Skip to content

Trying to Combat Tiredness

June 9, 2011
tags:

I mentioned in my last post that on Saturday Peter and I were up from 6am until 2.30am taking photos at a wedding (I was helping and providing some moral support). Well, staying up so long has completely knocked me out for the rest of the week.

I have always been a morning person and anything past 11pm is a late night and a rare occurrence. When I finally managed to drag my backside into bed in the early hours of Sunday morning I was already semi-conscious and my limbs were aching. On Sunday I decided that doing my scheduled long run would make me feel better. Thankfully Peter and Spike came along with me again, because without them I think I would have given up. It was quite warm and by the time it came to the last 10 minutes I was really struggling. Peter ran the last bit with me – he’s not a runner and I really appreciated the support. I was really glad that I made the effort to run and it did make me feel better. I have suffered from soreness more than usual though and my legs have only just got back to normal.

I’ve felt other effects of my late night as well. At the beginning of the week I felt really run down and the glands in my neck were swollen. My skin has looked stressed as well – my checks and nose are a little red and I have a few spots sprung up. I’ve been really making an effort with my skincare regime over the past few months, so this is annoying. My digestive system hasn’t appreciated the interruption to my routine either. I had similar symptoms when I got back from Cuba, so I guess I have jet lag from Lincolnshire!

So, enough of the moaning – I’ve been trying to do what I can to recover. My first ever 10k race is next weekend, so I want to make sure I’m in tip-top form for that. First of all I’ve been having early nights to make sure that I have at least 7 hours of sleep a night. I’ve been eating plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables and lots of water to help with my skin. I also decided to skip yoga on Monday night in favour of the sofa and I had an impromptu rest day on Tuesday. I did do an interval run yesterday morning and I was starting to feel more normal, but it was still a bit of a struggle. I decided just to keep myself moving today and went for a brisk walk this morning and have yoga this evening.

I’m planning to do another long run at the weekend, but then I’ll take it easy again in preparation for my race. I’m feeling a lot better, but it’s taken me by surprise how much one busy day and late night has affected me.

Do you have any tips to get more energy when you’re tired? I would normally recommend exercise, but my limbs have been so heavy and tired and I know my body has been telling me to ease off. I am looking forward to a proper workout tomorrow though!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 4:15 pm

    For me getting some fresh air helps, so a nice gentle walk is good. I think you were right to have an extra evening with the sofa, plus limit caffeine as it can be a bit of a cycle when you get tired.

  2. June 9, 2011 5:58 pm

    I’m always hyper (accentuated no doubt by my coffee consumption) and any tiredness I feel is always down to depression rather than physical exhaustion, so injuries aside a run usually cures all. But when tiredness, as in your case, is genuinely physical, I think a combination of rest, gentle exercise and increased water consumption should eventually do the trick in making you feel better. There are a lot of viruses going round at the moment so one could be affecting you if the late night left you feeling particularly run down.

    And thanks for your comment on the last post: they were all insightful but I particularly valued your thoughts and perspective 🙂

    xxx

  3. June 9, 2011 7:14 pm

    Personally I always feel an increase in energy when I increase my intake of raw foods. You could try taking a multi vitamin with the full range of B vits as they are widely related to energy levels. A digestive enzyme suppliment could also help to make sure that you are getting all the nutrients from the foods you are eating as if you are increasing fruits and veggies anyway then this will just help. Hope you feel back to your normal self soon!

  4. June 9, 2011 7:28 pm

    I think the rest will stand you in good stead and a good nights sleep tonight will see you right as rain tomorrow morning, along with a nice fresh green monster and hopefully your world will be closer to normal.

  5. June 11, 2011 2:53 am

    Oh man, I hate working out when I’m really tired! I hate that achy, almost hungover feeling that I get after a late night.

  6. June 11, 2011 7:53 am

    I suffer like you with tiredness — if my routine gets blown then I feel physically as well as emotionally worn down, I can’t work out, and my GI system ends up all over the place. The best thing you can do is just stick to routine as much as possible I guess. Duh! But then we both know that isn’t always possible. It sounds to me like you’ve done everything you can in the aftermath — good quality sleep, rest and general exercise. The only other thing I can think of is no alcohol. That always stops me sleeping well.

  7. June 11, 2011 5:30 pm

    I’ve been really tired lately, my sleeping patterns all out of kilter.. I tried today to eat more during the day instead of drinking so much coffee… We’ll see how it works!! Hope you’re feeling better by the time you read this comment anyway since I’m a bit late!

  8. August 21, 2011 1:23 pm

    I certainly hope you start to feel better very quickly. Just rest and up your fluid intake.

Leave a Reply

