Skip to content

A Blustery Day

March 10, 2011

It’s a cliché that Brits always talk about the weather, but today I think it’s worthy of a mention. Oh my word, it’s windy in Leeds today. In fact a pedestrian died in the City Centre this afternoon when a lorry overturned on top of him! Scary stuff. I nearly got knocked off my feet several times when I ventured out and it was even windy in the corridors at work (I guess someone somewhere had left a door open). On a lighter note, today’s weather reminded me of this:

Pooh Bear

When I was a little-un I used to drive my parents mad by watching around five videos on rotation. This was one of them, although I used to have to fast forward through the heffalump scene because it was too scary!

So, on to the food and fitness stuff. My most notable eats today were for lunch and dinner. Lunch was pretty similar to something I had last week, but it was so good that it deserves a second posting:

10Mar11_1

Soba noodles with edamame beans, baked tofu and a little soya sauce. This has to be one of the best lunches ever – I’m really getting into Japanese flavours. This was the last of the tofu I baked earlier in the week and I’ve been really pleased with how it turned out. I’ll share my current method of baking tofu, although I’m still searching for the perfect recipe:

1) Drain the liquid from a packet of tofu (I use Cauldron as it’s the most easily available in supermarkets)

2) Place in a bowl (I cut in two so it would fit) and place some kitchen roll and a piece of heavy crockery on top (I used a big bowl and a heavy egg cup)

3) After about 15 mins drain the liquid that comes off the tofu, turn over and place the kitchen roll and crockery back on top for another 15 mins

4) Cut up the tofu (I cut the whole pack into 15 fairly large pieces

5) Mix the tofu with a marinade in a bowl. I used a simple marinade of soya sauce, powdered ginger and cumin. I didn’t marinate for too long because I didn’t want the flavour to be over-powering

6) Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake for 25 mins at 200 Celsius, turning half way through (I like it well cooked and a little burned at the edges)

Last time I wrote about tofu I got some advice to put it in the freezer before using which is meant to make the texture more open. I’ll definitely be testing that one out.

Dinner was a vegetable and chestnut casserole:

10Mar11_2

I love chestnuts and I used the Merchant Gourmet vacuum packed variety for this recipe. It was my usual simple casserole with:

  • one carrot
  • one courgette
  • one small leek
  • five mushrooms
  • tablespoon sweetcorn
  • tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 3/4 pack chestnuts
  • pinch each of nutmeg, ginger and black pepper.

I cooked it up for about 45 mins and added some steamed broccoli in before serving. I sprinkled some nutritional yeast on top. It’s the first time I’ve tried it and I was fairly impressed and the flavour wasn’t as strong as I’d expected.

Exercise-wise I did a similar workout tonight as Tuesday night and it was just as good. My arms feel nicely sore now, so something must be working. The schedule I posted at the beginning of the week had a swim scheduled for tonight, but I changed things around because I’m going to a party at Peter’s parents’ house in Lincolnshire tomorrow evening. So, I’m going to take a rest day tomorrow instead and try and get a toning workout in over the weekend. I’ll need to be flexible with my workouts next week because I’m away at the weekend and off to London on Wednesday – I’ll post something up at the weekend.

I hope everyone is dealing with whatever the weather is throwing at them today!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 9:56 pm

    My God, that is windy! And I wouldn’t stress too much about the schedule. I’m not sure I ever actually stick to mine!

  2. March 10, 2011 10:09 pm

    Killer wind- that is so crazy!

    It’s actually nice and warm here today. Hot enough so sitting in a car without AC will make you sweat!

  3. March 10, 2011 11:06 pm

    Yes it was so windy! The doors kept blowing shut at work today. Glad I did not wear a dress haha!
    I was also glad I did not have to run in it!

  4. March 10, 2011 11:32 pm

    As soon as I saw your post title, I thought of that Pooh film! But you’re right, the heffalump was FAR too scary 🙂
    Thank you for posting the tofu advice and I’m with you – where did the evil wind come back from afetr the beautiful springness of yesterday?!

  5. March 11, 2011 9:20 am

    I know this wind is horrible! I make my tofu in exactly the same way, I would love one of those fancy tofu presses though!

Leave a Reply

