Skip to content

Yippee–The Weekend!!

March 25, 2011

Woohoo – it’s Friday and it couldn’t have come quickly enough. This week seems to have dragged at work, although at home I’ve had some good food and awesome workouts. I’m really excited because I’m off to London to catch up with two of my best friends from university. I think I’ve got an itinerary sorted out for me including a pub lunch, watching the Boat Race, meze and boules. I’ve been to watch the Boat Race once before and I’m under no illusion that I’ll actually see any rowing – I saw the boats race between one tall man’s head and another tall man’s head! Go on the Light Blues Smile

I got my hair cut today and sort of got a fringe. I compromised and got a side fringe which is a subtle change of style without succumbing to full on bangs (too much American blog reading!) I spent a good amount of time this afternoon trying to take a self portrait to show you all, but gave up in the end. I just look weird because I couldn’t get the angle and the lighting right. I’m at home on my own tonight, but hopefully one of my friends will take a photo of me at the weekend.

Before I headed to the hairdressers I had some lunch at Pret a Manger. I was starving and faced with their huge range of lunch items. I tried to think about what I really wanted to eat and the “Retro Prawn Baguette” caught my attention. I wasn’t disappointed, it tasted just as good as I’d imagined. I also bought a decaff latte, but it was way too strong for me and I left most of it. I also did a bit of shopping, trying on loads of things but buying nada. I was really disappointed with what was in the shops. Nude colours seem to be in and they really don’t suit me. I’m mega pale and nude colours just completely wash me out.

Do you like the fashions at the moment? Where has good affordable ranges? … I’m feeling sartorially challenged at the moment.

I’m going to have a bit of a shoe-related rant now … I’ve always had problems with finding shoes that fit well, but my problems have doubled now that I’ve got orthotics. I’m doomed to a fate of flat lace ups and the only shoes that are truly comfortable are trainers – not suitable for wearing with pretty skirts and dresses. I went to M&S and bought a couple of pairs of shoes that are *OK*, but even though they were wide fitting I had to buy bigger shoes to increase the width even more. I got mega frustrated and believed I’d never wear pretty shoes again. My Mum then had a light-bulb moment and suggested I go to Evans – the plus-size shop. It was genius – there were loads of styles I liked and I ended up with a pair of pumps in size 5 (I had to buy 6 1/2 in M&S) and in their normal width fitting (they also do extra wide).

OK – this has turned into a rambling post. I’ll leave you with the slightly odd (but really enjoyable) snack I had when I got home:

25Mar11_1

Broccoli with sunflower, pumpkin and sesame seeds.

And the mega satisfying salad I had for dinner:

25Mar11_2

In this pile is romaine, cucumber, grilled red pepper, grilled mushrooms, cottage cheese and a couple of Dr Karg’s seeded spelt crispbreads. I love these crispbreads – a recent addiction of mine.

I hope everyone has a brilliant weekend Smile

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 10:52 pm

    Can’t wait to see pics of your new ‘bangs’ (I’ve been saying that since Series 1 of America’s Next Top Model aired over here years ago, so blame Tyra Banks.)

    I have to wear trainers all the time due to my scoliosis: anything else throws my back out and makes it painful to walk. So trends and styles in fashion always pass me by, even when I’m not feeling totally tomboyish and disinterested. As you say, pretty clothes and Asics don’t necessarily mix!

    Have a great time this weekend!

    xxx

  2. March 26, 2011 12:10 am

    I need to get a haircut really badly! It’s not been cut since August!

  3. March 26, 2011 1:09 pm

    A side fringe sounds nice! I’m loving H&M at the moment but a lot of their stuff is in the nude pallete, Dorothy Perkins seems to have some nice stuff in at the moment too, hope you enjoy your weekend 🙂

  4. March 26, 2011 2:18 pm

    Your broccoli looks delish, and im such a fan of mushrooms!
    I personally used to think topshop was expensive, but Ive loved that shop since I was 15, and think that they are the only retail store to have not raised their prices just recently – everything seems pretty “reasonable”, within reason!

    x

  5. March 26, 2011 3:12 pm

    I am not a fan of nude clothes- think they look weird on most people! I think if they are layered with other colours then fine, but I saw a lady yesterday in tight nude trousers and a nude top, and she basically looked naked!

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    March 27, 2011 12:39 pm

    oh I love Dr Karg crackers and have some in the cupboard in readiness for lunches this week! 🙂

  7. March 28, 2011 12:01 am

    I love those crackers! So expensive, but SO worth it 🙂 I must remember to pick some up on my next grocery shop!
    As for cheap, stylish clothes… I suggest H&M!

Leave a Reply

