Skip to content

7 Random Things

March 8, 2011

Woohoo – I’m writing this post after finishing another exam Smile I’m now over halfway through my professional qualification (in Purchasing and Supply – you can have that random fact for free!) … only seven more exams to go.

Yesterday I was tagged by Alison @ Physically Philosophical to post 7 random things about me. It’s a bit of a life saver – because of frantic exam revision I haven’t taken any photos over the past 48 hours and I’ve eaten very repetitively. I got a swim in yesterday morning, but nothing to write home about. I was trying very hard not to think about what seven things I was going to post during my exam … but sometimes my wondered through those three boring hours. So here we go …

1) My favourite subject at school was geography – I loved it so much that I studied it at university. Ironically, although I’m good at quizzes, don’t ask me any geography-related questions! The best thing that happened at uni was when a native Siberian reindeer herder, his wife and a Russian official came to give us a guest lecture!

2) When I was 11 I gave up chocolate for Lent and I didn’t eat it again until I was 18! … I know – that’s a shocker!

3) I’m allergic to small animals, and particularly allergic to guinea pigs, which is a shame because they’re so cute!

guinea_pig1

source

4) My go-to random fact when answering things like this is that I once went to a quiz night at Buckingham Palace. My friend was working for the Palace at the time and she invited me along to a staff social. I only went to the staff quarters, and my overriding impression was that there were lots of pictures of corgis!

5) My favourite film of all time is Strictly Ballroom:

Strictly Ballroom trailer

Coming in a close second is Once:

Once trailer

I could do a whole top 10, but that’s another post.

6) When I first started to lose weight as a teenager, my main form of exercise was rebound (remember that? – it was aerobics on a little trampette). Through a combination of my hefty weight and the flimsiness of the trampettes, I must have got through at least 10 different ones!

7) I once accidentally throw a burger at a police car. I feel I must explain … I was in the first year at uni and I’d been out on the town with a few girls I went to school with. In our drunken state we decided to wave at the policemen driving past, and the burger flew out of my hand. I’m a lot more sensible now (ahem …)

So, I’m meant to tag 7 other bloggers, but it seems a lot of people have already done it and I’m not sure that I have 7 readers Winking smile I would love to read 7 random facts about you if you haven’t already done it.

Normal service will be resumed tomorrow now the dreaded exams are over until May.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 8:08 pm

    I love strictly ball room! Fun post 🙂

  2. March 8, 2011 9:28 pm

    Haha! I totally cracked up at your burger-throwing escapades! A friend once drunkenly threw one out a car window not realising it ended up on the windscreen of the police car travelling behind them. There was a lot of explaining and batting of eyelashes to be done there! Did you get in trouble that time?

    Also hurrah for geography geeks! It was my favourite subject at school but I couldn’t see myself making a career out of it. I’m guessing from the guest speakers you’re more interested in human geog than physical geog, or am I making assumptions?

    Anyways, I’ll shut up because I’m leaving you a long and rambling post when I should be congratulating you on making it through your exam! Woohoo! 🙂

    xxx

    • March 9, 2011 6:41 am

      No – the policemen just ignored me and carried on!
      I was more into human geography – I didn’t really do any physical after my first year.

  3. March 8, 2011 9:32 pm

    I love the burger story, tooooo funny 🙂 and well done on surviving exams, always a relief when the pen goes down at the end.

  4. March 8, 2011 9:54 pm

    (in Purchasing and Supply – you can have that random fact for free!) Hehe! 😀

    Congrats on getting the exam done. I am in shock that you didn’t eat chocolate from 11-18! And I have a rebounder now. The physio told me to get it for my knee. I don’t really use it. You’ve kinda made me want to give it a go!

    Anyway, I’m glad I could help out today. Enjoy your night off!

  5. March 8, 2011 10:41 pm

    How could you go without chocolate for that long?! I would die 🙂

  6. March 9, 2011 1:46 am

    omg NO CHOCOLATE for 7 years!?! That is unbearably insane girl!! (ps! I saw you wake up in the middle of the night for snacks…I totally do that like everrry night!)

  7. March 9, 2011 10:51 am

    You didn’t eat chocolate for 7 years?! My, oh my. I hate to say it… but I think you may have missed out on 7 years of your life! Glad you’re making up for it now though 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I’ll Tell Some More About Me « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

