Skip to content

Turning a Negative Into a Positive

March 2, 2011

About a year ago I went on a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator course. If you haven’t heard of it, Myers-Briggs is a personality test based on four dichotomous aspects of personality. I first have to say that I don’t believe that personality “types” are necessarily always correct or that people are defined by their “type”. Having said that, I think my type (ISFJ) is pretty spot on in a lot of ways, especially the things about having a good memory (I rock in pub quizzes) and not being able to express my internal feelings (blogging is a really good outlet in this respect).

The reason I mention Myers-Briggs is that the events of today brought to mind one of the downsides of my personality:

“When down on themselves or under great stress, the ISFJ begins to imagine all of the things that might go critically wrong in their life. They have strong feelings of inadequacy, and become convinced that “everything is all wrong”, or “I can’t do anything right”. Or, as the booklet we got given on the course says, I tend to “catastrophise” (great made-up word!)

After my wave of optimism in my post last night, I swung the other way when I got to work this morning and had an e-mail telling me that my next work-placement (starting in July) won’t be in Leeds – it will be in the North-West. Since leaving home at 18 I’ve been something of a nomad, living in Cambridge, Nottingham, at home in Chester, Blackpool and Leeds. I hated living in Blackpool – it was so far away from Peter and didn’t have anything going on for young people. I love Leeds and was really hoping to settle here for a little while. However, it seems like it’s not to be!

I definitely went into “everything is all wrong” mode when I first got the e-mail and put in a very tearful conversation to my Mum. However, I very quickly realised that I was being counter-productive. First of all, I’m going to see if there’s any chance I can stay where I am (probably not). More than anything, this is an opportunity to re-evaluate what I want to do with my life and where I want to be. Within a few hours I was starting to feel positive again. Yes, I might have to live the back-end of nowhere for a year (but please not Blackpool!) whilst I get my professional qualification, then I can go wherever I want. I’m hoping that before too long Peter and I might be in the same town.

I am an optimist at heart and can’t stay in “disaster mode” for too long. There is a positive side to everything – you just have to look hard for it sometimes.

So, that’s my soul-searching done for today! On to food – my day started with a exotic theme:

2Mar11_3

Mornflake 5-fruit and nut muesli mixed with a tablespoon of milled flaxseed with skimmed milk and topped with a sliced kiwi and a passion fruit. The passion fruit actually split some of my milk, so I might not do that again. It was very tasty though!

Today’s snackage:

2Mar11_2

Banana and almonds for mid-morning snack. Mid-afternoon I had sprouted spelt bread and hazelnut butter (unpictured as it’s kept in my drawer at work) with a jazz apple.

Lunch was simple salad of pot barley, spinach, cucumber and cottage cheese:

02Mar11_1

It sounds a bit boring, but it was oh so tasty! I love how chewy barley is – I have some left over for lunch tomorrow and I’m very tempted to have to same combo (although probably not because I have an aversion to having the same thing two days running).

I grabbed a coco loco Nakd bar and a clementine before heading out to the chiropractor. My appointment was an interesting experience. He examined me really thoroughly, prodding and poking in nearly every muscle and joint. He agreed that the orthotics should correct most of the problems related to my wonky bio-mechanics. However because I’m very tight in my pelvis, lower back and hip I need loosening up otherwise I’ll continue to get pain. He started treatment this evening and it was a bit brutal on my lower back, so I decided the sensible thing to do was to skip the gym and go home and ice instead. I have four more sessions with him and he has given me homework to ice my back and hip three times a day. I also have to stop sleeping on my front (I’m not too sure how I’m going to manage that) and also stop swimming breast stroke. Apparently it’s really bad for back problems, so front crawl here I come (I suck at front crawl, so if I don’t drown tomorrow it’ll be a miracle!).

When I got home I made an ugly looking (but very very tasty) omelette filled with mushrooms and natural yoghurt, served with broccoli and courgette:

2Mar11_4

Oh, and our dishwasher and heating have both packed up over the past 24 hours. My super housemate has fixed the boiler, but we’re washing up by hand for now! Onwards and upwards tomorrow …

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 11:28 pm

    I think I need to adopt your attitude more often.

    It’s ironic what you say about the North West: my Mum had to work there in the 1980s and she loathed it too for the same reasons you do. Even now she shudders at the mention of Preston or Blackpool and won’t go near either of them. Clearly not much has changed 😉

    Great that you can see the bigger picture though and not let it bring you down.

    I’ve been banned from breast-stroke too both due to my scoliosis and my IT band issues. But front crawl is a much better cardio workout and once you get the breathing down the lengths go by a lot faster, honest!

    xxx

  2. March 3, 2011 7:53 am

    Thats a great attitude to have, you sound a bit like me, I can get down for a while but then you start to look for the silver lining. I try and believe that every happens for a reason so I’m sure you’ll be ok in the end x

  3. March 3, 2011 8:03 am

    Haha, I am adopting the word catastrophise! I also do that (I came out as INFJ, so pretty similar I guess). I’m impressed at your turnaround though!

    And oweee at the chiro! I’ve had some painful experiences at the physio, and I think you were absolutely right to go home rather than to the gym. It really does batter you up that kind of treatment.

  4. DonnyFan permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:34 am

    you definitely did the right thing in skipping the gym after the chiro – you may find you’re a bit sore for a couple of days after the visits so take it steady.

    I’ve only ever been to blackpool twice, the first time was in passing, and I think I know what you mean, even from those brief visits! (sorry to anyone living there but man….)

    keeping everything crossed that you are able to at least stay where you are x

  5. March 3, 2011 8:46 pm

    I hope it all works out with the job. You should like we handle problems similarly – first I go into freak out the world is ending mood, then I calm down and let optimism take over. Good luck!

  6. March 4, 2011 7:25 am

    the foods looks good. I feel hungry right now and I want to taste those. thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

