Skip to content

A Page From My Food Diary

May 26, 2011

I always write “dairy” when I mean diary and vice versa – stoopid brain! I’m feeling chilled and happy this evening. Not only did I win Leanne’s Trader Joe’s peanut flour giveaway (woohoo – I’m very excited to try it – thanks Leanne!), tomorrow is my last day at work before I have a week off. I’m going to spend some time with Peter in Cambridge, meet up with my Mum in London for a few days and then head to Lincolnshire for Peter’s cousin’s wedding.

One of the goals I set for myself on Tuesday was to keep a daily food diary. I haven’t shared my daily eats for a while, so I thought I would today. I didn’t manage to take a photo of everything I ate, but the important stuff is here.

I started my day at very early o’clock with a few dates to fuel up for my run. The dates did the trick because for the first time I managed to successfully pick up the pace for 20 minutes. Whenever I have to do a faster run I always flake out after about 5 or 10 minutes – I guess I’m not a speed demon quite yet. My mp3 threw up some good tunes that keep me going, even though my lungs were burning. Go me!!

When I got home I served up the overnight oats I’d prepared.

26May11_1

This was quite a concoction – oats, flaxseed, goji berries, oat milk and a mushed up banana all soaked overnight and then topped with some delicious fresh blueberries and natural yoghurt.

I always take plenty of snacks with me to work because I get the munchies when I’m sitting at my desk. My colleagues keep an endless supply of biscuits and cakes, so it better to take my own healthy stuff.

26May11_2

The Food Doctor roasted soya beans are so moreish – it’s a good job I didn’t actually take the whole pack with me, because they would have all been gone by now! I decanted the recommended portion into a plastic bag to stop temptation.

I usually make up a salad box for lunch. I aim to have a complex carbohydrate, protein and some vegetables every day – this one did the trick:

26May11_3

You can just about see the sweet potato underneath the spinach and cucumber. I topped it with a boiled duck egg. Look how big the yolks are – they were rich and flavourful. I love eating eggs when I know where they’ve come from – these ducks belong to one of my Dad’s colleagues.

I’ve been quite highly strung all day today – for no particular reason, just having one of those days. So I really needed the new yoga class I went to this evening. My blood pressure rose when I nearly missed it because of the rubbish traffic coming home. I was also starving before I went, so I ate the rest of the sweet potato with some cottage cheese (unpictured because I was in a major rush). I loved the yoga class – I might write more about it at some point, but it was just what I needed.

Dinner was one of my staples – quinoa mixed up with some chick peas and then topped with vegetables and pesto – yummy!

15Apr11_5

I’ve finished the evening with a few strawberries and a grapefruit. I guess I’ve been in a fruity mood today!

What’s the best thing that’s happened to you today? Winning the PB flour for me Smile

Do you like yoga? Have you tried different forms of yoga? I’m surprised at how different my two classes are, but that’s a good thing!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 8:04 pm

    Yeyyy! Welcome girl 😀 I’ll post for you tomorrow! xx

  2. May 26, 2011 8:16 pm

    Best thing today has to be getting to Body Pump class 🙂 was awesome.
    I’ve tried yoga, only ever been to classes a few times years back and do a DVD occasionally. Its something I’d like to do more of but seem not to??!!??!!

  3. May 27, 2011 12:07 am

    Quite the healthy eats! I try to bring healthy snacks with me as well and I usually try to bag a proper portion- if I have the whole package in front of me, I WILL eat it all!

  4. May 27, 2011 6:12 am

    Yay for winning peanut flour 🙂
    I take healthy snacks too as the coffee table at work usually has biscuits and stuff on (it had doughnuts the other day) so I like to have something healthier so I won’t be tempted.

  5. May 27, 2011 6:33 am

    Ooh I like the sound of your quinoa/chickpea/veggie dish. That sounds like a good “can’t be bothered to cook” dish! (No offence meant!)

    Enjoy your week off too — sounds lovely!

  6. May 27, 2011 1:55 pm

    Congrats on winning your pb flour! The yoga I’ve done has been ashtanga which is quite fast paced – I would love to try bikram or hatha yoga to see how it compares!

  7. May 27, 2011 2:32 pm

    Huge congratulations on winning the giveaway. You’re in for a real treat with the peanut flour: I can’t live without it.

    There’s so much variation with Yoga. I wish there were some high-energy forms around for me to take because then I wouldn’t feel so guilty when not running: some of the more advanced yoga poses such as wheel actually replicate a similar high/sense of self esteem. I would love to try power yoga, ashtanga, bikram. Sadly there’s only slow as molasses hatha or iyengar offered where I live.

    xxx

  8. DonnyFan permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:08 pm

    oh I did my first ever yoga DVD at home yesterday – it was FAB, I loved it! It was really challenging – surprisingly so.

    twas just a DVD called ‘I love yoga’ featuring Jane Middlemiss. When I first put it on to play and she started talking I didn’t think I would be able to play it all the way through (her voice was doing my head in…..) but luckily the guy with the sexy Californian accent did all the talking 🙂

  9. May 28, 2011 2:49 pm

    Your salad tubs always look so scrumptious!
    And I have tried yoga, though I didn’t really ‘feel it’, I prefer much more strenuous forms of exercise if im going to exercise at all!

    x

  10. May 29, 2011 12:26 pm

    thankyou!

Leave a Reply

