Skip to content

A Very Foodie Sunday

March 6, 2011

Good evening! I can’t believe that it’s Sunday evening and the weekend is nearly over. I’m actually on study leave tomorrow, so at least I don’t have to go to work. Over the weekend I’ve discovered that cooking and blogging are great distractions from revising. Yesterday morning I spent time I should have been swotting up preparing my lunch. It was pretty lush though:

6Mar11_1

Baby spinach, cucumber, beetroot, cold quinoa and a chicken breast left over from Friday night’s dinner. I poured over a very simple olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing.

That’s my only photo from Saturday because I then managed to knuckle down and get some work done. Dad did a very nice lentil and vegetable curry for dinner, but I didn’t manage to get a photo. I actually planned to take today as a chill-out day (and I feel very chillaxed now) and took the opportunity to use my parents’ large kitchen. First up was some wholewheat pancakes served with half a grilled banana, a dollop of peanut butter and some natural yoghurt:

6Mar11_2

I made four pancakes and these were the two presentable ones – my Dad ate the ones that went a bit wrong! You can also see that I managed to caramelise (ahem … burn) the banana a bit too much. It was delicious though, I’m so happy it’s Shrove Tuesday this week.

Whilst my pancake batter was resting I made some of my favourite peanut butter hummus. This is roughly the recipe (although it’s not very scientific):

  • 3/4 of 400g tin chickpeas
  • tablespoon smooth peanut butter
  • one clove garlic
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons natural yoghurt

All whizzed up in a blender. I ate some later on in the day on a couple of sunflower seed ryvita:

6Mar11_4

This looks very beige, but it was very exciting in my mouth Smile

When I got injured I vowed that some good must come out of it and I would at least have toned arms and a strong core. This morning I did a toning workout in order to work towards my goal:

Arms (using 4kg hand weights, except for the chest presses where I dropped to 2kg)

  • Shoulder press x 15
  • Bicep curls x 15
  • Chest press x 15
  • Tricep press x 15
  • Bent over row x 15
  • Press ups x 15

I did this circuit four times.

Core

  • Curls 2 x 15 reps
  • Obliques 2 x 12 reps (each side)
  • Plank – 1 minute
  • Toe reach 2 x 12 reps (each side) – legs straight in the air, reaching up with one hand at a time
  • Crunches 2 x 15 reps
  • Side plank – 1 minute each side

I did this one three times. By the end of my last side plank I was begging for mercy. I don’t feel sore at the moment, but I might do tomorrow!

You may think that I’d forgotten about seasonal food of the week, but no … I was just waiting for the weekend when I could do something with it. This week it’s PURPLE SPROUTING BROCCOLI. Having a browse on the internet it seems like it goes really well with oriental flavours, so I made an asian-italian fusion meal for lunch:

6Mar11_3

Wholewheat spaghetti with purple sprouting broccoli, chilli and sesame

1. Cook the spaghetti in salted water and a little oil

2. Steam the broccoli, including the stems and leaves which are really tasty. I added half a chilli to the broccoli while it was cooking

3. Add the broccoli and chilli to the drained spaghetti and stir in a teaspoon of sesame oil and top with a few sesame seeds

This was so good! I’m now a huge fan of purple sprouting broccoli – it was so tender and tasty (you might see it pop up again later in the post).

I did some shopping with Mum in Chester this afternoon. A good chunk of our time was spent having decaf lattes in Pret, but I did pick up a summer cardigan and a jumper with a cat on (looks better than it sounds – I might have to take a photo at some point).

My Sunday was topped off nicely with a three course meal, including a roast. I made the starter:

6Mar11_5

Aubergine and butter bean soup (serves about 4)

(Adapted from New Covent Garden Soup and Beyond)

  • 2 large aubergines, chunked
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • half red chilli
  • 1 400g tin butter beans
  • half tin chopped tomato
  • stock to cover (made from marigold vegetable bouillion)
  • pinch of cumin and ground black pepper

1. Fry the onion until soft

2. Add the other ingredients and cook on the hob for about an hour

3. Blitz using a hand blender so that there are still some chunks of aubergine and butter beans

Dad did the main course (lamb roast):

6Mar11_6

… and a very retro dessert – a yummy orange jelly with tinned mandarins:

6Mar11_7

I’m banning myself from cooking tomorrow. I’ve already prepared overnight oats for breakfast, so I don’t even have to bother with that. I’m going to start the day with a swim and then I can get down to some serious swotting up!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. DonnyFan permalink
    March 6, 2011 9:24 pm

    try going a little heavier on your weights – I guarantee you will surprise yourself 🙂

    your lamb roast looks delicioius 🙂

  2. March 6, 2011 9:33 pm

    I’m scaring myself ….. that orange jelly looks yummy 🙂

    Have a great day tomorrow revising.

  3. March 6, 2011 9:35 pm

    They’re definitely caramelised rather than burnt! Been meaning to try grilled bananas for ages…
    Broccoli is one of my all-time favourites when it comes to veg so I might have to try the purple sprouting type too 🙂

  4. March 7, 2011 6:17 am

    Peanut butter hummus?! You are a girl after my own heart 🙂

  5. March 7, 2011 7:51 am

    Yummy eats! I love purple sprouting broccoli! So good with soy and ginger yum!

  6. March 7, 2011 10:49 am

    Nom — those pancakes look amazing! And thanks for the reminder about pancake day tomorrow!

    Great job with the arms and core workout too. Was there a reason you dropped the chest press weight though? I reckon you could lift more than 2s each side 😉

    Good luck with the revision!

  7. March 7, 2011 11:25 am

    Ooh, your pancakes look delish!

    Lol to the retro pud as well ~ we always had that at school but I would opt for the meringue and whipped cream instead. Such a healthy child I was (not!)

    xxx

  8. March 7, 2011 6:02 pm

    Loving all of your food. I know what you mean about the studying getting in the way of studying, but at least our bellys are happy!

  9. March 7, 2011 8:11 pm

    Peanut butter hummus sounds lovely 🙂

  10. March 8, 2011 3:20 am

    Oh your salad looks awesome!! I love the taste of beets with greens..something about it is so delicious!

  11. March 9, 2011 1:48 am

    love your blog! all these eats look so yummy!

Leave a Reply

