Skip to content

Non-Scale Goals

May 24, 2011

Hey! I hope everyone has had a good start to the week. I’m off work next week, so I’m limping through this one, looking forward to some R&R and hoping for some nice weather (although after getting sunburnt this weekend I WILL remember sunscreen!).

I’ve not really set goals on my blog before. I’m a bit of a goal-cynic – a lot of them seem to go by the wayside as soon as they’re made. Of course, some do stick, like my goal of reaching and maintaining a healthy weight.

After losing some weight a couple of years ago I’ve been successfully maintaining a healthy weight for a little while now. Yet, unfortunately I still don’t have all the answers or a magic formula for how to do it. I eat a mostly healthy diet which I really enjoy, with some more “unhealthy” things thrown in to stop me from going completely insane. Sometimes though I feel like I’ve tipped over into eating more cakes, sweets and chocolates, and dipping into the box of cereal or bag of trail mix at every opportunity.

And, I get the urge to step on the scale and lose some weight. There’s nothing wrong with weighing yourself as a tool for losing weight – I was weighed every week at Weight Watchers and it really motivated me to keep on track. However, for me I think it’s more a case that I occasionally slip back into a diet mentality, when in fact I want to move a way from that. I have the lofty aim of living like a person that has never had to worry about their weight (I’m hoping it’s possible).

So, I’ve been thinking about setting myself some non-scale and non-weight related goals that will keep me on track, make me feel good about myself and improve my health.

1. Keep a food diary

When I first started this blog I recorded most of what I ate. I soon got fed up of photographing and writing about everything that went in my mouth, so I treat it as an occasional post now. I do find it really useful to write down what I eat though. I can look back with pride at a really well-balanced day and it helps me to think twice before having that second (or third, or fourth) slice of cake.

I picked up a really pretty notebook from WH Smith (pretty things motivate me)

24May11_1

I won’t be counting calories, or anything else for that matter, just writing down my eats.

24May11_2

2. Look after my injury

I mentioned in this post last week that I hadn’t been diligent in following the advice that my chiropractor gave me and my ITB injury had flared up. I think the biggest favour I can do myself right now is to make sure that I stretch it, massage it and ice it regularly. I’m going to set myself the target of doing that at least 2-3 times daily.

3. Practice yoga twice a week

This goal is related to goal number two. I went to a yoga class last night for the first time in a couple of weeks and afterwards I felt relaxed and completely stretched out. The mix of postures really benefitted my ITB, as well as my back and pelvis, which I also have problems with. I’m committing to adding another class to my weekly routine and when life gets in the way and I can’t make a class I will do at least half an hour’s practice at home.

… I think that will do for now. I’ll revisit them in a month’s time and see how I’m getting on!

On to this week’s fitness routine. I’m freestyling my 10k training now because I’ve come to the end of Zest’s 10k plan. I have three more weekends of long runs until my race, so I’m going to take the advice I got last week and add just a few minutes to my long run each week and try to work on speed a little (although my aim is still just to get round the course!). I’ve also swapped my usual gym day from Thursday evening to Friday. The reason being that I nearly died on my Friday morning run last week – it was meant to be faster paced, but my legs felt like lead weights. I’m hoping by doing that run on Thursday instead my legs will be fresher.

Monday 30 min slow run, yoga class (COMPLETED)
Tuesday Level 2, 30 Day Shred (COMPLETED)
Wednesday 27 min interval run, Level 2 of the Shred
Thursday 20 min run (effort level 7/10), yoga class
Friday Gym
Saturday Rest
Sunday 63 min run

 

Do you like to set yourself goals, and do you generally achieve them?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 6:41 pm

    I am not much of a goal setter really, I much prefer a plan to tick things off. I do think things in my head but never blog the goals or write them down really- but I am just trying to be healthy which is a wishy washy goal (and not a smart target). Ticking off training runs and sessions make me feel like I am achieving things so I do it that way.

  2. May 24, 2011 7:20 pm

    I also have a pretty notebook to log what I eat! I like setting myself concrete goals, but I tend to be to ambitious and end up not achieving all of them.

  3. May 24, 2011 8:25 pm

    I am a list maker and a goal setter, however I am FOREVER changing them, does that count 😉 ?

  4. May 25, 2011 3:43 am

    I love your goals! I have totally bought myself a pretty notebook to write down my eats in too 🙂

  5. May 25, 2011 7:44 am

    I’m an incorrigible goal setter. Unfortunately I’m not very good at achieving them within the time I set myself, and I also change them when I get close to achieving them. I’ve been trying to get to 10stones for aaaages, and now I’m bouncing around 10.5 stones I’m beginning to think, ‘Maybe I should slim down to 9.5 stones…’

    I think what’s more important is getting on the path to achieving your goals. Every little step is an accomplishment, or at least that’s what I tell myself!

  6. DonnyFan permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:40 am

    I could have written exactly what Lara did! Although…. since starting my blog I did set myself some goals for 2011 which I periodically revisit and review, and for May I set myself some goals which I will review next week 🙂

    x

  7. czechvegan permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:57 am

    Your goals are great, I wish you good luck with achieving them! 🙂 I don´t set myself goals, well maybe only short times ones, usually to reach my academic achievements… But I would probably struggle with reaching long term goals, so I really admire you 🙂

  8. May 25, 2011 9:18 am

    I find setting goals incredibly motivating – but I think that approach just suits my personality. I usually do achieve them because I make sure that they are realistic! Your goals sound really good, I’m sure you’ll do great 🙂

  9. May 26, 2011 4:02 pm

    I always find it hard to keep a food journal, because Ive never particularly counted calories and always find myself ‘grazing’ through the day rather than eating main foods, you know? But I love the idea of keeping a food diary and not weighing yourself – I think this is a massive step in recovery!

    Love to you girlie x

Leave a Reply

