Skip to content

Bad Habits

March 15, 2011

Last week I posted seven random things about me. This week I’m in a confessional mood and thought I would share five of my bad habits. If my boyfriend is reading this he’s now thinking “only five?!”, but these are the ones that spring to mind. I’m sure there are others that I’m not aware of …

Some of them come under the category of “guilty pleasures” and one of them is a bit more serious.

1) Coveting other peoples’ food

It doesn’t really matter what they’re tucking into (unless it’s something gross like offal, or god forbid, liquorice) I can’t help wanting to have whatever the person I’m with is eating. I hate having to watch other people eating if I’ve not got anything and I have to publically apologise to my long-suffering boyfriend who has to share with me at least 10% of everything he eats (it doesn’t work the other way round!)

This is a bad habit for a couple of reasons, mainly that it must be REALLY annoying for the people that have to put up with me. Secondly, nibbling on the milk chocolate, cheese on toast and other stuff that Peter eats can’t be very good for my healthy eating habits. Which brings me on to my second habit …

2) Eating cereal straight out of the box

It doesn’t count if I don’t put it in a bowl with milk – right? My favourite out-of-the-box cereal is bran flakes and one handful is never enough. Granola is pretty good too and where that’s concerned I have a “one spoonful for the bowl, one spoonful for my mouth” policy.

3) Pulling out my eyelashes

This sounds like something a stressed animal might do. I started pulling them out at uni, so it possibly was stress related. I tend to have a good pull when I’m thinking or bored. I’m going to try stop doing this so often, but like a nail-biter I’m not sure that I can completely give up. At least I should have a lot of good luck Smile

4) Reading trashy magazines

A few years ago this would have been “buying trashy magazines” – I was seriously addicted, so I have made progress! I still buy some glossies and I have a subscription to Zest, but I’m talking about Heat, Now, Closer etc. I’m appalled by the way they write about women’s bodies and their diet and fitness articles seem to advocate rapid, unhealthy and unsustainable weight loss. Yet, I still can’t resist a bit of celebrity gossip.

5) Being hard on myself

I suspect this is something that a lot of women (and men) can relate to. I can be very determined and goal-oriented, but on the other hand I undermine myself with my lack of confidence. I compare my body and eating habits with others. I worry that I’m not as ambitious or career-minded as other people and that I won’t achieve my potential.

I think deep-down I know a lot of the self-doubt is unfounded, yet I’m always surprised when I get positive feedback on anything, whether it’s the way I look or the quality of my work. This is definitely in the category of something I have to work on.

If you want to make me feel better about my bad habits, please share some of yours!

In the meantime, seeing as everyone seemed to enjoy the lamb photos I posted on Sunday I will leave you with another one …

019

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 8:15 pm

    I love to be the last one to finish nice food. That comes back from competing with my sister- she would hide the last bit and eat it once I had eaten my last bit (does that make sense) and then would show off that she still had some. So now I like to save some til after everyone else has finished- mental!
    I used to really like heat (actually I mean maybe 5 years ago but it seems recent to me) but it got more and more nasty to the celebs, so now I have no idea what is going on in the world of celebs! I do have a magazine addiction, but now it is totally running related which I think is better for my body image and sanity than cosmo, zest, heat etc (which I used to love).
    🙂

  2. March 15, 2011 8:38 pm

    haha great post, cereal always tastes better straight from the box! I’ve never been into those trashy mags but I do have a serious magazine addiction – now mostly health, cooking and yoga magazines, I have to try and kick it for my bank balances sake!

  3. March 15, 2011 8:46 pm

    Pulling out your eyelashes!?! That sounds painful…ouch!

  4. Stacey permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:55 pm

    I can relate to coveting other people’s food! I think I just always want what I don’t have, even when it comes to food. It’s not that I necessarily want to eat their food because I know that my food makes me feel better but I just don’t like to think that I can’t have it. I know, it’s weird.

  5. March 15, 2011 11:04 pm

    I have too many bad habits to list here but I too am a granola muncher and food coveter.

    I’m also guilty of gobbling up those crash diets with my eyes…there’s something in me that’s always looking for a magic solution to my weight problem, even though I know there’s no such thing!

    xxx

  6. March 15, 2011 11:09 pm

    I definitely agree with number one! I can be stuffed to the brim but still want to eat my dining companion’s food. It’s horrible!

  7. DonnyFan permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:58 pm

    love it!

    my bad habits…..

    I say to myself that I am going to be on the laptop for no longer than an hour….. and then find it’s a good couple of hours later…..

    I too have dry granola by the handful…….

    Mr DF swears I eat my food really really fast but I disagree with him on that one as I have a friend who eats even faster!

    I won’t go into the personal habits ok…. :p

  8. March 16, 2011 5:24 pm

    Whaaaa, you don’t like liquorice!? 😦

    I can join you on 1, 4, and 5 for sure. I always want to try what other people have (though it’s harder now I’m vegan), but I hate it when people want to try my food! And in moments of weakness I buy Look or Grazia.

    Other bad habits include an addiction to coffee (psychological and physiological), hitting the snooze button, and giving other people my rubbish to put in the bin for me!

  9. March 16, 2011 5:53 pm

    I am such a ‘cereal-out-of-the-box’ person too! Like in a major way! I got a delivery from Dorset Cereals today, and one of the boxes was a ‘toffee pecan crunch cereal’. Yeah, thats already gone…

  10. March 17, 2011 7:05 pm

    Haha- love the post! I think I might have been guilty of all 5 too… esp. reading trashy magazines. i just flip through them at the grocery store now. 😉

    I think you would like the book I’m doing a giveaway for.. It’s “Diet Drama” by Nancy Redd.

    You can enter via comment on my post here:
    http://www.beinghealthier.com/2011/03/14/giveaway-diet-drama/

Leave a Reply

