Skip to content

Chocolate–The Verdict

March 5, 2011

Good morning! Thank you for all your views on chocolate for breakfast. It turns out that most of you like it and I think I’ll give it a whirl every now and then. In the main, I agree with Maria – chocolate in the evening with a cup of tea is ideal.

I’m at my parents’ house in Chester this weekend revising for an exam on Tuesday morning. I’ll be getting very bored and reading blogs a lot more than I probably should! In fact, I’m successfully managing to avoid starting the dreadful deed by writing my post this morning Smile I also want to do some cooking this weekend to brake up the tedium.

Yesterday morning I decided to go the the gym before work because I thought I might be called in to see the podiatrist and chiro yesterday evening, and from my experience on Wednesday I knew I wouldn’t be able to workout afterwards (in the end, my orthotics weren’t ready, so I didn’t need to go). I haven’t worked out first thing in the morning for a long time. I usually like to get into work early and do my exercise in the evening. My biggest problem was deciding what and when to eat. In the end I went for a banana and almond butter before I went:

4Mar11_1

When I got to work at about 9:15am I had a Total 0% greek yoghurt with some Perfekt quinoa granola mixed in. This worked quite well in terms of controlling my appetite, but I’m not going to go to the gym in the morning regularly because I felt so tired and like I needed to stretch out all day. My tiredness could have also been caused by a cold that’s trying to break through and that Friday feeling! Here’s my second breakfast, along with the rest of my snacks for the day:

4Mar11_5

I had half the oatcakes with the last of my hazelnut butter and the apple mid-afternoon. I ate two more oatcakes during the day – I left one in the packet for another time because that made me feel better!

Lunch was really yummy as usual:

4Mar11_2

This combo was spinach, cucumber, chopped orange pepper, tinned sweetcorn and two boiled eggs. The peppers and sweetcorn gave off a really summery aroma and with the sun shining outside it really felt like winter is nearly over. When I went outside I discovered it was still freezing and I still needed my scarf, gloves and hat!

Before I drove to Chester I grabbed another clementine and a banana bread Nakd bar. Dad had made dinner for me when I got in (it’s always nice not have to cook for a change):

4Mar11_6

A grilled chicken and grilled peppers with loads of veggies. I had some natural yoghurt for dessert and two sliced kiwis later on the evening.

I’ve recorded all my meals and snacks over the past five days and I think it’s helped me to get back on track with my eating. I feel much better now than I did after last weekend when I overindulged in refined carbs and sugar. I’m still suffering from spots that broke out on Monday though. I’m going to go back to only recording notable meals and snacks because it gets tedious to try and remember to photograph everything and I’m sure it gets boring to read after a while.

This morning’s breakfast was definitely notable:

4Mar11_7

I made this porridge in a pan on the hob, which is a real treat because I normally only have time to zap it in the microwave. I chopped up a jazz apple and cooked it in a pan with a small amount of water and some golden raisins. Once they were soft I added some jumbo oats and skimmed milk. Once the oats were cooked I stirred in some milled flaxseed and topped with some cinnamon. Such a good start to the day, even if the day is full of horrible revision!

My fitness routine will need to be flexible this week because of my exam on Tuesday. I’ve put together a plan that I think will work and also relieve some of the boredom of revision:

Saturday Rest
Sunday Toning workout – arms and core
Monday Swimming
Tuesday Gym
Wednesday Rest
Thursday Swimming
Friday Gym

Have a good weekend everyone – I’ll live my life through reading what exciting things everyone else is doing Smile

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 9:56 am

    Ha ha glad you agree with the chocolate and tea 🙂
    Hope the revision is not too bad

  2. March 5, 2011 10:46 am

    Looks like a good week in terms of training: I meant to say in my last comment that it does take a while to progress with front crawl in swimming, particularly when it comes to getting the breathing right (it took me six months!) and I still can’t manage to do backstroke properly, so you’re getting along very well in my opinion!

    You also shouldn’t be scared of the orthotics: don’t let my bad experience put you off because a.) my scoliosis is pretty severe and requires a lot of correction, so I’m prone to pain anyway and b.) I made a poor choice of podiatrist: I know loads of people that have had great experiences with orthotics, particularly softer, less rigid ones than mine.

    Glad the picturing food has helped with you: I agree that your brekkie this morning is indeed noteworthy!

    xxx

  3. March 5, 2011 3:02 pm

    Good luck with revising, once you buckle down you’ll get into it & everything will flow nicely.

  4. March 5, 2011 11:54 pm

    Oats look delicious! I made a similar breakfast the other day! 🙂

  5. March 6, 2011 1:01 am

    I normally make my oats in the microwave, but I think over the stove really makes a difference! Your bowl looks so creamy 🙂

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:28 am

    I’ve recently discovered that oats cooked on the hob taste so much nicer than in the microwave – add to that soaking them overnight……..

    I’m always on the lookout for new ways of having them – mmmmmm….. apple……..

    you sound very organised, and that is half the battle in facing things that need doing like revising and taking exams 🙂

  7. March 7, 2011 10:52 am

    I love banana and almond butter! I also just ate chocolate spread on toast for breakfast, so I am definitely a chocolate-in-the-morning person 😀 If I’m going through a bit of a weak spot with food though, then it can set me up wrong for the day. I.e. set me on that path towards too much sugar.. On which note, I’m glad you’ve gotten your eating back on track this week. Just goes to show what a bit of focus can do 🙂

Leave a Reply

