Skip to content

The Boat Race, Cocktails, Meze and Other London Shenanigans

March 28, 2011

Happy Monday everyone! I’m feeling very tired today, probably due to a busy weekend and the clocks going forward on Sunday. I love the lighter evenings, but I wasn’t that keen when my alarm went off at 6am (it was really 5am for goodness sake!)

My weekend started off with a run. I did 15 minutes without stopping – the longest I’ve ever ran outside! A small accomplishment, but it made me happy. When I got in I whizzed up my first ever green smoothie. I have to to say it was a bit “meh” … I’m not sold yet. I used a frozen banana, an apple, spinach, yoghurt, milk and some maca. I think I overdid the maca and it was a very prominent flavour. I topped with some gojis and some blueberry muesli:

26Mar11

I will definitely experiment more with smoothies to find a combination that I like because it was so easy and I really enjoyed the texture.

I headed off to London on Saturday morning to meet up with a couple of my best friends from university. The first thing we did is head down to the river to find a spot to watch the Oxford-Cambridge Boat Race. We were all starving by that point, so we had some thai food from a stall outside a pub:

005

I had the pad thai, which really hit the spot! We also had our first Pimms of the year (you can see the stall behind the thai one).

The river bank was super crowded:

002

But we managed to get a much better spot than the last time I went to watch the race and I saw a good 30 seconds rather than the 5 seconds I saw last time:

022

My camera has awful zoom, but you can just about see that Oxford are winning and that’s how it ended up – boo hoo. We drowned our sorrows with wine and cocktails:

023

Mine is the one in the middle and it was sooo good. It was called “The Wibble” and was gin based with pomegranate. After drinks we had meze in Souk in Covent Garden. It was good, but the chairs were really low and we were kind of crumpled up. It made us all feel full to bursting even though we didn’t eat that much. I managed to fit in a couple of small baklava though, oh and a Snog frozen yoghurt a bit later on Smile

Sunday was such a bright sunny day. We hung around South London and had Sunday lunch in a pub beer garden. I went for the veggie ratatouille even though the chicken and beef looked good I just didn’t fancy them. We sat in a lovely square for a few hours before I had to come back to Leeds.

Back to reality now … so here’s my exercise plan for this week. It’s pretty much the same as last week, just with progress on the 10k plan:

Monday 30 min walk, yoga
Tuesday Swim
Wednesday Run 10 mins, walk 2mins (x 2)
Thursday Gym
Friday Run 7 mins, walk 2 mins (x 2)
Saturday Rest
Sunday Run 20 mins
11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 4:38 pm

    This green smoothie looks so damned good! nom!

    x

  2. March 28, 2011 7:25 pm

    Watching the boat race- love it!
    But now any american readers will take it as proof that it is what every single person in England does! Haha !

  3. March 28, 2011 7:55 pm

    Those cocktails look great! I love a good cocktail! Shame the green smoothie wasn’t as good as you thought – definitely experiment with different ingredients until you find what does it for you x

  4. March 28, 2011 7:58 pm

    Pad Thai AND cocktails ….. thats my kinda day 🙂

  5. March 28, 2011 11:24 pm

    Your green smoothie looks delicious! Very vibrant. I usually put mixed berries in mine so they look like sludge 🙂

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:23 am

    sounds like an awesome weekend 🙂

    I’ve never had a smoothie from a bowl, I put mine into a pint glass and suck it up through a straw (I have to suck really hard sometimes!) :p

    x

  7. March 29, 2011 8:44 am

    Damn, I totally forgot about the boat race!

    Great news about the running though. And as for the green smoothies, I’m with you on the “meh”. I prefer berry based ones 🙂

  8. March 29, 2011 2:45 pm

    You’re progressing so well and really quickly with the running: it’s great that your orthotics are obviously working and I know you’re going to do brilliantly in your 10k.

    I would love to watch the boat race: it must have been really exciting! Your drink is exceptionally pretty too.

    xxx

  9. March 29, 2011 3:29 pm

    I’ve always wanted to see a boat race. When I lived in Boston for a summer, I saw the Harvard team practice but never race.

    Lovely post. Check out my blog today for a lovely award. 😉

  10. March 29, 2011 5:23 pm

    I love boat races, my roommates in college used to row and I would run from bridge to bridge cheering them on. I also just discovered green smoothies this week too! But I’ve gotten a combination I enjoy. I actually just blogged about it and all the tips I found from the founder’s website, it might help you find a combination you like!

  11. March 30, 2011 7:16 pm

    Glad you had a great time in London! I always love it when people enjoy their time in London because its MY TOWN!! Hehe 🙂
    As for that cocktail… I’m drooling! (probably a combination of the fact that I ‘need’ a drink after a stressful day and also that I love pomegranite) 😉

Leave a Reply

