Skip to content

Cool New Kitchen Toys

April 26, 2011

Well, the first long weekend is over and it’s back to reality at work for three days. I can’t believe that time went so quickly – I didn’t do much apart from shopping and eating chocolate. I got all my runs in as per the 10k plan, which I was really happy about, plus some 30 Day Shred and a little yoga. I’m on week 6 of the plan now, which means my first attempt of outdoor running intervals tomorrow morning. I’ve done intervals on the treadmill before and really enjoyed it, but I think it will feel different when I’m pounding the pavements.

Talking of chocolate, this was my Easter haul:

26Apr11_2

Yes, the Lindor have been opened and I have eaten at least half of the box. They are soooo good – I can’t decide which is my favourite, probably either the white or the dark flavours. My parents also bought me another egg:

26Apr11_4

It’s a singing egg-timer. You pop it in the water with the egg and it sings a different tune depending on whether the egg is soft, medium or hard boiled – “Killing Me Softly” for soft; “I Wish I Was a Hen” for medium; and “Carmina Burana” for hard.

26Apr11_5

I wanted my duck egg hard boiled to have in my salad for lunch tomorrow.

Another cool kitchen gadget is the one cup kettle thingy that my housemate got for her birthday:

26Apr11_1

It’s fab for multi-tasking because I can leave my morning tea to make itself whilst I conjure up breakfast. Breakfast this morning was amazing:

26Apr11_3

Porridge made with brown rice milk, grated apple, sultanas, chia seeds and almond butter. I’ve been experimenting more with non-dairy milks as I eat a lot of dairy in the form of yoghurt and cottage cheese. I was pleased with the brown rice milk as it tasted good and is lower in sugar and fat that ordinary rice milk. I bought some oat milk from the supermarket this evening to try out.

I’m in a kinda random mood this evening, so I’ll share something I’ve been doing more of lately – reading fiction. I fear this spurt of literacy is pure procrastination when I should be studying for my next exam, but I’m enjoying it. I’ve read “The Chamomile Lawn” by Mary Wesley which is set during the Second World War and was a lot racier than I was expecting, considering it was written by a woman well in her 70s! My parents tell me it was made into a TV series, so I might try and hunt it down. I’ve just finished “Alias Grace” by Margaret Atwood and really enjoyed it, although I didn’t quite know how to interpret the ending (if anyone has read it and has an opinion drop me an e-mail).

Do you have any recommendations for books that are worth a read?

Favourite book of all time? An obvious choice, but it’s probably Pride and Prejudice for me. I know it so well I can just pick it up and read any chapter and it will bring me joy.

Another random question:

Does anyone know Edinburgh and can recommend things to do, places to see, food to eat and fancy cocktails to drink? I’m heading up there for the next long bank holiday weekend with a friend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 8:51 pm

    That egg timer sounds awesome! Love it!

  2. April 26, 2011 9:06 pm

    LOve the egg timer!
    As for books, depends what you like! I liked the Dragon Tattoo series, I like the Wallander books (swedish detective), I quite like Peter James books (UK detective), I like Carl Hiassan for something amusing, and most John Grisham books. I love Bill Bryson (for the non fiction stuff though)…
    🙂

  3. April 26, 2011 11:16 pm

    Oh my gosh- an egg timer that sings ‘Killing Me Softly’?! I need that!!

  4. April 27, 2011 9:15 am

    Those oats look amazing! Love your Easter chocolate stash, I am now regretting not getting a lindt bunny!

  5. April 27, 2011 9:17 am

    Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I have my moms copy she got when she was a teenager.

  6. April 27, 2011 2:56 pm

    There’s a lovely veggie restaurant in Edinburgh called Henderson’s, and I always take a hike up Arthur’s Seat when I’m there as the view from the top is spectacular. Edinburgh is one of my favourite cities, and the castle is always worth a look.

    My favourite book is The Shining: it’s the only book to ever give me legitimate chills and I could read it and re-read it forever. People forget how sophisitcated some of Stephen King’s books are: I defy anyone not to be moved by The Green Mile for example.

    I second Lara’s love for Wuthering Heights too: people see it as a love story because of all the weak film adaptations but really to me it’s a story of passion, hate and uncontrollably intense emotions.

    xxx

  7. Ashley permalink
    April 29, 2011 11:21 pm

    that breakfast looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

