Skip to content

Mid-Week Fitness Round-Up

April 20, 2011

Thanks for all your comments on yesterday’s post. Kate’s comment about not eating stuff that makes you feel horrible really hit home for me last night and today. I suffer from quite bad heartburn occasionally (I blame the parent’s – both of mine have lots of trouble with indigestion) and I munched my way through half a pack of Gaviscon yesterday. I tried some new muesli for breakfast yesterday and I think that was probably the culprit. I have a HUGE bag of it, so I’ll give it one more chance, but if I have the same symptoms I’ll give it the heave-ho.

Unfortunately the heartburn did affect my swimming yesterday evening – I had a few moments when I thought I was going to puke (gross I know, but it didn’t happen thank goodness!). It was a shame because otherwise my swim was awesome. I’m not a good swimmer and sometimes I feel reluctant to go to the pool, even though I enjoy myself when I get there. I’ve managed to trick my brain by telling it that I can just potter up and down without worrying about speed or distance because I do loads of other training for fitness. However, Tuesday nights are disabled swimming in my local pool and the usual “slow” lane is reserved for them. This forces the slow people into my normal lane. It got ridiculous when I was treading water whilst one guy was “swimming”. I decided to try out the fast lane, so I pushed myself a little harder. I felt really strong and like I was actually moving my body with each stroke. I think the strength training has been paying off Smile

My run this morning was meant to be 20 minutes at effort level 7 (out of 10). My stomach was still feeling off so effort levels varied between 5 and 7 and I wasn’t really feeling it. I would say it was my first “bad” run, but I’m not paying too much attention because I wasn’t feeling 100% and I’ve had plenty of good runs previously. I was planning to do level one of the 30 Day Shred, but I gave that one up as a bad idea. I must have been feeling poorly because I couldn’t stomach banana porridge! I went for apple and sultana instead, which went down very nicely.

Previous to this little hump in the road I’d been having a great workout week. Since the weekend I’ve done three runs, 30 Day Shred twice, yoga and swimming. I’m getting it all in before the chaos that is the next few weeks. I’m out and about for the Easter weekend, up in Edinburgh with a friend for the Royal Wedding/May Day weekend and then the week after I’ve got to commute to Sheffield all week for a course. I’m going to commit to doing all the runs on the 10k plan and cross-training will just happen as and when (a rest might do me good).

Oh – and good news on the injury front. The podiatrist is really happy with how my toe is improving and wants to see me in three months for another x-ray to check that the fracture is healing. The chiropractor was happy-ish, although I still have problems in my pelvis. I’ve been instructed to stretch, ice and stand up whenever possible and go back to him as soon as I get any more pain. So, I can carry on doing what I’ve doing with running. Personally, my next goal is to build up my walking distance again.

Food-wise I’ve been experimenting with a couple of the ingredients I bought from Sainsbury’s last week. The giant wholewheat cous-cous ended up in a giant lunchtime salad:

19Apr11_2

This featured:

  • Giant wholewheat cous-cous
  • Chickpeas
  • Grated carrot
  • Cucumber
  • Sweetcorn
  • Natural yoghurt
  • Black Pepper

Wowsers – this was filling. I’m very impressed with the cous-cous. It had a really robust texture, which was ideal in such a salad monster.

I also did something sweet with the vacuum-packed chestnuts. I’ve only ever used them in savoury things before so this chocolate and chestnut tofu pudding was a revelation:

19Apr11_3

There was no scientific basis to the recipe, but it seemed to work:

  • 1/3 pack Cauldron tofu
  • 1/2 pack chestnuts (could use chestnut puree – would make the blender’s job easier!)
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • Agave nectar to taste
  • a little water to thin it down

I have some left for tomorrow, which I’m very much looking forward to!

Will your usual routine be disrupted by the bank holidays?

Any exciting plans that you’d like to share?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 7:11 pm

    That chestnut pudding sounds lovely and I’ve never even had chestnuts before!

  2. April 20, 2011 8:50 pm

    Bank holidays are just part of my holiday routine with the kids and a great excuse to catch up with friends.
    I’m not a tofu fan but you chestnut pudding looks yummy 🙂

  3. April 21, 2011 7:59 am

    That pudding looks lovely.
    The bank holiday is messing up my routine a little (plus the fact I was away last week and am away next weekend)- but I love it really 🙂

  4. April 21, 2011 9:59 am

    Wow that salad and pudding look amazing!

  5. April 21, 2011 11:13 am

    I’ce heard of using chestnuts in this way before. I’ve never tried it though. The pudding looks lovely.

  6. April 21, 2011 10:36 pm

    That pudding looks amazing! I don’t think I’ve ever had chestnuts before, but I want to try them now!

  7. April 22, 2011 9:20 pm

    Wow that pudding looks AMAZING! I love chocolate tofu puddings, although I’ve yet to try it with chesnuts. I’ll need to try that!
    And I love the giant cous-cous, too!
    My weekend is going to be the same as every weekend (working… :-()
    Have a great weekend Sarah!

Leave a Reply

