Skip to content

A Clumsy and Forgetful Day

March 29, 2011

I actually thought of that post title before I drove all the way to the swimming pool having forgotten all my swimming stuff … I guess sometimes post titles are self-fulfilling prophesies! It took quite a lot of willpower to drive home, pick up my backpack and then drive back to the pool. Once I finally got in the water I had an enjoyable swim again. I’m enjoying swimming without counting lengths or watching the clock at the moment. Somehow the joy of it disappears if I’m trying to remember whether I’ve done 8 or 10 lengths. I can’t actually see the time because I’m short-sighted and the clock’s too far away. Because I’m short sighted I really hate going to new pools where I don’t know where everything is and how things work.

The forgetfulness I was actually referring to was that I forgot to tell you about one of the highlights of my trip to London – a visit to the Montezuma shop Smile

I did very well and ONLY bought two bars:

29Mar11_1

I opened the white chocolate “Culture Shock” with ginger and chilli this afternoon. I can honestly say that it’s the nicest chocolate I’ve had in ages. The ginger and chilli were quite strong and left my mouth nicely tingling, but the sweetness of the white chocolate came through and provided a delicious contrast. I’m looking forward to trying the “Sea Dog” soon, but I’m going to try not to devour the Culture Shock in double-quick time.

I also forgot to say in my post yesterday that in addition to the exercise plan I posted I’m also going to do a short core session tomorrow and strength on Friday or Sunday, as well as including core and strength in my gym workout. I think it’s really important to keep this going while I’m learning to run as I want to maintain and improve my all-round fitness.

The day started out very well with a breakfast first. I had my regular porridge, but I added in a grated pink lady apple and some chia seeds before cooking in the microwave. I topped with a little dollop of peanut butter:

29Mar11_2

Wow, this was good and is definitely going to be making regular appearances in my breakfast repertoire.

The day did go slightly downhill when my clumsiness came into play and I managed to fall up the steps on the way into work. The skirt I wore today is quite tight and I underestimated the distance to the step. I didn’t do myself any serious damage, but did graze my knee. I felt like a little kid .. if only they had some cartoon plasters at work!

I was clumsy at dinner as well and let my omelette burn Sad smile

29Mar11_3

It was OK, but had a slightly charred taste. It would have been a really tasty combo of eggs, mushroom and nutritional yeast. Peter complained that I burnt his omelette last week as well, so I’m going to blame the pan (what is it about a workman blaming his tools?!)

Tesco were very forgetful as well and forgot to bring my frozen summer fruits with my home shopping delivery. That means no summer fruit smoothie for breakfast tomorrow as I had previously planned. They also substituted chickpeas for guango peas, whatever they are. I’ll give them a go and let you know!

Are you clumsy or forgetful? I find if they day starts out that way it usually continues that way.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 4:07 am

    I am clumsy AND forgetful! I agree- if my day starts out that way it will be like that all day! Unfortunately that’s most days for me 🙂

  2. March 30, 2011 6:32 am

    I am always walking into tables at work (in the classroom) so I always have bruises on my legs.
    🙂

  3. March 30, 2011 8:11 am

    Wait, there is a Montezumo’s SHOP in London!? Why did I not know this!!

    Good work going home and then back to the pool. It’s so easy to let things like that kill your motivation. And you know, I don’t let Tesco do substitutes, b/c they are often really random!

  4. DonnyFan permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:45 am

    I think we all have days like that from time to time – hope your knee’s ok 🙂 x

  5. March 30, 2011 10:17 am

    Oh bless ya, we all have those clumsy days!

    I’ve tried guango peas and I think chickpeas have a sweeter taste 🙂

    I wasn’t mad keen on the Montezuma Sea Dog flavour so I gave mine to my parents who love dark choc too. 🙂

  6. March 30, 2011 1:28 pm

    I am both clumsy and forgetful. I give blondes a bad name! I’m always banging into something, brusing myself, forgetting train tickets/money/goggles when I swim/anything and everything else. I’m also always running late!

    I have the bruises to prove how clumsy I am and very poor spatial awareness (which translated badly when I tried to learn how to drive).

    Huge congrats for going back to the pool: I’d imagine it was a right pain to have to pick your stuff up again and most people’s motivation would have evaporated by that point. You’re really dedicated 🙂

    xxx

  7. March 30, 2011 5:36 pm

    I love the Sea Dog chocolate it tastes awesome. The other white chocolate bar sounds lovely too!

Leave a Reply

