Skip to content

Yoga Makes My Muscles Go Ouch!

February 21, 2011

Well, it’s Monday and it’s back to a normal routine at work after being on the most boring course in the world (fact!) last week. The morning started out with rhubarb crumble overnight oats, which are a close cousin of the apple crumble overnight oats that I made last week. I actually managed a pretty photo of this one though!

035

I soaked the normal mix of oats, milled flaxseed, sultanas, milk and natural yoghurt overnight. This morning I zapped some frozen rhubarb slices in the microwave with a few more sultanas and some honey. I don’t normally sweeten anything now, but rhubarb can be a bit tart, so I did use a scant half teaspoon of honey (from the bees that my housemate’s dad keeps). I topped it off with a sprinkling of Perfekt quinoa granola. I love rhubarb and it’s actually in season at the moment, plus near where I live in Yorkshire is famous for it’s rhubarb growing. I must get hold of some fresh.

Tonight was my first yoga class. It was an hour and a half class and started at 7pm, which is a bit of an awkward time in terms of knowing what to eat. When I do my usual circuits or boxercise I tend to have a small snack about an hour beforehand and then have my dinner when I get home. I don’t normally feel hungry during cardio workouts and eating too much before working out makes me feel sick. However, from past experience I know that lower impact exercise can make me really hungry and I hate being hungry! In the end I plumped for a larger than usual snack at about 6pm:

053

(Sorry for the dodgy presentation – I can’t slice my bread straight and managed to burn the toast at the edges!)

I had a little of my spinach hummus left, but not enough to spread on a slice of toast, so I bulked it out with a couple of spoonfuls of natural yoghurt and spread it onto two pieces of wholemeal. I also had a bowl of my old favourite, cantaloupe melon. This worked out really well for my yoga class – I didn’t feel hungry at all and I didn’t feel over-full.

When I got home I had a bowl of vegetable and butter bean stew:

057

This was one of my staple stews with aubergine, courgette, leek, butternut squash, mushrooms, sweetcorn, a small tin of butter beans and a tin of tomatoes. I flavoured it with my three favourite spices of all time: black pepper, cumin and cinnamon.

I was still a little hungry after this, so I snacked on some of these:

004

I picked these up from Sainsbury’s last weekend and I’ve been addicted ever since. I’ve nearly finished the pot (sad face) – I must get round to roasting beans at home at some point.

So, to the yoga. I knew it was going to be tough … and it was! I’m a complete cardio junky and although I’ve tried yoga before (many years ago) and I went to pilates classes for a few years, I always end up drifting back to the buzz of getting my heart pumping. I’ve been forced into reassessing my exercise regime because of my foot and hip injury and yoga was one of the things my podiatrist recommended.

I am completely inflexible and have awful balance – my hamstrings are short and tight and my back and pelvis are really stiff. I couldn’t do some of the poses, like the downward dog, because of my toe, but the instructor was really good at giving me alternatives. I think I will be able to put more pressure on my toe on a normal day, but I was suffering the after-effects of the ceilidh today.

I did really enjoy myself and I think I will start to see the benefits after a few classes. However, if I’m totally honest with myself I hate not being very good at something and at the moment I’m definitely not very good at yoga! I’m used to knowing what I’m doing when it comes to exercise. I’m determined to give yoga a chance in order to improve on the areas of my fitness that I have previously neglected.

Oh, and as the title of my post suggests, I can definitely feel the after-effects of the class already, especially in my shoulders, upper arms and thighs. It must be doing me good!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 11:03 pm

    Yoga makes me so sore too! I lack upper body strength 🙂

  2. February 22, 2011 4:27 am

    I can’t wait for cantaloupe to come into season. Yum!

  3. February 22, 2011 9:08 am

    Yoga kicks my ass too! I’m not doing classes for the moment but waiting for a couple of DVD’s to show up and I can’t wait to get back into it!

  4. DonnyFan permalink
    February 22, 2011 11:59 am

    I’m keen to give yoga a go too as I have zip flexibility too and feel I am setting myself up for a fall if I don’t tackle this now 🙂

  5. February 22, 2011 12:39 pm

    Nice work on the yoga- something like that (yoga or pilates) is what is missing from my workouts, but the classes near me are soooooooooo expensive (£10 per pilates class) and not at great times, so at the mo I just try to remember to stretch after other workouts!
    That stew looks yummy 🙂

  6. February 22, 2011 7:54 pm

    I set a pop-up toaster on fire once …. you are doing fine 😉
    I haven’t done a yoga class for a while, just the occasional DVD and then I’m generally too sore to do it again for months!

  7. February 22, 2011 8:50 pm

    I’ve seen those Food Doctor pots in Waitrose and have been meaning to get some.

  8. February 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    I can totally sympathise with not liking something you’re not good at. That and the addiction to cardio! I know that if I just stuck at something like a good yoga class for a while though it would do me the world of good. Precisely *because* I’m not good at it! I’m so stubborn sometimes.. 😀

Leave a Reply

