Skip to content

Sweat Fest

March 9, 2011

I’m posting a little bit later than usual tonight because I got distracted by the DVD rental I got through the post this morning – Twilight: Eclipse. So, I am a 14 year old girl at heart! As much as I try to fill my rental list with cool indie films, I couldn’t resist a good vampire romance/adventure. Anywho, I’m over that now, so back to tonight’s post.

I hit the gym last night and had a really solid workout. Usually the air-con in the gym is on so high it takes me half an hour to take my jumper off and I barely break a sweat. Something was different last night – I was dripping with sweat. It could have been that it was quite busy in there and body heat and the heat thrown out from machines warmed the place up. Whatever the reason, I enjoyed it! I love the feeling of really working hard and sweating is evidence of that.

I did up my game a bit as well. I increased the resistance on the seated row and I feel like I should be able to increase resistance/weight on some of the other exercises soon as well. I also increased my time on the summit trainer by two minutes. It may not sound much, but I find it quite hard work and I aim to increase my time by two minutes a week. The only slight bummer was I didn’t perform so well on my rowing intervals. My legs felt very heavy and I struggled to put power down with them. I didn’t do awfully, but it didn’t feel as good as it normally does. I think I was just tired – I’d been up early for my exam and I did my workout fairly late in the evening. However, all in all I felt really good!

When I got home I made myself a mega veggie and tofu stir-fry:

8Mar11_1

There were loads of veggies invited to this party – broccoli, kale, courgette, mushrooms, orange pepper and sweetcorn – as well as some baked tofu.

Today, I was on a training course all day and I was reminded how important it is to eat to fuel the mind as well as the body. I had a good breakfast of muesli, sliced apple and milled flaxseed and then grabbed a snack of greek yoghurt topped with chopped apricots and pumpkin seeds before the course started. However, it got to about 11am and I was so hungry. It really affected my performance in the exercises I was doing – I couldn’t concentrate, I felt kind of detached from the room and I had trouble even forming sentences. After I had a filling lunch I was 100% better and was more my usual self in the afternoon. In future, if I’m going to be trapped in a room like that I will take an emergency snack with me. I also suspect that having dried fruit beforehand wasn’t a good idea and it possibly made my blood sugar peak and crash.

I took today as a planned exercise rest day because I had appointments with the podiatrist and the chiropractor. I had a snackette of delicious sweet potato and peanut butter hummus before I headed off:

9Mar11_1

I got my orthotics from the podiatrist and started wearing them in this evening. I wore them in my trainers for half an hour today and I’ve got to increase the time I wear them by half an hour each day until I’m wearing them full time. The best news was that I can start running again in 12-14 days Smile Depending on how this goes I’m hoping that I *might* be able to do the 10k I’m signed up for in June. I’m going to see how I get on before I get my hopes up too much. My appointment with the chiro also went OK. He did some more spinal adjustments as well as some massage of my right calf and IT band. My IT band was super-sore at the time, but now it seems fine. I’ve been told to expect some aches and pains whilst I break in the orthotics, so I guess I’ll see over the next few days.

I had another veggie-heavy delicious dinner tonight:

9Mar11_2

An egg-omelette with courgette, mushroom and orange pepper, served on top of some steamed kale.

I’m off to bed now and hope I can sleep after watching Eclipse, plus it’s quite windy out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 5:46 am

    All of your meals look so good! Especially the sweet potato and peanut butter hummus. I am drooling over that!

  2. March 10, 2011 7:46 am

    That’s such great news about the running! No rush though, right? Sounds like you’re doing great with the other workouts. The summit trainer is SUCH hard work — even my trainer admits it. He put me on it yesterday at level *1* to warm up, and he normally makes me do the elliptical at level 15/25. Evil machine! Good work with the weights — if you think you can increase them just do it, and give it a go. The worst that will happen is that you have to drop them again 🙂

  3. March 10, 2011 12:31 pm

    That looks like one delicious veggie party! Mmmhmm!
    Congrats with upping the ante with your workout. I find it so easy to get stuck in a rut and not challenge myself.
    Hope the orthotics help, that’s great news about being able to start running. You sound very pleased! 😀
    You’re so right about fueling for your brain as well as your body, those blood sugar peaks and crashes are awful.

    xxx

  4. March 10, 2011 12:49 pm

    I *heart* the Eclipse books, a forever romantic I call myself 🙂

    Good luck with getting back into running.

  5. March 10, 2011 7:21 pm

    Orthotics do take a lot of getting used to but fingers crossed for you that once they’re broken in you should see some significant improvements if the guy you’ve been going to knows his stuff. If they do work then I think the 10k might well be do-able: just don’t put too much pressure on yourself 🙂

    I second the drool-fest over your sweet potato and PB hummus! And watch the low blood sugar thing: I used to get that a lot when I was focusing on eating lots of protein and not many carbs (yeah, there was a time when I didn’t eat my bodyweight in chocolate daily lol) so perhaps it’s something to keep an eye on. It also could be related to low blood pressure though: have you had yours tested recently?

    Glad you had such a rocking workout!

    xxx

    • March 10, 2011 8:32 pm

      Thanks for the advice. I get my blood pressure tested quite regularly and it’s normal – even a little high at times. I will be careful with my carb/protein balance though – you might be onto something there!

Leave a Reply

