Skip to content

First Day of Spring

March 21, 2011

I hope everyone is enjoying the first day of Spring Smile I’m so happy that it’s finally come around – everything’s so much better when you don’t have to go to work in the dark and can enjoy the lighter evenings!

I decided not to post over the weekend because I wanted to relax completely and not be stuck with my laptop on my knee, although I did indulge in some reading and commenting. I stayed in Leeds for the first time in ages and just chilled with Peter and my housemate (his cousin). We didn’t really leave the local area and spent most of the weekend watching films and eating my housemate’s baking. She’s trying to eat healthily so I didn’t completely blow my eating habits as the bran muffins she made were low-fat and low-sugar. I did have a slightly greasy Chinese take-away on Saturday night though (my bad), but I enjoyed it. I’ve been suffering a bit with indigestion since though, so I’m not 100% sure that it was worth it.

Now I’m starting to wear my orthotics a bit more I wanted to try and walk a bit further, so I dragged (the most appropriate word) Peter on a 4 mile walk around the local area. My ulterior motive was to find some suitable running routes for when I can start running again. I discovered that my local area isn’t very nice, plus it’s very very hilly. There is a small reservoir, but it was full of rubbish and stank terribly. I think I’ll stick to running along the main road for now and perhaps explore further afield in my car for longer runs.

I fancied something a bit different for my gym workout on Sunday and did a steady 5k on the rowing machine. I tried to keep my splits at 2:30/500m for the first 4k, which was easy to start with, but got harder and harder. For the last 1k I brought my split down to 2:25/500m and then sprinted the last 250m. I did the full 5k in just over 24mins. I really enjoyed the endurance workout and it made a change from my normal intervals, it’s definitely something I’ll incorporate into my routine every now and then. I also did my normal strength training, followed by 14 minutes on the summit trainer and some core work.

I got the podiatrist to check out my running shoes today and the great news is that he’s very happy with how my orthotics fit in them! So, this week I’m going to start running. My aim is still to be able to do the Leeds Run For All 10k on June 19th, which is in 12 weeks time. I’m going to try the Zest 10k training plan, which seems to start off at about my level. My goal will purely be to finish the race. So this week’s fitness routine incorporates the plan alongside plenty of cross-training. The running isn’t that much to start with, so I need to cross-train to maintain my fitness.

Monday Lunchtime walk, yoga
Tuesday Swim
Wednesday Run, plus core work
Thursday Gym
Friday Run
Saturday Run, plus strength workout
Sunday Rest

 

I didn’t take any photos over the weekend, but I’ve had some yummy food today. This morning I had some of the blueberry muesli I bought from the mill that I visited last weekend. It was very oaty and could have done with a bit more fruit, but overall good. I served with some chia seeds and two sliced kiwis. I also poured over some skimmed milk once I’d taken the photo:

21Mar11_1

Lunch look very summery and was lovely:

21Mar11_2

Spinach, cucumber, orange pepper, half a large sweet potato and a dollop of homemade hummus. I just made regular hummus with chickpeas, tahini, natural yoghurt, garlic, black pepper and cumin.

Dinner was left over chestnut and vegetable stew, so I didn’t bother taking a photo.

If you run, what kind of cross-training do you fit in and do you do the same thing every week? I enjoy so many different things I want to try and fit them all in somehow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 11:33 pm

    Run run run run run! Woo!!

    Exciting news eh 🙂 Hmm, cross training. I’m struggling more now to fit everything in. I got a bit spoiled while I was injured, being able to do all that rowing! I’m still incorporating that where I can — usually for shorter interval sessions now — and I’m also doing a steady state session once a week. Either elliptical or rowing, maybe the summit trainer. Tbh though I think in practice I’m just winging it and doing what I want! I figure as long as I’m not training for anything, and am just generally keeping active with variety both in terms of XT and intensity, I’m good 🙂

  2. March 22, 2011 8:22 am

    I know what you mean about trying to fit everything in, I like to do running, gym / cardio, strength and yoga so its really tough! I’m keeping my running at just twice a week for the moment so that helps. Congrats on deciding to do that run 🙂

  3. DonnyFan permalink
    March 22, 2011 2:18 pm

    I have to confess and say I have no real structure to my workouts as I’m not in training for any specific event, I just do what I fancy on the day although I do tend to do more steady state cardio than anything alongside the weights.

    I keep thinking I should incorporate some intervals of some kind but it’s too much like hard work :p x

  4. March 22, 2011 2:55 pm

    I stick to the elliptical or cycling. I think spinning classes are great cross training. I was injured last summer and didn’t run for two weeks and just cycled every day. At the end of the two weeks, I ran a 5k and PR’d! Pretty cool considering I hadn’t run in weeks- cycling really keeps your endurance up!

  5. March 22, 2011 5:52 pm

    Nice news 🙂
    I run 3 times a week, and do aerobics and body pump once each. I would love to do another body pump but the gym only does it once. I think yoga would be good for me, but the only classes are when I am at work. My routine is pretty much the same each week as the classes are the same and the rest fits around work.

  6. March 22, 2011 6:42 pm

    It is hard to fit everything in. I’ve been having trouble fitting running into my schedule lately and am trying to be better about it.

Leave a Reply

