Skip to content

Return of Seasonal Food of the Week

March 23, 2011

So, Wednesday is usually seasonal food of the week day for me, but for the last two weeks I have been neglecting it, which is a real shame because two weeks ago it was mussels. I adore mussels and I love eating them in restaurants, but I never quite got round to getting any. Last week was spring onions, and again I didn’t get off my backside and buy any in time. I actually ordered some on my home shopping delivery last night, so they do feature in my lunch today.

This week’s seasonal food is rhubarb. I love rhubarb, and it’s even better because it’s grown really locally to me in Yorkshire. The only downside is that it needs sweetening because it can be really tart. I went enthusiastically down to the market to buy some, but was thwarted because today was Asian market day, so no rhubarb. I do have some frozen in my freezer, so that will make an appearance in breakfast tomorrow and I’ll head back to the market tomorrow.

I’m having a really fun week with fitness this week. I loved yoga on Monday and felt like I’m making some progress. My lower body is still super inflexible and I can’t get into a lot of the lower body poses. My upper body is a little better and after I came home my shoulders felt so good – worked out, yet relaxed. Swimming last night was awesome too. I decided to go free and easy and didn’t count lengths or clock-watch. I swam fast when I had a bit of space and went slower when I got caught behind someone, which added up to a really good workout. When I got out of the pool I realised I’d done about 45 minutes. I tried using a nose clip for the first time yesterday because I’d been suffering from serious sneezes after swimming. I had one small sneezing fit straight after I got out, but much improved.

AND … today I went for a run Smile It was the most perfect morning for it – crisp and fresh with bright blue skies. The plan called for 5 minutes running, followed by 3 minutes walking twice over, so quite a gentle start. I managed it quite easily, which encouraged me, but I want to start slowly and stick to the plan. I felt really good afterwards and felt more alert this morning than I have done for a while.

Before the run I had a few dates to give me a burst of energy. When I got back I had two slices of wholewheat toast spread with almond butter and topped with a chopped banana:

23Mar11_1

For lunch I had a brilliant salad including those spring onions I mentioned earlier, along with brown rice, a few chickpeas, orange pepper, cucumber, spinach and cottage cheese:

23Mar11_2

I finished off the day with a veg-tastic dinner of baked cod with pesto and roasted veggies (butternut squash, aubergine, courgette and orange pepper). I added a small tin of butter beans to the roasted veg about 15 minutes before the end of cooking:

23Mar11_3

I’m trying to get more fish into my life because it’s a good source of protein and oily fish has lots of omega-3. I ate some fish when I was very young, but then stopped eating it and I think it became a sort of “fear food”. My mum is allergic to fish and we didn’t really have much in the house and I think it made me a bit afraid of it. When I was at university I started occasionally eating salmon, but still avoided other fish. When I went to China the fresh fish was so gorgeous that I really became a fan. When I got home I was still a bit dubious, but have gradually started to introduce different types. I LOVE shellfish now and well cooked white fish is growing on me. I still hate tuna though!

Are there any foods which you used to think you didn’t like, but are loving now?

I have loads of examples, fish is just one. I used to think I didn’t like sweet potato – clearly I was delusional!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 9:16 pm

    So many! Probably all veggies- I don’t LOVE all of them now, but I eat them, and that’s an improvement from when I was a teenager 🙂

  2. March 23, 2011 9:35 pm

    Ironically, when I was a kid I was pretty much veggie from birth (not by my parents’ choosing, I was just fussy :P) Aside from tuna. It was the only non-vegetarian food I ever liked and I lived on tuna mayo sandwiches until I was old enough to realise that a fish was still an animal lol.

    There are so many foods I’d never eat when I was younger, but I think the biggest one is lentils, red or green. I remember freaking out when I was fourteen (and a veggie that didn’t eat any vegetables aside from frozen peas and occasionally cooked carrots) and my Mum put red lentils in my Quorn bolognese in a desperate attempt to get something nutritious into me.

    Sounds like a very positive week on the exercise front. Glad to hear that the running is going so well 🙂

    xxx

  3. March 24, 2011 8:04 am

    Cauliflower! I’ve recently gotten really into that. Just not in cauliflower cheese please (which I hated as a kid!)

    Great news on the running, swimming and yoga too. I think going slow and sticking to the plan is definitely the safest option. I found that when I overstepped the increases my knee pain was noticeable worse. Surprise surprise! The progress will come, and it’s a much better foundation for future adventures then too 🙂

  4. March 24, 2011 8:06 am

    Glad your enjoying your fitness so much! I love rhubarb, I like to roast it in the oven with orange juice, its delicious! Theres so many foods I didn’t used to like when I was younger, I was an extremely fussy eater and used to go days with just eating sweets and vegetable soup, how times have changed!

  5. March 24, 2011 10:52 am

    There is so much that I used to hate when I was younger, like beats and marmite. I love them both now. It’s funny how our taste buds change over time.

  6. March 24, 2011 11:18 am

    I used to shun crunchy pb believe it or not, (I actually just wrote believe it or nut bahaha)

  7. March 24, 2011 1:47 pm

    This tub of veggies with cottage cheese look so damned good! I recently asked this question on my blog, too, because I recently noticed how much my taste and palette had changed as ive got older. I love loads of different foods I couldnt stomach as a kid, like prawns, olives, custard, etc! Infact, there isnt alot I wont eat now, except for meat and non-vegan foods!

    x

  8. March 24, 2011 5:46 pm

    Great news on the run! I love rhubarb too!
    I never used to like any beans at all, and now I practically live off them! I also only used to like salted peanuts, no other nuts at all, and now I like all nuts (except walnuts still). I never used to like onions, and now I do. And for ages I didnt think I liked spinach whereas actually I love it. So loads actually! I was sucha fusspot!

  9. March 24, 2011 6:46 pm

    I’m glad the exercise is going well for you! 🙂
    And those roast veggies look SOOO GOOD! I haven’t had them for ages cause of the weather getting warmer… but I’m thinking of cooking up a big batch and enjoying them cold in salads! YUM!

  10. March 24, 2011 6:52 pm

    SNAP!!! I find sticking to a running plan works for me, I like flexibility in everything else I do (choice of when and what etc), but when I start out running I need structure.
    Foods, well my current “I can’t live without” would be legumes/pulses of all kinds and I wouldn’t touch these for love nor money a few years back 🙂

  11. March 24, 2011 10:49 pm

    Weirdly, I hated peanut butter till only a few months ago – mad as I could eat my own weight in almond butter! I’ve come round now though; when Holland and Barrett was doing buy one get one free, I couldn’t resist TWO of those big buckets 🙂
    Your breakfast does look amazing!

  12. March 25, 2011 7:36 pm

    hahah peanut butter !!! I eat it every single day now and I used to tell babysitters/teachers i was allergic because it made me cough. i hated ants on a log.

Leave a Reply

