderful night 🙂
    xxx

  9. Stacey permalink
    February 19, 2011 4:59 pm

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that suffers with an insatiable appetite at times. At least you are identifying what causes it, mine seem to be so random I can never figure it out!

  10. February 19, 2011 5:21 pm

    I love fage greek yog! I eat vegan 90% of the time but thats one of my downfalls 🙂

Leave a Reply

