Skip to content

Exercise Round-Up and Forward Look

April 28, 2011

Woohoo – it’s the end of a very short three day week today. I have to give special thanks to William and Catherine for getting married tomorrow and giving the nation an extra Bank Holiday. I won’t be watching the wedding itself because I’ll be on the train up to Edinburgh. The friend I’m going with is a bah-humbug about the whole thing, so I’ll have to sneak a look at some pictures on my phone.

I have to go and pack, so just a short post today. I haven’t really written much about fitness lately, so I thought I’d give a round-up and also the plan over the next week or so, which is going to be really busy with other life stuff.

This week started with a 35 minute run on Sunday. I was at my parent’s place and was really pleased to be able to run around the country lanes that are very familiar to me in the sunshine. I enjoyed it so much, I wish I could do all my runs in the warm countryside.

The 10k plan called for a 40 minute walk on Monday and I managed to persuade Peter to come and keep me company. I’ve been having problems with my toe when I walk, so I was delighted that I didn’t have any pain. Funnily, running doesn’t seem to affect my toe as much as walking – I think I roll more through it when I walk. I also did half an hour of yoga and level one of the 30 Day Shred. I did the DVD workout again on Tuesday morning – I need to move on to level two soon, must face the fear!

Yesterday I did my first running intervals workout. The 10k plan is designed to ease me into intervals, so it was simply a 5 minute easy run, followed by 5 fast (by my standards) running and walking intervals. It felt good to get a bit of speed, although I flaked out a bit at the end because I did my last interval up quite a big hill.

Over the next week I’m going to be in Edinburgh and then commuting to Sheffield for a course, so I need to re-prioritise my workouts. I’m going to commit to doing my runs, but cross-training might have to take a bit of a back seat. So, this is the plan:

Friday Run 25 mins
Saturday Rest
Sunday Run 40 mins
Monday Run 20 mins
Tuesday DVD workout
Wednesday Intervals (6 one min intervals)
Thursday Gym (if I have time)
Friday Run 20 mins (effort level 7)

 

Those of you in the UK, I hope you have another brilliant long weekend. I’m hoping for more good weather Smile

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 8:00 pm

    Sounds like the 10k plan is going well! I’d need company for a 40min walk too, I can run for 2hrs+ but somehow walking seems harder, unless the scenery is good but in hull it’s not so great haha

  2. April 28, 2011 8:44 pm

    So jealous you get the day off tomorrow because of the wedding 🙂 Have fun in Edinburgh!

  3. April 28, 2011 9:15 pm

    Have a lovely time in Edinburgh 🙂
    The interval run sounds good too.

  4. April 29, 2011 8:35 am

    Hope you enjoy the long weekend!

  5. April 30, 2011 12:47 pm

    The 10k plan seems to be working out really well. And great news that your toe isn’t causing you too much trouble.

    Hope you got to see some decent pictures of the wedding too. I’m one of those who claimed to not be bothered, and then watched about 3 hours of footage on the day!

    Enjoy your weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

