Skip to content

You Know You’ve Got DOMS When …

April 13, 2011

… you can’t lift up the kettle to make a cup of tea

… you can’t flush the toilet

… you can’t tie your shoe laces

… it hurts to put one foot in front of the other

To be fair, the toilets at work are difficult to flush at the best of times, but I’ve been seriously pathetic today. Yesterday I mentioned that I’d invested in a copy of 30 Day Shred. I tried it for the first time yesterday and thought: “OK, this is good, kind of like my circuits class, but not as hard as everyone says”.

I woke up this morning for my run and felt a little stiff, but after a couple of minutes of running I’d loosened up. When I got back I did level one of the DVD again and could feel a little soreness, but nothing major.

Then, when I got out of my bus seat when I arrived at work it kicked it. I’m sore all around the tops of my thighs and my biceps. I’m not injured, just sore, so it’s all good. I guess I just worked my muscles a bit harder than I thought!

I got the results of the exam I took in January and I got a distinction SmileI also had a smear test today Sad smile, so like a little kid I decided I needed to reward myself. After seeing the nurse I headed to the local shopping centre and got some frozen yoghurt topped with granola and strawberries. OMG – I love frozen yoghurt, now I know there’s a supply only 10 minutes away I’ll be making plenty of visits.

I also rewarded myself with some goodies from Sainsbury’s.

13Apr11_1

I got way over excited about the giant wholewheat cous-cous and I can’t wait to try it, probably in some sort of salad for lunch. I’m also very pleased that New York Bagels has brought out a wholewheat version. Although I occasionally eat white crusty bread, in general I avoid it because it messes with my digestion.

My final reward of the day was a gorgeous spicy vegetable, bean and sausage stew.

  • carrots
  • leeks
  • courgette
  • mushrooms
  • sweetcorn
  • half can cannellini beans
  • 2 cauldron veggie sausages
  • tin chopped tomatoes
  • garlic
  • hot chilli powder, black pepper

13Apr11_2

I whizzed the other half of the beans up in a blender with some lemon juice and garlic. I’ll probably have it as a snack tomorrow on some black pepper Ryvita.

Please make me feel better by letting me know how DOMS has made you pathetic!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 7:41 pm

    So glad they have brought out some wholewheat bagels! I love the new york brand but anything ‘white carb’ just leaves me feeling heavy and bloated. DOMS can hurt so good sometimes! I don’t mind them now and again to show I’ve worked hard 🙂

  2. April 13, 2011 8:17 pm

    Embrace those DOMS! You’ve kicked arse 😉

    Chestnuts are like crack to me. They clag my mouth up but I can’t stop!

    What will you do with them??

  3. April 13, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’ve got my smear test coming up soon too. I kinda chuckled when I read that you’d rewarded yourself with food afterwards – that’s EXACTLY what I’m like too…any excuse to eat/food shop is (almost!) good with me! 🙂

    Also, that stew looks lovely, yum.

  4. April 14, 2011 8:35 am

    Congrats on the exam! And on working yourself so hard. I am becoming more and more curious about this Jillian Michaels creature. Maybe one day I’ll buy a copy and try it out.. Seriously though, you can’t flush the toilet!? 😀

  5. DonnyFan permalink
    April 14, 2011 8:38 am

    it’s when I can’t get back up off the toilet that I know the DOMS have really kicked in….. :p

  6. April 14, 2011 9:53 am

    The first time I tried body pump I couldn’t lift my arms above my head for two days… My grandad thought it was hilarious!

  7. April 14, 2011 10:03 am

    Aww, love the 30-Day Shred so much. Just wait until level 3 😉 Actually, I find level 2 harder for some reason…

    The new Body Pump release has left me feeling like a thousand-tonne truck has just run over my shoulders if that helps!

    xxx

  8. April 15, 2011 11:11 am

    I alwas have DOMS, but I kinda like them in a good way because it means that I know that I’ve worked out hard!

  9. April 15, 2011 1:18 pm

    Doms are good (in moderation)! I once had them and I LITERALLY couldn’t move for about 3-4 days because of them haha! That was a good workout….
    And wooo wholewheat bagels! I LOVE bagels but like you I try and avoid white bread as much as I can. Now they just need to bring out a cinnamon raisin wholewheat variety 😉

Leave a Reply

