Skip to content

My Trip to Edinburgh

May 6, 2011
tags: ,

This post could also quite accurately be called “CAKE”. I made it my mission to eat fabulous cake at any opportunity, and believe me, Edinburgh has some kick-ass cake to choose from.

I headed to Edinburgh early last Friday morning and met up with my friend on the train at York. We decided to have a girls’ weekend because she was desperate to escape Royal Wedding madness in London. I’ve been to Edinburgh a couple of times before, but not for quite a long time. I knew that there would be plenty to keep us occupied over the weekend.

We stayed in The Halcyon Hotel which was in a great location – only 10 minutes from both Princes Street and Holyrood. When we arrived on Friday we wandered around Princes Street and walked up the Royal Mile to have a look at the castle, although we didn’t go in.

064

In the evening I took Jessica’s advice and we went to Henderson’s. It’s a canteen-style vegetarian restaurant, although it also has a bistro around the corner with table service. We both had a “meze platter” with some delicious slices of pizza, frittata, potato croquettes and pastries. I had my second cake of the day (the first was a scone on the Royal Mile) – plum, hazelnut and chocolate – yummy!

Saturday was a gorgeous sunny day, perfect for looking around Holyrood. We had a tour around Holyrood House and Abbey.

076

073

We also had a look around the Scottish Parliament building. It’s a very cool building and it was interesting to learn more about it. Interestingly, during my course this week I learned more about the construction project and the fact that it was estimated to cost £40m and actually cost £400m!

079

Thankfully, the Parliament Building has a public cafe where I could indulge my need for cake (well actually biscuits).

223017_834065614030_36904662_45346267_3835179_n(1)

This was a genius combination of chocolate oatcakes sandwiched together with chocolate cream.

Luckily, there was a big hill to climb up (Arthur’s Seat) to work some of it off. It was such a nice (if windy) day and the view from the top was great!

083

On Saturday evening we had a delicious meal at The Mussel Inn where I had a really good seafood pasta dish. It included scallops, which I’ve never tried before, but I’ll definitely be seeking them out again – they were so good!

On Sunday we headed to the Museum of Modern Art, which had a Jeff Koons exhibition on. Afterwards, we had booked to have afternoon tea at the Sheraton Hotel, which was perhaps the highlight of the trip. Cake heaven!

089

They also brought us a plate of mini scones. I’m now officially an afternoon tea addict. I’m off to London with my Mum soon and will be booking afternoon tea there as well.

In the evening we saw some awesome comedy at The Stand comedy club, which made a nice contrast to the sophistication of the afternoon tea.

Monday was our last day Sad smileWe took a short trip out of Edinburgh to visit the Rosslyn Chapel of the Da Vinci Code fame. It was beautiful little chapel and the talk we were given was really informative. It was BUSY though – even though much of what is in the book is completely made up.

090

(Photo ruined by random traffic cone)

Before we left we just had time to pay a second visit to a fantastic tea boutique called Eteaket. The food is so good here, although I didn’t get round to trying the cake (shocking!). The tea was great as well, they really take care to serve you the best. I brought home a couple of caddies of “Rooibos Creme Caramel” and “Blooming Marvellous” green tea.

I had a brilliant time up north, I’m only sad that I had to come back and face reality! No more cake for a while as well Smile

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 8:41 pm

    I’ve been utterly spoilt by reading this recap: it was almost as good as revisiting my favourite city.

    So happy you had good weather and got to enjoy the view from the top of Arthur’s Seat: it’s definitely quite the climb but worth it for the spectacular vistas.

    And great that you liked Hendersons: I’m always wary of recommending places because I have strange tastes but I did think they had a good range of stuff that could cater for almost everyone. And the plum cake sounds divine.

    xxx

  2. May 7, 2011 8:44 am

    I love going up Arthurs seat- such great views. And you are so lucky having afternoon tea- looks so civilised!
    🙂

  3. DonnyFan permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:19 pm

    mmmmmmmm cake……….

    Edinburgh looks good too! :p x

  4. May 8, 2011 7:27 am

    Wow you had such beautiful weather! I love Edinburgh so much. My sister went to uni there so I spent a bit of time there over the years. Climbing up Arthur’s seat always kinda kicked my ass!

    And afternoon tea? I think that’s going on my bucket list. Or things to do before I’m 31 list — it looks amazing!

    Hope your week of commuting came to a fair end, and that you’re recouping nicely this weekend 🙂

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 21, 2011 1:30 pm

    It looks like you had a fabulous time 🙂 Not to mention that view is GORGEOUS!
    I really need to travel more often so that I can partake in some of the awesome sights/eats you enjoyed in this post.

    Also, my Google reader just LOADED me with 15 posts by you! I think it was hiding them from me 😦

Leave a Reply

