Skip to content

Runners–Some Advice Please

May 20, 2011

First of all, I have a confession. When I first went to the podiatrist and got diagnosed with a broken sesamoid bone in my right foot he also noticed that I had a tight iliotibial band (ITB) in my right hip and upper thigh. I’d noticed a tightness myself over the past couple of years, but never paid it too much attention. Mr Podiatrist packed me off to the chiropractor to get treatment for my ITB, as well as soreness in my pelvis and lower back (all caused by my wonky biomechanics). I had five treatment sessions and it all felt a lot better, with just some residual tightness. He also gave me some exercises and stretches to do at home.

Well … that was about a month ago and I’ve been very bad at doing any of the stretches and I haven’t iced at all like he suggested. At the same time I’ve been increasing my running mileage as part of training for my first 10k race in June. You can probably see the conclusion to this coming …

Yes, my ITB syndrome has flared up again. It’s only really uncomfortable when I run for longer than about 40 minutes, but I’m aware of tightness when I’m just sitting around. So, I’m massaging it with the implement recommended by the chiropractor – the remote control! Boy, it hurts really badly when I do that, but I must persevere. I’ve also been icing and stretching regularly over the past couple of days and I can already feel a difference. Hopefully this will do the trick, if not I’ll be returning to the chiropractor.

Do you do anything to prevent injuries or nip them in the bud?

The advice I need concerns the 10k plan I’m following. It’s a 10 week plan and I’m coming up to the end of week 9. The problem is I’ve actually got 4 weeks until the race because I left contingency weeks in case I had to repeat weeks or I was ill or injured. The last week of the plan is a short taper, so I don’t want to do that yet. That means that for the next 3 weeks I’ll have to come up with my own plan.

FYI – this is the plan for week 9 that I’m following this week (there’s also been some cross-training in there too):

Monday 25 min easy
Wednesday 25 min of 1min intervals
Friday 20 min (effort 7/10)
Sunday 60 min easy

I will probably adapt the short mid-week runs by adding a couple more intervals and generally mixing it up a bit.

My main question is: should I be adding more time to my long run and if so how much? I’ve no idea how far I get in 60 minutes because I don’t measure my runs at the moment. Bear in mind I’ve only been running outside for 9 weeks – it’s fair to say I’m no speed demon!

Many thanks! Have a great weekend everyone Smile

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 4:47 pm

    If you’ve been running for a few weeks you probably aren’t that far off covering 10k in 60 minutes. If your injuries don’t appear then you could start adding a few minutes at a time to your longer run. As for injuries I had runners knee / bad IT band last year that put me out of action for a month. It was mainly due to overtraining and biomechanics but this year I’m keeping an eye on any tightness and using my foam roller as well as making sure I don’t over train (I also have inserts for my shoes which have made a huge difference!) Oh, and yoga! I’m finding that really helpful for making sure I stay stretched out. hope that helps a bit 🙂

    • May 22, 2011 11:25 am

      I’ve wondered about using a foam roller. I’m getting good results from my remote control technique at the moment, so I think I’ll stick to that for now 🙂

  2. May 20, 2011 5:03 pm

    I bet you are close to 10k- my first one took me 70 mins (I am a plodder) and have cut it down to 63 as my quickest I think. So if you want to make sure you have done the distance you could look on http://www.mapometer.com to see how far you have covered, or add on another 5/10 mins to be sure.
    I think with a 10k you can maintain the distances and keep working on the speed a little.
    🙂

    • May 22, 2011 11:24 am

      Thanks – I think you’re right. I won’t increase my time too much (maybe by 5 or 10 minutes and I’ll try to work on increasing speed.

Trackbacks

  1. Non-Scale Goals « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

