Skip to content

Hair Today … Gone Tomorrow?

March 24, 2011

Phew – I’m glad that it’s Thursday today. I’m actually taking the afternoon off tomorrow, so only about four hours of work left this week. I’m getting my hair cut after work (hence the cheesy post title) and I’m not sure what I’m going to get done. I last got my hair cut in August (aaaages ago!) and it’s grown loads. I’ve kinda been putting off going to the hairdressers because I can’t decide what the ask for. I want to grow my hair a bit because I haven’t had it long for a while, but I want something different. Maybe a fringe? I’m a bit scared because I had some fringe disasters when I was younger.

This morning started off with the most amazing breakfast ever (I might have said that before and I reserve the right to say it again). I soaked some blueberry muesli, milled flaxseed and a few goji berries in some kara coconut milk and a tablespoon of yoghurt overnight:

24Mar11_1

I bought the coconut milk in a health food haul earlier in the week because I was curious about how it tastes compared to cow’s milk and soya milk. I liked it with porridge and in this breakfast, but I’m not so keen in tea and coffee. I might buy more, but I’m not necessarily going to make it a regular thing (I’m thinking of my bank balance).

I topped it with some of my seasonal food of the week, rhubarb sweetened with a little agave:

24Mar11_2

So pretty and pink! It tasted fantastic and I especially enjoyed the goji berries. Following on from yesterday’s post, I used to think I didn’t like gojis, but I’m reassessing now. The were especially good soaked overnight.

Mid-morning I had a banana and some brazils, but then I had some cake as well! I had a small piece of tiffin made by a lovely lady at work. She makes cakes at least once a week and since January I’ve resisted. However, she’s now moving offices and I didn’t want her to leave without tasting her famous baking. It was well worth the few extra calories – yummy! We even got her a card to thank her for feeding the team. I think there’s a few people on the team that might start losing weight now!

Due to cake eating I wasn’t hungry until later than my usual lunchtime, but when I was eventually ready for it I enjoyed it muchly:

24Mar11_3

Brown rice, red pepper, cucumber, spring onion and a chopped boiled egg. I think I’ve said it before, but egg and rice is one of my all-time favourite combinations.

Today was gym day and my legs were a little heavy and stiff, especially around my quads. I was surprised because my run yesterday was so short and at an easy pace, but has still affected me. I guess it just shows that different forms of exercise use different muscles. I had a headache all through my workout, but I ploughed on quite successfully. When I got home I had a can of coconut water (on sale at the health food shop) to try and rehydrate and cure my headache. It’s kind of worked, but I still have a niggle.

When I got home I ate the vegetable and chickpea curry I’d made before going to the gym:

24Mar11_4

This concoction contained:

  • Butternut squash
  • Courgette
  • Aubergine
  • Carrot
  • Leek
  • Chickpeas
  • Spinach (wilted in at the end of cooking)
  • Carton chopped tomatoes
  • Vegetable bouillion, cinnamon, cumin, coriander, ginger, chilli powder, black pepper

All cooked (apart from the spinach) for about 45 minutes. Such a good way to end the day.

Bring on the weekend!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 10:12 pm

    Have fun at the hair dressers tomorrow, I’m sure you’ll look fab (might need a pic next post), I generally trawl though hair style sites before I want a change and then arrive early to go through their reference material as well.

  2. March 24, 2011 10:47 pm

    Have fun at the hairdressers! I need to book mine as I have not had it cut since before christmas (not as long as you, but my hair is going crazy now!).
    🙂

  3. March 24, 2011 11:01 pm

    Ah, I had my fair share of fringe disasters when I was little too…ruler straight or bowl cuts mostly. Scarred me for life, it did. I only get mine cut twice a year or so…the whole experience of being at the hairdressers worries me, particularly if they ask me if I’m going out that night or going on holiday, because I never am!

    xxx

  4. March 25, 2011 1:27 am

    mmm Kara Coconut Milk- that breakfast looks super delicious!!
    hmm im thinking of what to do with my hair also. a fringe doesnt sound too bad, and im all for trying out something exciting and different. i think i will try getting bangs next time. i say go big or go home hehe ❤

  5. March 25, 2011 3:08 am

    mmm rhubarb. I really love the stuff!! We have a huge plant in our yard that keeps making new plants!

  6. March 25, 2011 4:16 am

    I haven’t gotten my hair cut since August either! I want to keep it long, but my split ends are horrendous.

  7. March 25, 2011 8:37 am

    Go for the fringe! I was scared for years of having one, but then I got a good hairdresser and they did something I was really pleased with 🙂

  8. March 25, 2011 5:37 pm

    I wish I was talented enough to do this stuff.
    I’m lucky I can pour cereal from a box.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  9. March 25, 2011 7:22 pm

    Hope the hairdressers goes well! Your curry looks yummy!

  10. March 25, 2011 7:29 pm

    omg, i have been thinking your whole first paragraph on this post. i haven’t gotten mine cut since october… i just can’t decide what to tell them I want. im so bad about getting my hairs cut but when i do go, it feels so awesome after. hope it turns out well!

    amazing photos too, yummy breakfast! so nice that you incorporated seasonal veggies too – i dont think ive had rhubarb before but i am more eager to try it now.

    have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

