Skip to content

Eat What Makes You Feel Good

April 19, 2011

That’s the philosophy that I’ve been thinking about recently. I’ve been thinking about the different ways food can make me feel good … and it’s about more than just nutrition. Yes, food is fuel, but I refuse to believe that I should have no emotional attachment to it – that would be such a sad existence to me.

1. Eat the food the gives me the nourishment and energy I need

I’ve felt so much better and more alive since I’ve been mostly eating a healthy balanced diet packed full of the nutrients I need. I love the way that the food I eat fuels me through my workouts that I love doing so much. I have noticed that my relationship with food and exercise in this respect has changed quite a bit over the past couple of years. I used to exercise to help me get slim and burn off the calories I’d eaten. Now I think about how what I eat will make me feel while I’m exercising.

I had my second ever green monster yesterday to fuel me through yoga:

19Apr11_1

I went very simple with this one as I didn’t really like the add-ins I put in my first attempt:

  • Frozen banana
  • Pear
  • Couple of handfuls of spinach
  • Milk
  • Tablespoon yoghurt

I really enjoyed it and will experiment a bit more now I know I like the basic concoction.

In fact, I ate nearly a whole pack of spinach yesterday. I love the taste and it’s great for my body!

 

2. Eat food that tastes great

I think that all the food I eat should taste great, but not all the foods I love the taste of fall into the “healthy” category.

Chocolate (even of the non-dark variety) for instance:

29Mar11_1

I’ve come to realise that including food that maybe doesn’t have good nutritional credentials, but tastes out of this world can be part of a healthy diet. It’s not healthy to restrict the things I really love (unless there’s a medical reason of course) – life is too short.

Sometimes I eat food that neither tastes good or is healthy. This is a definite lose. I don’t like pastry very much, yet I have overeaten on pie. I don’t much care for crisps, yet I’ve munched my way through a big packet.

I’ve also eaten so much of a food that I usually like that it doesn’t taste good anymore and I don’t enjoy it. A story my Mum told me the other day reminded me of this. She told me how she’d eaten a big packet of white chocolate buttons in five minutes and not enjoyed it and made herself feel sick.

I don’t want to feel regret after eating something. Regret is different from guilt. Regret is feeling like I could have eaten something that set my taste buds alight, yet I settled for something that was just so-so.

 

3. Eat food that looks fantastic

Possibly my favourite food ever is cantaloupe melon. Obviously it tastes fab, but it just looks so pretty – just like a summer’s day:

22Feb11_5

I devour food with my eyes, imagining the flavour and mouth-feel. Thinking about cantaloupe melon is actually making my mouth water (damn it, I’ve not got any in the house!).

 

4. Eat good food with people you love

Eating is a social experience. I love sharing meals with my family and friends and this is the big factor that has made me realise that food is about way more than nutritional values.

My most memorable eating experience was having afternoon tea at the Ritz with Peter a few years ago. It was a special occasion because his Mum had bought us vouchers for Christmas. It was so luxurious and I smile just thinking about the amazing sandwiches, light and fluffy scones and delicate cakes. The best thing was that I shared that with someone special.

AfternoonTeaStand_L[1]

Source

Have you had a really memorable eating experience?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 5:35 pm

    I love this post! You are so right. I too have changed the way I view food- when I first lost weight it was all about reducing calories, but now I look for nourishing foods- I think some pb is much better for me than some rice cakes. I do view food as a pleasure, and I think a balance is key. I enjoy baking, and so that will be a part of my diet, but not every day.
    Memorable food? Well just now in Italy Andy and I shared an ice cream (when I asked for it I didn’t realise we had chosen a big tub)- we had coconut, mango and peach, enjoyed with lake views in the sunshine, and it was wonderful! Afternoon tea sounds fantastic too 🙂
    PS I had my first ever green smoothie today- I was very impressed! 🙂

  2. April 19, 2011 8:00 pm

    I agree with all of this – I just think its a shame that some people don’t recognise that you can still eat healthy food but it will taste delicious, look beautiful and be good for you all at the same time! I actually crave green smoothies now! Memorable eating experiences for me have tended to be on holiday – eating garlic and chilli pasta when in Italy for my wedding, eating lemon wedding cake at my reception accompanied by the most delicious white wine, enjoying a 5 course meal with my whole family in Majorca last year, all just so wonderful!

  3. April 19, 2011 9:08 pm

    I completely LOVE this post! I think its all too easy for people to say they believe in/live by moderation, as I used to say it myself when, really, I wasn’t. Its different now though and its really so liberating to know that I can have some chocolate, thoroughly enjoy it and not regret/feel guilty!
    As for memorable eating experiences, I think the food I had when I was in Italy (even though I was only 13) was incredible. Especially the ice-cream!

  4. April 19, 2011 9:15 pm

    I agree with all of these! The thing I’ve realized is really important to me is eating food that makes me feel good. I love sweets, but I’ve realized that candy just makes me feel horrible, so I save it for special occasions. Ice cream, on the other hand… 🙂

  5. April 20, 2011 1:20 pm

    This post is great! I’m all about everything in moderation and maintaing a healthy balance so I can totally relate! 😀

  6. April 20, 2011 3:05 pm

    Great philosophy to live by! I like to try and follow all of those as much as I can!

Leave a Reply

