Skip to content

Back In Blogland

June 7, 2011

Hello – it’s been a while! I had the week off work last week and was very busy doing lots of nice things. I’ve been reading all your blogs on my phone, although I haven’t managed to comment (I’m back on it I promise). So, there’s much to catch up on – I could probably write I very long post, but I’ll try and keep it short and sweet.

This is what I’ve been up to:

1. I went to London with my Mum and took in some culture

We went to see Betty Blue Eyes, which was amazing – it definitely has a place as one of the best musicals I’ve ever seen.

Betty-Blue-Eyes_1872289b

It’s based on the film “A Private Function” and is set around the time of the Queen’s marriage to Prince Phillip. It was hilarious and sweet and the pig is voiced by Kylie Minogue!

We also saw an excellent play called Butley starring Dominic West (off of The Wire).

butley-dominic-west-007

Both my Mum and I weren’t sure whether we wanted to watch this, but I’m so glad we did – it was fantastic. It was funny, sad and really well acted.

2. I ate some great food

I introduced my Mum to great vegetarian food. We went to the World Food Cafe in Neal’s Yard twice. I didn’t take any pictures (I know – I’m a bad blogger), but you have to take my word that it was delicious. I had meze the first time I went and Egyptian falafel on my second visit.

I also went to Whole Foods for the first time ever! I loved it – it was everything that I had imagined. I managed to spend a lot of money on not a lot (OK, mainly chocolate and energy bars). We also had some salad from their salad bar. It made me really sad that we don’t have anything like that in Leeds – please Whole Foods can you open a few more stores?

3. I was photographer’s assistant at a wedding

Peter’s cousin got married at the wedding and Peter was asked to take some informal photographs. It was a looooong day and really hard work. We were at the hair salon at 8.30am to take photos of the bride getting her hair and make-up done and we didn’t get to bed until 2.30am on Sunday morning!

Peter did really well and took some gorgeous photos. This is the cake, which was made by his Aunty (what a multi-talented family!).

IMG_6459_01

The flowers are all sugar craft – it was just mind-blowing! In case anyone is looking for a wedding cake here’s the link to her website: http://www.toptiers.co.uk/ Rose lives in Scunthorpe, but is able to deliver further afield.

I was very pleased with my outfit for the day:

IMG_6509_01

The dress was from French Connection and the hair band from Accessorize. It was a bit chilly in the marquee though and I spent most of the night wearing Peter’s jacket.

One more photo (probably one of the only ones with Peter actually in it!)

IMG_6445_1

Have you been to see any good plays recently?

Do you have a favourite vegetarian restaurant?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 6:03 pm

    You look lovely! Great dress – and I also ADORE Whole Foods, I used to love Fresh & Wild too when I lived in London. Wish there was more of them – I reckon Cambridge would be a good place for one! 😉

  2. June 7, 2011 6:59 pm

    I love your dress, its so beautiful and feminine.

  3. June 7, 2011 8:00 pm

    Love that dress, so pretty. And beautiful pics too.
    I do not think I have ever been to a vegetarian restaurant, but I just go to Italians and they have all the food I love!

  4. June 7, 2011 9:16 pm

    Such an original and striking dress! And may I say your skin tone is amazing. You are a true English Rose.

    My favourite veggie restaurant is Sky Apple Café in Newcastle, although they have reduced the size of their portions a bit so I’m more likely to be peckish afterwards than I used to be 😛

    xxx

  5. June 8, 2011 3:03 am

    You are so beautiful! I LOVE your dress- it suits you perfectly!

  6. June 8, 2011 8:57 am

    Sounds like you’ve been having lots of fun! You look lovely in your photos! I’m off to Brighton in a few weeks time and very much looking forward to exploring their veggie cafe’s. I know what you mean about wholefoods – I wish they’d open one in Newcastle too!

  7. June 8, 2011 5:31 pm

    Thank you everyone for the lovely comments. I’m not really into fashion, but this dress spoke to me and was in the sale (bonus!)

  8. June 8, 2011 7:30 pm

    Welcome back!

  9. June 8, 2011 8:56 pm

    Me too with the dress — loved it! You two look very cute together 🙂

    I really like Neal’s Yard for veggie and vegan food too, so great choice. I’ve not been to the theatre in yonks — the last time was Hamlet at the NT earlier this year, and it was great. I’m hoping for some Shakespeare in the park soon!

  10. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    June 10, 2011 9:41 am

    We haven´t many veg restaurants around here, but I have two or three faves that I always enjoy.
    I have seen Jesus Christ Superstar a couple of weeks ago and To be or not to be by Nick Whitby. I enjoyed both, it was really interesting and the actors did their best:)

Trackbacks

  1. Trying to Combat Tiredness « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

