Skip to content

Sunday Grub

May 16, 2011

Happy Monday everyone. I’m stuck at home for another couple of days studying for my exam on Wednesday, but I managed to take a day off yesterday to have some time out with my parents. I haven’t posted a day’s eats for a while, so I thought I’d show you what I might eat on a typical weekend, including a meal out.

I was planning a long run yesterday morning, so I thought that I needed some fuel inside me to get me round. I have the problem that I really suffer if I’ve got anything in my stomach when I run. Usually I run as soon as I get up in the morning and just eat a few dates or a glass of juice beforehand. Yesterday I got up bright and early and as an experiment ate a couple of slices of wholemeal toast with a little PB and half a sliced banana.

15May11_1

I then waited two and a half hours before heading out for my run, and I had absolutely no stomach-related problems on my way round – result! I’ll definitely have this again before my race. Last week I scoffed a bowl of cereal too fast after my long run and made myself feel very sick. This week I had a small glass of soya milk and then showered and got dressed. I then ate my second breakfast (too big to be called a snack!) of Dorset Super High Fibre muesli, branflakes, chia seeds, blueberries and more soya milk.

15May11_2

I was STILL hungry after this, so there was also an unpictured Coco Loca Nakd bar.

Around lunchtime I went with my parents to Tatton Park, which is a National Trust property. The first stop, as always, was the tea shop, where I had a lovely bowl of celeriac and aubergine soup with a bread roll.

013

A day out walking around some lovely gardens and a stately home was just what I needed to calm my mind. The Japanese garden was particularly beautiful.

017

And I made a new friend …

014

On the way home we stopped at a pub and I had a traditional Sunday dinner with roast ham. I very nearly ordered the veggie enchiladas, but I knew I would be jealous of everyone else’s meals if I didn’t just go for the roast.

024

I don’t eat much meat anymore, so I struggled to even get through half of the ham, but I did eat that giant yorkshire pudding and most of the veggies (that were meant to share). What can I say … I’m a veggie-eating monster! The glass of crisp white wine went down very nicely too!

Before I went to bed I had a gorgeous bowl of fruit and some natural yogurt with a little trail-mix mixed in.

15May11_3

I was totally pooped after all that fresh air and good fun, so I went to bed at 9.30pm!

What’s your idea of an ideal Sunday afternoon out?

Is 9.30pm too early to go to bed? I had to force myself to stay up even that late!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 1:01 pm

    Looks like you had a lovely day out! Mu ideal Sunday afternoon out would be a trip to the Newcastle quayside to look round the markets and then off for a nice lunch. I’m often in bed early but I am an early riser!

  2. May 16, 2011 4:43 pm

    My ideal Sunday would be waking up at about 8am after having got a good nights sleep, putting some coffee on to brew while I collect the papers, take papers and coffee back to bed to wake up slowly, get up have breakfast, go for a nice long hike with friends, then back for dinner and Sunday evening telly.

    Nope, 9:30 is not too late.

  3. May 16, 2011 4:59 pm

    I do like a nice wander around a National Trust house (well, the gardens) and the tea room would be my ideal visit after that 🙂

  4. May 16, 2011 7:42 pm

    Great that you’ve sorted out your pre-run nutrition — I think with the long runs it’s good to get something substantial in you, especially if you are looking to building up distance in the future.

    The Sunday roast looks great too — I love those kinds of afternoons. Wander round a park, good food, cheeky glass of wine.. 🙂

    And I think 9.30 is a perfectly acceptable time to go to bed. I went at 9 the other night!

  5. May 16, 2011 8:18 pm

    That Japanese garden looks so beautiful! All I’d need is a hammock, a good book and a cocktail 😉

    9:30pm ain’t too early to go to bed, having fun is tiring lol

  6. May 17, 2011 2:40 am

    I would love to go to bed that early every night! That’s like my ideal bed time, but lately I’ve been staying up later and later!

  7. May 17, 2011 2:10 pm

    That looks like a lovely Sunday. I like to spend my Sundays taking long walks with the pup, spending some quality time with the bf, cooking, and doing all those little errands that need to get done for the week.

  8. May 17, 2011 10:30 pm

    Glad to discover your blog. Its always interesting to see details of what other people eat. The Japanese gardens look so peaceful

  9. May 18, 2011 10:53 am

    All your pictures are so pretty! You ahve a very healthy diet!

  10. May 18, 2011 5:21 pm

    What a beautiful park!! I love PB and banana toast too! Yum!!

    My ideal Sunday, spending time with my husband…whether it’s the park or just an afternoon of lounging, I’m happy just to hang out! (and not work!)

Leave a Reply

