Skip to content

I Love Rest Days Because …

May 14, 2011

1. I get a lie-in

001

OK, I know, 7:15am is an unearthly hour to get up on a Saturday morning, but it could have been a lot worse. I’m revising for another horrid exam (on Wednesday afternoon), so I would have had to get up even earlier to fit in a workout. During the week I usually get up between 5:15 and 5:45 for my runs (eek!). I used to do most of my exercise in the evening, but I find my motivation to run ebbs away if I leave it too late in the day.

2. I don’t have to wash my hair

I wanted to make that my number one reason, but I thought you might think less of me! It’s such a faff to have to wash my hair everyday and I get really sweaty when I workout, so the dry shampoo just won’t cut it!

3. I get the chance to do some serious stretching

005

This photo is so posed! Easing off exercise gives me the opportunity to focus on stretching out some of my very tight muscles. I’m feeling quite sore after this week’s exercise routine. Increasing my running along with doing the 30 Day Shred a couple of times, some gym work, yoga and swimming has left my knees, IT band and hip aching.

4. I’m prepared for the week ahead!

I know that by resting today my legs will be nice and fresh for my long run tomorrow. I’m really looking forward to doing my longest run yet in the morning and I might get my first chance to run in the rain. With all the dry weather we’ve been having I’ve never had to run in the rain, but I guess it has to happen sometime and the chances are high for it to happen tomorrow.

My exercise plan for this week looks like this:

Sunday 50 min run
Monday 25 min run, 30 Day Shred
Tuesday 30 Day Shred, yoga
Wednesday 25 min interval run
Thursday Gym
Friday 20 min run, 30 Day Shred
Saturday Rest 🙂

Any more reasons why rest days are fabulous?

What time of the day do you prefer to exercise? I tend to run in the morning, but do other workouts in the evening, mainly because on time constraints.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 6:56 pm

    I’m mornings the whole way! I love rest days too, so nice to be able to be lazy. I would usually have a rest day tomorrow but as I missed a few workouts while away and as I’m feeling pretty well energised I’m going to have a short workout tomorrow but not until the gym opens at 9 so I will get a lie in!

  2. May 14, 2011 9:45 pm

    I love rest days 🙂 I usually take my rest days on weekdays because I have school and work those days, but it’s so nice to have a rest day on a weekend sometimes. Then my whole day is free!

  3. May 14, 2011 10:17 pm

    I love rest days because they make me refreshed for the next day. It also means I get to spend more time with Andy instead of rushing out the door. And also yes to the no hair washing thing- my hair is so thick so takes ages to wash and dry, which again means less time for anything else! 🙂

  4. May 14, 2011 11:30 pm

    My day of reset was a perfect Peter day out at my parents…

    Driven to Boston to get some tools and paint at Wickes and some parts the plumbers merchant.

    Bullied the old stop tap into submission with large monkey wrench, adjustable spanner and one-size-hits-all special engineering hammer. (Any mistake here and we could be without water indefinately!)

    Performed micro-surgery to remove the old brass olive from the plastic water main using unreasonably large angle-grinder, chisel and engineering hammer – WITHOUT scratching the pipe (so it doesn’t leak when the job is done).

    Removed various quantities of badly thought out pipe-work using biggest blow-torch I could find (no major burns acquired during this operation – house still mostly not set on fire).

    Replace pipe-work with much neater, better laid out replacement – solder back together, fit new stop-tap, tighten, restore water supply (fingers crossed I didn’t forget to tighten anything, and solder joints are ok).

    No leaks – nothing needs further tightening 😉 A quick test of the taps nearly soaks me head to toe due to their increased pressure. Excellent (hope to catch mum with this when she gets home).

    Visit Boston again to pick mum up, buy more curtain rails to fit. Visit Uncle and retrieve broken circular saw to repair.

    Climb on pricarious looking shed roof, help dad wire-brush and paint the corrugated iron. Investigate overhanging mains cables to house – confirm at least the live is insulated, so painting around those isn’t going to be a suicide mission.

    Repair circular saw on living room floor. (Mum is cross about the mess, saw-dust, grease, and the fact that I’ve sat my dirty backside down and made the sofa and a nice dry-clean only cushion cover all dirty (really she should know better than to get dry-clean only when I’m around ;).

    In to bed to curl up with my laptop.. Sarah has had to accept that we are an “open” relationship when it comes to my computer and various other electronic gadgets.

    All in all, my perfect rest day. I feel great, and am looking forward to some more roof-painting tomorrow.

  5. czechvegan permalink
    May 15, 2011 6:20 am

    This is so great! I never though rest days were important until I found myself totally worn-out, feeling tired and sad, energy-less. Now I have my rest days and I love them, they work better than any energy drink you could ever try (not that I drink that crap). It is so nice when you can sleep a little longer, not wash your hair and enjoy your day just with a couple of stretches and an easy walk if desired.

  6. May 15, 2011 10:14 am

    I get a bit antsy on rest days but I am beginning to be able to relax and enjoy them knowing I don’t have to figure out where to fit in my workout.

    I’m happy to work out in the morning, afternoon or evening and prefer the afternoon the most. I can’t do early morning workouts because I’m just not a morning person, and if I workout before 8am I tend to be falling asleep by lunchtime no matter what time I went to bed or what I had for breakfast.

    Good luck with your exam!

  7. May 15, 2011 10:40 am

    I like to run in the morning… I’m the same, the later I leave it the more likely I am to not want to do it..

  8. May 15, 2011 11:16 am

    Ha ha, not having a shower on weekend mornings is the way forward! And sometimes I really hate having to wash my hair 🙂
    Best thing about rest days is definitely more sleep and just less rushing; I hate that about the week that I’m always clockwatching – but always late!
    Hope you have time for some relaxing with everything else and good luck for the exam x

  9. DonnyFan permalink
    May 15, 2011 12:13 pm

    I’ve had 2 rest days after 7 days exercise on the trot and, I have to admit, that the first of them was very welcome indeed! I know I’m getting a little obsessive when I start twitching about not exercising, but on Friday my body knew it needed a rest.

    Sadly the 2nd rest day was forced on me due to a humdinger of a hangover (details to come on that!).

    As for the time of day…. mornings every single time. If I leave it to the end of my working day it just doesn’t get done unless I really really really force myself.

    Then it’s not fun….

    x

  10. May 15, 2011 2:49 pm

    Morning workouts all the way!

  11. May 15, 2011 4:42 pm

    Totally the same on Sunday’s, although I generally do domesticated crap cleaning, washing etc.

    Amen to not washing the hair!

Leave a Reply

