Skip to content

Ready For The Weekend

April 15, 2011

Yay – it’s the weekend! I’m off to Cambridge again this evening, so I’m looking forward to visiting my favourite health food shops and doing my Sunday run in slightly nicer surroundings than around my house in Leeds.

My DOMS are a lot better today and I’ve no soreness in my legs anymore. However I fear that the soreness in my left bicep has tipped over into the “injury” category. The pain is a lot sharper and more specific and I’m finding it painful to fully extend my arm. Fortunately it should be easy enough to rest it and let it heal whilst keeping up with my fitness plans.

For breakfast yesterday I sampled one of the new wholewheat bagels I bought on Wednesday with almond butter and mashed banana. A match made in heaven and a good change from oats for breakfast.

15Apr11_1

I was asked what I was going to do with the chestnuts I bought. In general I use chestnuts like a vegetable and put them in stews and salad (as well as quite a few escaping into my mouth at the same time). I know that they also taste awesome in sweet dishes, so I’m planning to experiment a bit with that. Watch this space …

I didn’t feel so hot yesterday and considered slacking off work early, but I struggled through and after a power-nap I felt well enough to go to the gym. I’m astonished by the healing power of exercise (note – I’m definitely not against taking unplanned rest days when needed, but sometimes I just need to get my body moving to feel better) and I felt 100% afterwards, although nicely spent after a tough 20 minutes on the summit trainer.

Afterwards I refuelled with a brilliant combo of quinoa with feta cheese:

15Apr11_4

Topped with veggies in vegan pesto. As you know, I’m not vegan, but I prefer this pesto to any other that I’ve tried before – it’s called “pesto siciliana” and it’s made with almonds rather than pine nuts. I picked it up ages ago in my local health food shop.

15Apr11_5

I was still hungry (it was a kick ass workout with lots of calories burned). So after this I went back for hot summer fruits, yoghurt and a sprinkling of all-bran and then a berry Nakd bar before bed.

It did the trick of giving me plenty of energy for my run this morning. I did 15 minutes at an effort level of 7 out of 10. This was really tough, but I didn’t give in and came back a hot sweaty mess. I then did level one of the 30 Day Shred again (without weights for the bicep exercises).

I got this through the post yesterday:

15Apr11_2

15Apr11_3

I used to order Graze everyday (a bit of a fad I was going through), but I haven’t had a box for about 6 months. I’m been getting a bit fed up of my snackage of late, so I decided to jazz it up with a box. I had the flapjack as an afternoon snack (a little disappointing – very sweet!). I wouldn’t recommend ordering a box everyday like I used to (expensive and in my opinion does not equal a balanced diet), but they have some really cool things that are worth a try.

I hope you all enjoy the weekend, even if the weather (at least in the UK) isn’t as good as the last one.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 4:02 pm

    The bicep pain might just be the lower muscle around the elbow joint. I seriously hurt mine before doing negative chins, and I couldn’t straighten my arm at all. But I asked my PT about it and after some prodding and poking and “does this hurt”, he said it was just severe soreness. Obviously you should rest is either way, but hopefully it’s just a bit of an extreme version of the Jillian effect!

    And I totally know what you mean about the healing powers of exercise — sometimes it really can pick you right up. My run in Scotland did that this week. Though you’re also right that it’s sometimes tough to call rest or not..

    Have fun in Cambridge!

  2. April 15, 2011 5:08 pm

    You might have to look after my injury this weekend… I managed to nearly cripple myself lugging my new mattress up a tight flight of stairs – ouch. Mmmm… Backcare extreme king size – will really need it now!

  3. April 15, 2011 7:43 pm

    I can’t think of a single time when I’ve felt worse after exercising than before.. I can, however, think of many when I’ve thrown in the towel and not managed to make it out the door. Congrats for doing so and so glad you’re feeling better now.

    Take care of that bicep!

    xxx

  4. April 15, 2011 8:50 pm

    Quinoa and feta are amazing together!!

    I hope your injury doesn’t get too serious. Take it easy!

  5. April 15, 2011 9:10 pm

    I agree that sometimes you can be feeling a bit rubbish but exercise makes you feel better, I think its those endorphins pumping! Hope you have a lovely weekend!

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    April 16, 2011 8:52 am

    exercise is good for the soul…. 🙂

    have a great weekend, the sun is shining here in my bit of England, though I won’t be out in it as I’m working 😦

    x

  7. April 17, 2011 9:30 am

    I used to get Graze and while I loved the portion packs it was just too darn expensive 😦

    Have a good’un!

  8. April 17, 2011 9:32 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try a Graze box for AGES! I love the bagel/pb/banana combo, too!

  9. April 19, 2011 10:50 am

    I often feel crappy before a workout, but after sweating it out everything is well again.

Leave a Reply

