Skip to content

Chocolate For Breakfast–Right or Wrong?

March 3, 2011

I’ve never “got” the idea of having something chocolaty first thing in the morning. Yes, Coco Pops are a delicious naughty snack eaten mid-afternoon out of the cereal packet (confession time – I have a bad habit of eating cereal straight out the packet). Pain au chocolat is an indulgent snack with a latte when out shopping, but I wouldn’t look at it twice at 6 or 7am. When I was 14 I went to France on a school exchange and thought it was very weird that for breakfast the family gave me hot chocolate … in a bowl! As a country bumpkin I wasn’t quite ready for that.

Yet, as I opened my kitchen cupboard this morning the tub of cocoa powder was staring at me and I decided to try out banana and chocolate porridge:

3Mar11_1

(Sorry about the shabby presentation – that’s what happens when you microwave porridge)

In the concoction was:

  • 50g oats
  • teaspoon chia seeds
  • sliced banana
  • tablespoon cocoa powder
  • a little agave
  • skimmed milk

This tasted really creamy and indulgent and probably deserves a place in my breakfast repertoire. However, am I completely sold on having chocolate for breakfast? I’m not sure … maybe I need to keep trying to find out!

Today’s snacks:

3Mar11_2

The chocolate oats actually kept me full for 4 hours, when usually I’m ready for something to eat after 3 hours. When I was eventually hungry I had the apple and hazelnuts. Mid afternoon was sunflower seed and oat ryvita topped with cottage cheese and I also ate the two kiwis.

Lunch:

3Mar11_3

Yesterday I mentioned that I don’t like to have the same thing two days running. I came very close today. I added pine nuts to the mix to make it a bit different. I put some more cottage cheese on top, because after all it’s a great combo.

I went swimming after work and mostly stuck to the breaststroke (naughty I know after seeing the chiro yesterday) but did try a few slow lengths of front crawl and backstroke. I will get better and will hopefully stop swallowing as much water. I need to get a nose clip soon though as I’ve been sneezing ever since I got home!

My post-swim snack was natural yoghurt topped with my last passion fruit:

3Mar11_4

Oh my gosh, this was heavenly, so naturally sweet.

I had major veggie overload for dinner:

3Mar11_5

A cod fillet baked with lemon wedges and black pepper served with roasted broccoli, leeks and brussel sprouts with vegan pesto and a big dollop of steamed kale. I also ate some more kale as a late night snack!

I ended my day as it began … with chocolate (Hotel Chocolat House Dark 99%). Whether or not it’s suitable for breakfast, chocolate is definitely good in the evening!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 10:26 pm

    I am a HUGE fan of chocolate for breakfast! I like to include it in every meal 🙂

  2. March 3, 2011 10:39 pm

    YES girl chocolate for breakfast is the best thing EVER!! I love it, as you probably know!! 😉

  3. March 3, 2011 10:56 pm

    Chocolate for breakfast all the way! I don’t really like the chocolate/banana combination though which is weird because both are such staples for me 🙂
    Your passion fruit yoghurt looks delicious too

  4. March 3, 2011 11:11 pm

    I am afraid I could eat chocolate for breakfast, lunch, dinner snacks and obviously dessert. Like Laura though, I’ve never really tried chocolate and banana together in oats. Chocolate banana protein shake though? One of my favourites 😉

    xxx

  5. March 3, 2011 11:12 pm

    Oops! I typed Laura accidentally! I think my love for Keeping Healthy/Getting Stylish has gone too far now lol 😉

  6. March 4, 2011 7:40 am

    Thank you for commenting on my post! I’m not one for chocolate for breakfast – although I add a scoop of unflavoured hemp protein to my morning cereal, which adds a nutty taste that I really like! And I totally have that cottage cheese for lunch today – snap!

  7. Bronagh permalink
    March 4, 2011 10:54 am

    I’m not really a chocolate-for-breakfast kinda girl, which is so weird because I LOVE chocolate and could destroy a full-size bar at just about any other time of day! I think I just prefer to keep things simple at breakfast (oats, banana, strawbs, jam) and then save my chocolate indulgence for the evenings when I can properly relax and enjoy it with a nice cup of tea 🙂

  8. March 4, 2011 11:48 am

    Haha, I’ve just noticed Jess’s comment! I love chocy for breakfast but I couldn’t have it all the time. I must find some of that 99% hotel chocolate stuff, that sounds amazing!

  9. March 4, 2011 4:05 pm

    I love carob powder and cocoa powder in my oats or green smoothies. Total Yumfest!!

  10. March 4, 2011 5:40 pm

    I am not a major fan of chocolate for breakfast, although every now and then at the weekend I quite like it. For me chocolate belongs in the evening with a cup of tea 🙂

  11. March 4, 2011 11:04 pm

    Chocolate is always right for breakfast!!! Actually..it’s right for every meal!!

  12. March 5, 2011 12:59 am

    there is nothing wrong with chocolate for breakfast!! especially if it is healthy like in oats 🙂

Leave a Reply

