Skip to content

Legume-Loving Lady

May 12, 2011

I love a bit of alliteration in a post title.

Thank you to everyone who commented on my How Not To Get Fat book review yesterday. They were really thoughtful comments and I have tried to reply to a couple of them, so please check back.

As the title suggests, today’s post is dedicated to legumes and I have a couple of recipes for you. I love beans and pulses and they are a big part of my diet now – I like the taste, texture and variety they provide, and of course they’re a good source of protein. However, I’ve only really discovered them over the past year or so. They’re not part of the typical British diet, which I think is a real shame.

Yesterday I decided to take inspiration from my Indian meal over the weekend and make a dhal. The recipe I used was a mish-mash of various recipes I’ve found on the internet and a dose of common sense.

Dhal (serves one)

  • Small onion, chopped
  • 50g red lentils
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • Water to cover
  • Pinch of: cumin, coriander, ginger, chilli pepper, black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon vegetable bouillion

1. Fry the onion in a little oil until translucent.

2. Add the spices and the lentils and fry for another minute.

3. Add the tomatoes and water, cover and simmer for about 20 minutes, or until you get the texture you want.

4. Stir in the vegetable bouillion at the end as salt should not be added to lentils until after cooking.

12May11_1

The recipe I made tonight uses perhaps my favourite legume – chickpeas. I adapted the recipe from a very good cookbook – New Covent Garden Soup Co: Soup and Beyond. I’m not great at following recipes to the letter, so there are some differences.

South-western garbanzo beans (serves two)

  • Small onion, chopped
  • Clove garlic, chopped
  • 3 ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • Pinch: coriander, cumin, ginger, cayenne pepper, black pepper
  • teaspoon agave nectar
  • 400g tin chickpeas
  • 6 dates, chopped
  • 1/4 pint water

1. Fry the onion and garlic in a little oil for 5 minutes

2. Add the tomatoes and spices and cook for another 2 minutes

3. Add the chickpeas, water, agave nectar and dates

4. Simmer for around 15 minutes

12May11_2

Yes, I served it with the same veggie combo as last night, but it’s a good combo. The blandness of the courgette balanced out the spiciness of the chickpeas (I added quite a bit of cayenne pepper). I think this recipe will become one of my favourites – it’s quick, healthy and really delicious.

Are you a legume fan? Any recipe ideas or links?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 5:32 am

    I love legumes, and eat them a lot. Dahl was a staple of mine for a long time (great packed lunch option, as it’s just a good cold), but I’m feeling the love a lot more for chickpeas and kidney beans at the moment.

    My biggest recommendation is Rose Elliot’s Bean Book. You can get it on Amazon pretty cheap, and it’s been a go to for my family ever since I was a kid. We have about 4 copies between us now I think! It has everything from houmous recipes to soups to moussakas etc. It’s really great.

  2. DonnyFan permalink
    May 13, 2011 7:23 am

    I only discovered chickpeas in the last couple of years but love love love them.

    I recently made my first ever dahl with spinach (of course!) and it was even better the 2nd night as the spices had really soaked into the mix.

    Here’s a FAB recipe from Justagirl:

    http://www.jagsfitnessblog.com/recipes/main-courses/falafel-burgers/

    I love these babies. Served cold on a bed of salad……. mmmmm….

    My tastebuds have definitely changed beyond all recognition, for years I had a horror of kidney beans but recently I was served a chilli with them in and thought ‘no problem Ill just pick them out’. One snuck in and you know what….. it was nice…..

    🙂 x

  3. May 13, 2011 10:50 am

    I loooove chickpeas. And got to love some alliteration in the title!

  4. May 13, 2011 11:43 am

    I think I eat legumes pretty much every day (obviously being a big staple in my almost vegan diet!) I love red lentils in fact its been way too long since I had a good dahl!

  5. May 13, 2011 12:25 pm

    I’m loving butterbeans at the moment.

  6. czechvegan permalink
    May 13, 2011 1:07 pm

    I love legumes. Especially chickpeas, I have found out about them when I was at high school and since then I´ve been eating them almost on a daily basis! I think I could eat them even in my morning oatmeal, which actually sounds like quite a good idea…mmhh oatmeal with hummus:) Also all kinds of beans or lentils are just amazing.

  7. May 13, 2011 6:58 pm

    I never touched beans up until about 5 years ago, now I don’t know how I ever survived without them 😉 I *heart* Saag Dhal, will definitely give your recipe a go some day.

  8. May 13, 2011 8:40 pm

    I love legumes and alliteration too 🙂 Lentils are one of my favorite foods!

  9. May 17, 2011 10:56 am

    I love legumes and they are a huge part of my diet. Red Lentils are amazing and so versatile. 😀

Leave a Reply

