Skip to content

Scraping the Barrel

March 14, 2011

I’ve just come back from yoga and it was toughie this evening! I have a strong suspicion that my hamstrings will be screaming by tomorrow evening. I feel like I have made progress though – I felt much stronger, even if my flexibility still needs some serious work!

I normally have a fully stocked fridge and just top it up with fresh items each week. However, in an attempt to save money and waste less I have been buying fewer fresh items every week. I’ve been quite successful, so much so that when I opened my fridge this morning it was nearly empty. It contained some romaine lettuce, a cucumber, soft cheese, a little bit of kale, some fresh duck eggs and some skimmed milk. My fruit bowl was very low for me as well:

14Mar11_2

So I made use what I had and truly emptied the fridge in time for my home shopping delivery tonight. I have to say that my cupboards are always well stocked with grains, beans, pulses, nuts, dried fruit and Nakd bars.

For breakfast I used that banana and made banana porridge:

14Mar11_1

Made with skimmed milk, with milled flaxseed mixed in and sprinkled with cinnamon.

I had the apple and a few almonds mid-morning:

14Mar11_3

Lunch was a bit boring actually and it was the only meal where I missed my usual fresh stockpile. I would have had some sort of grain as well, but I didn’t have time to cook any up last night:

14Mar11_4

Romaine, cucumber and chickpeas with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Mid-afternoon I had a couple of slices of sprouted wheat and date bread spread with some soft cheese:

14Mar11_5

I really recommend this bread – there are only two ingredients (sprouted wheat and dates unsurprisingly) and it tastes yummy – just like malt loaf.

I grabbed a berry Nakd bar before my chiropractor appointment and to fuel my yoga workout. I was a bit hungry during yoga, but not ravenous, so I coped.

When I got home I was in a mega rush to have dinner ready before Glee so I had something very very quick: steamed kale and romaine and a duck egg omelette filled with nutritional yeast.

14Mar11_6

I steamed the romaine because it was the only thing left in the fridge, but it tasted really good! It’s definitely something I’ll do again. It wasn’t ready in time for Glee because the home shopping arrived early. I’m looking forward to watching it on E4 +1 very soon Smile

 

I’ll leave you with the name of a village I drove through on the way home yesterday – Spital-in-the-Street. That really made me laugh and made my journey go that little bit faster.

Have you seen any funny place names that might cheer up a Monday evening?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 8:07 am

    I live in County Durham which has an abundance of strange named places such as Pity Me and No Place – I’m not joking. My grocery budget is right down so until payday I’ll be eating out my freezer and cupboards too!

  2. March 15, 2011 8:29 am

    Ooh sprouted wheat and date bread! That sounds amazing.

    I actually quite like letting stocks run low from time to time. It makes you realise that you can be a bit more imaginative than you thought, and is also quite satisfying in terms of making use of stuff from the back of the cupboard. It happened to me last week, and admittedly I ended up eating the same thing for almost 3 days, but I managed!

    Nice yoga workout 🙂

  3. March 15, 2011 9:14 am

    That omelette looks soooo good! You’ve awoken an egg craving in me!

    I come from Wales, and believe me there’s some funny place names there. One time my boyfriend (who is from the States) timidly asked whether the signs for “Hotel” were actually for a hotel or some weirdly named Welsh place. It made me wonder how he’d cope if he got totally lost ever!

  4. March 15, 2011 10:59 am

    That bread looks delish! I love date and walnut bread with mature cheddar nom!

  5. March 15, 2011 12:10 pm

    Dates and walnuts are such a classic combination. As are oats, nana and flax in my opinion.

    I feel less anxious when my cupboards are bare actually…too much choice just makes me unsure of what to make!

    I have such tight hamstrings too, but my physio advised me to be careful with doing too much yoga because I’m hypermobile and prone towards being overly flexible, which can apparently lead to injuries if I’m made even MORE flexible by doing too much yoga!

    xxx

  6. March 15, 2011 8:02 pm

    sprouted wheat bread with date spread with soft cheese- ooooo me want me want!

    and that omelet looks really tasty! ❤

  7. DonnyFan permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:56 pm

    there is a road in a village in Wiltshire called….

    Rotten Row

    it actually looks quite nice though 🙂

Leave a Reply

