Skip to content

A Relaxing Weekend

February 20, 2011

Actually, I have difficulty relaxing. I spend most of my weekdays rushing around to work, to the gym, cooking, blogging etc. etc., it just feels weird to sit still for a while. I actually feel more tired this evening after a lie-in and a day watching an entire season of Glee than I do on one of my typical busy days. I enjoy being busy and I have a very low boredom threshold. Having said that, it’s good to slow down every now and then, as long as it’s not too often.

I haven’t completely vegetated though, yesterday was the first day of my new workout at the gym. I gave a brief overview in my post on Thursday and it went well. The whole workout took about an hour and a half, but if I was in a rush I could cut down the time on the cross trainer and the cycling.

  • 20 mins cross-trainer on random setting, average level 12
  • Stretches
  • Seated row resistance machine, 2 x 15 reps, resistance 6
  • Lat pull-down resistance machine, 2 x 15 reps, resistance 6
  • Shoulder press, 2 x 15 reps, 7.5kgs
  • Chest press, 2 x 15 reps, 12.5kgs
  • Adductor machine, 2 x 20reps, 35kgs
  • 5 Rowing intervals 1 min each (with 1 min rest in between): 1 at approx. 2:25 split; 3 at approx. 1:56 split; 1 at approx. 2:25 split
  • 6 mins summit trainer
  • Ab exercises (maybe I’ll go into more details in another post)
  • 10 mins cycling

Some of the weights probably seem ridiculously light, but I was pretty spent after this – the resistance exercises followed by the rowing intervals had me shaking with the lactic build up. I haven’t felt the after-effects too badly today, but there’s always tomorrow!

Food wise, the notable meal of yesterday was lunch:

028

I’m loving oranges as the seasonal food of the week and they go really well in salads. This one was spinach, cucumber, tomato, feta and orange with a really simple olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. I also had a spinach hummus and tomato sandwich. I’ve found a really interesting orange salad recipe using kale on the internet, but so far I’ve been unable to source any kale. I’m back at work tomorrow and will go and check out the market at lunchtime to see if they have any.

Yesterday evening, Peter and I went to a ceilidh run by the hiking group I belong to. I’m not able to do any hiking for a while because of my injury, so it was good to see some familiar faces. I probably shouldn’t have been dancing either, but I went for it anyway! Traditional pork pie and peas was included in the ticket price. I’m not the biggest pork pie fan, so I didn’t have any, but I tried Peter’s and have to say that it wasn’t bad (one of the hiking group is a butcher and he made them). I had some rum cheesecake for dessert though and that was yummy. I had a few cheeky vodka and tonics as well to get me in the dancing mood!

So, that brings me back to today’s Glee marathon (I must have watched each episode about 5 times now and can’t get enough!). It was a rest day exercise wise and I cooked up some amazing comfort food for dinner – chicken fajitas!

037

Maybe this wasn’t the healthiest thing I’ve ever cooked, but it was darn tasty! Chicken, onions, red & orange peppers cooked in fajita spices, served with salsa, fromage frais and chedder cheese all inside a flour tortilla. I had two of these babies and they really hit the spot.

So, as you can see I’ve had a mixed weekend in terms of healthy eating, but I don’t feel that I’ve overeaten and I’ve had plenty of my usual healthy stuff mixed in. Maybe this is the elusive “balance” that everyone keeps talking about?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 10:34 pm

    Oooh, that’s just taken me back to my pre-coeliac days and some amazing fajitas! Might have to recreate in a GF stylee…
    I really struggle to relax too; I’m so used to rushing all the time, it’s weird when I don’t have to!

  2. February 21, 2011 12:06 am

    I have a really hard time relaxing too! I feel like time goes by so fast on the weekends, and there are a lot of things I SHOULD have been doing today. UGH!

  3. February 21, 2011 9:26 am

    That looks like an awesome workout. Your eats look yummy especially the fajitas.

  4. February 21, 2011 9:33 am

    I know what you mean about feeling strange when just sitting down, but sometimes you just need to take it easy 🙂

  5. DonnyFan permalink
    February 21, 2011 10:02 am

    awesome workout and scrummy fajitas…… brilliant combo 🙂

  6. February 21, 2011 1:25 pm

    I’m totally addicted to Glee too! Looking forward to the new ep tonight! It’s odd how lazy days sometimes make you feel more tired too isn’t it.. totally illogical

  7. February 21, 2011 9:14 pm

    I think your week-end looks like the epitome of balance: your tea wasn’t unhealthy at all!

    Glad the workout went well and thanks so much for posting the YouTube link: definitely helped with my form when swimming today 🙂

  8. February 23, 2011 9:33 pm

    Haha, I love it that you had a Glee marathon! And I think a bit of foot pain has to be worth it in the aftermath of a ceilidh!

    And re the weights, I think you’re right to start of reasonably light, until you get your bearings, as it were 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Learning to Swim Like a Fish « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

