Skip to content

Off To a Flying Start

March 1, 2011

This morning I realised what all my hard work on my fitness was for … running for the bus! It’s a cliché that unfit people “can’t even run for the bus”, but I’m so glad that I’ve put in the effort over the past couple of years because I put in a hell of a performance in the “200m bus dash”. The bus is NEVER on time (except for today obviously!) and I was sauntering down the road minding my own business when I saw the bus whizz past the end of the road. I hesitated for a second while I weighed up if it was possible to catch it and then I decided to go for it. I sprinted and got to the door just as it closed and the driver was about to pull off. I banged on the door and made it on! I sat down, basking in the glory that not only had I caught the bus, I hadn’t even broken a sweat. Ok, I shouldn’t have run on my bad foot, but it was so worth it Smile

That put me in a good mood, plus I had an awesome food day. Remember that seasonal food of the week is passion fruit? It’s the last day of the seasonal food week and I’ve only just got round to doing something with it, but this was worth the wait:

01Mar11_3

Orange and passion fruit overnight oats

  • 50g oats
  • 2 teaspoons chia seeds
  • milk to cover
  • 1 tablespoon natural yoghurt

All these ingredients were soaked overnight in the fridge. It wasn’t quite thick enough for my taste (it didn’t thicken as much as when I use flaxseed), so I zapped it in the microwave for 2mins. I then stirred in the juice of half an orange and topped with the seeds and flesh of a passion fruit. It was really delicious – I have two more passion fruit to eat … yummy!

For lunch I cooked some soba (buckwheat) noodles with edamame beans and topped with a small handful of pumpkin seeds. The taste and flavour combination was like a party in my mouth!

01Mar11_1

I tried to cook soba noodles last week and it was a massive fail – they were all stuck together and starchy. Before I cooked them last night I checked on the internet how to do it properly (I could have checked the back of the packet, but I didn’t think of that!). I’ll share the method just in case you’re as dense as me (probably not):

Bring a pan of water to the boil and put the noodles in, a few strands at a time. The water should then be taken down to a simmer (not a vigorous boil like pasta). My hob is quite unresponsive, so I added some cold water. Cook the noodles for 5-6 minutes, then drain. The noodles then need to be washed well in cold water – this took some doing before the noodles began to separate.

My snacks for the day:

01Mar11_2

Mid-morning was a jazz apple with some brazil nuts. My mid-afternoon snack was the yoghurt topped with chopped dates.

Before I went swimming this evening I ate the remainder of my homemade butternut squash and sweet potato soup. I didn’t have enough to fill a bowl, so I put it in a mug! I topped with some pine nuts to add some protein and fat:

01Mar11_4

Dinner was a huge success too. I decided to make something I’d never attempted before … dhal.

Red lentil dhal (2 servings)

  • 3/4 cup red lentils
  • 3 cups boiling water
  • chopped onion
  • half chopped orange pepper
  • pinch of chilli powder, cumin, coriander, ginger, ground black pepper.

1. Put the lentils and the water in a pan and simmer slowly for 40 mins (keep an eye on it as it may stick to the bottom of the pan or get too dry.

2. Fry the onion and pepper until tender and then add the spices.

3. Stir the lentils until smooth and then add the onion and pepper mixture.

At this point you could add chopped tomatoes, but to be honest I forgot! It tasted sooooo good anyway. I served with some steamed kale:

01Mar11_6

This was the first time I’ve tried kale and I loved it! I was scared that I’d find it too bitter, but it was perfect.

I had a lovely, sweet and colourful pink grapefruit for dessert:

01Mar11_5

I hope everyone has had a good start to the beginning of March – I’m so excited that spring is nearly here … optimism is in the air!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 10:09 pm

    Oh my God, I’d never thought of putting leftover soup in a mug when there isn’t much. It always looks so sad in a bowl! Those overnight oats look amazing too. I’m not usually a fan of orangey stuff, but I really like the sound of that combo.

    And hell yeah for making the bus! I love things like that too. It’s such a good start to the day 🙂

  2. March 1, 2011 10:09 pm

    I’m really looking forward to spring too! It doesn’t get that cold here, but it’s been raining on and off, so I’m looking forward to blue skies 🙂

  3. March 2, 2011 2:12 am

    I’ve gotten a lil cardio workout by running for the bus, too! Although unfortunately ours doesn’t wait..I’ve gotten *right* up to the door when the driver isn’t looking and just drives off. Ugh. Oh well!

  4. March 2, 2011 10:54 am

    Yummy looking overnight oats. Man I need to get me some chia seeds!

  5. March 2, 2011 11:13 am

    All your eats look so tasty! Those overnight oats and soba noodles in particular. I love edamade and soba noodles!

  6. March 2, 2011 12:09 pm

    Your overnight oats look delicious! 🙂
    and the same thing happened with me and soba noodles… thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

