Skip to content

Summer Fruit Lovin’

April 12, 2011

Happy Tuesday everyone! The weekend may be just over, but I’m already looking forward to the next one … only three days to go Smile

With all the nice weather we’ve been having I’ve been really craving summer fruits. It’s not quite the season for fresh British berries, so I’ve been digging in to some fairly high-quality frozen fruits I picked up from the supermarket. I can’t wait until British strawberries are ready. I’m determined to go to a pick-you-own place this year, although I’m a lazy picker and tend to go for raspberries that I don’t have to bend down to get!

On Friday I made an amazing summer fruit smoothie:

12Apr11_1

It had to be substantial because it had to tide me over for quite a few hours. In the mix:

  • Frozen summer berries
  • Banana
  • Oats
  • Milk
  • Greek yoghurt

And this morning I topped my now standard overnight oats (blueberry muesli, milled flaxseed, mashed banana, milk, greek yoghurt) with hot summer fruits that I’d zapped in the microwave for a couple of minutes:

12Apr11_2

I like adding hot fruit to my overnight oats, otherwise I find it too cold for the still-chilly mornings. It was the last of my blueberry muesli though – sad times! I might have to try and make my own.

Yesterday I went with my work colleagues for a long lunch at Cafe Rouge. I don’t reckon much to the service there, but the Salmon Nicoise I had was really good and very filling. It consisted of a big piece of salmon, anchovies, egg, new potatoes, green beans and salad leaves. I didn’t think I liked anchovies, but I managed them in the salad – all going towards my aim of including more fish in my diet.

After reading Intuitive Eating a while ago (read my sort of review here) I’ve become more aware of how people talk about food and eating. Over lunch there was a lot of diet talk going on. One colleague has lost a stone in five weeks by eating meals ready-prepared by Diet Chef. Another has just started a diet (even though she’s already quite slim). They started talking about “good” and “bad” food and being “naughty”. I would normally have engaged in the conversation (hey, I’m an expert in all things dieting!), but I decided it was healthier for me to politely start a conversation with someone else. I also noticed that others tried to persuade the two women to “indulge”, yet left me alone, even though I ate exactly the same meal as one of them and didn’t have a pudding (I really wanted one, but I was full).

Since experimenting with giving myself permission to eat what I want I’ve been surprised at what I’ve wanted to eat. Apparently I’ve really missed biscuits – in particular really nice chocolate or oaty ones.  I’ve had at least one biscuit a day and have loved it! I think I might be over them now though – I had a Viennese whirl that didn’t really do it for me today.

I’ve also bought my first fitness DVD Smile I’ve gone for the most commonly recommended one in blogworld – Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred – plus it was very cheap on Amazon. I’ve never used DVDs before, but I’m quite busy over the next few weeks with work stuff and two lots of Bank Holidays (thank you Wills and Kate!) and won’t be able to do all my usual cross-training sessions.

Do you use workout DVDs? – can you recommend any that are worth trying out?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 9:44 pm

    The only workout DVD I’ve tried is the Shred. I think you’ll like it! I just got up to Level 3 and I really like it- it’s hard, but I can actually feel a tiny arm muscle forming!

  2. April 12, 2011 9:57 pm

    I love workout DVDs ~ I usually turn to them when I’m injured and my favourites are all by Jillian Michaels: Shred, No More Trouble Zones, Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism and Six-Week Six Pack. They’re the only ones that really simulate a circuit class or gym-based class in terms of intensity for me. Plus, they’re all broken into different exercises/intensities within each DVD so I don’t tend to get as bored with them as I do Davina McCall’s or Nell McAndrew’s.

    Love your colourful summer food 🙂

    And diet talk really bugs me and gets to me too. I just don’t respond and start humming mindlessly…

    xxx

  3. Janet permalink
    April 13, 2011 7:47 am

    Aargh, there it is again, the “good” and the “naughty”, as per my last comment! Even as I’m typing this I’m listening to two colleagues doing it on the desk opposite… far too common.

    As Jessica says, I find that not many DVDs are challenging enough for someone who is already quite fit, but Jillian Michaels’s are quite good. (Having said that, my copy hasn’t been used very much but that’s more because I don’t often get round to doing DVDs rather than the quality of the workout, if that makes sense. Oh yeah, and not wanting the neighbours to think a herd of dancing elephants has moved in next door).

  4. April 13, 2011 11:45 am

    I think you’ve got the best all rounder in the 30 day shred already, works strength, core and cardio, enjoy.

  5. April 13, 2011 5:55 pm

    I love workout DVD’s but don’t use them as often as I used to just cause I have the guts to go to classes now! I love Davina’s DVD’s and more recently MTV Yoga. Your porridge looks delicious, I love warming up frozen berries to go with cold yoghurt, so good!

Leave a Reply

