Skip to content

Spring!

March 13, 2011

Hello – I hope everyone’s having a great weekend! I’m in a brilliant mood because I feel like spring might finally be here! I even went out without a coat on for the first time yesterday (although I had a pretty thick fleece-lined hoodie on). I’m in Lincolnshire staying with Peter’s parents this weekend and yesterday the whole family headed over to his Uncle’s place to visit these cuties:

069

041

These lovely lambs were born a few weeks ago and they are just adorable. We all had a turn at holding one of the lambs that was rejected by its mother:

070

081

Peter’s Mum very nearly brought this one back home with her, but they already have a menagerie. It is incredibly cute!!

After tearing ourselves away from the lambs we went to a local windmill:

128 

That tiny figure in front of it is me … and look – I don’t have a coat on Smile

I bought some gram flour milled at the mill and some blueberry muesli with no added sugar, also made from ingredients milled at the mill.

126

Photo hastily taken on the boot of Peter’s car. I guess I’ll be jumping on the socca bandwagon quite soon!

There was a tea shop at the mill and I tucked in to some carrot and celeriac soup with a homemade sunflower seed bread roll:

122

This was very healthy, but there have been lots of temptations around because Peter’s family had lots of treats in for his brother’s birthday. I’ve not managed to resist all of them, but I’m not stressing too much.

I’ve had major walker’s envy today when some of the family went out for an 8-miler. This time next week I’m hoping I’ll be able to start building my walking mileage up again. I haven’t done any exercise this weekend, but this is the plan for next week:

Monday Yoga
Tuesday Gym
Wednesday Rest
Thursday Swim
Friday Gym
Saturday Rest
Sunday Gym

How has everyone else been enjoying the spring-like weather this weekend?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 4:54 pm

    Oh my those lambs are beautiful! I saw some last week when I visited the farm shop, they are the sign of spring to me, along with crocuses and daffs!

  2. March 13, 2011 6:13 pm

    Oh, those lambs make my heart melt! Spring lambs always make me feel a little sad though, since I know they’re going to end up on somebody’s dinner plate. Sorry to be so morbid! It’s just I find it difficult to deal with sometimes and tend to want to squirrel away every lamb I see in my jacket and rescue it at this time of year.

    I’ve loved the spring weather: spring is and always will be my favourite season: lighter mornings and an abundance of flowers.

    The mill looks lovely: it’s awesome that they make their own gram flour!

    Hope you had a great Sunday 🙂

    xxx

  3. March 13, 2011 7:14 pm

    Oh, the lambies!! They are gorgeous, I just want to cuddle them 🙂

    How cool to go to a mill and buy flour that was ground there – I’ll bet whatever you make with it will be delicious!

  4. March 13, 2011 8:37 pm

    Oh so cute! I saw lambs today in a field too- love it 🙂

  5. March 13, 2011 9:03 pm

    Oh! I loved those pictures!! So jealous over here hehe

  6. March 13, 2011 10:08 pm

    Lambs AND no coat?! How good is that! I’ve been loving it too, even though it drizzled today, it was still so mild!
    And you were out and about in the fresh air all day so although it wasn’t “official” exercise, it was probably just as good as one gym session 🙂

  7. March 14, 2011 1:59 am

    Oh, such sweet little baby animals! I enjoyed the weather yesterday by going for a long run- it was cloudy in the morning, but the sun came out later in the day and it was so nice!

  8. March 14, 2011 9:35 am

    OMG those lambs! I used to love going up to my dad’s in Derbyshire during lambing season.

    And me too with the no coat. It’s exciting! Has made SUCH a difference to my mood.

    Good luck with the workouts this week 🙂

  9. March 14, 2011 7:47 pm

    So so cute! I drove past a huge field full of lambs and their mothers on the way home this weekend, and it was just so happy-making 🙂

  10. waltersdaughter permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:28 am

    I’m still planning the lamb-napping mission 😉
    It was lovely having you here for the weekend, Sarah – glad we didn’t send you off the healthy-eating rails too far!

Leave a Reply

