Skip to content

Street Party, Jeans Shopping and Expensive Socks

June 12, 2011

Hey! I hope everyone is enjoying their weekends so far. It’s pouring with rain today, but now I’ve got my long run out of the way I don’t mind having a sofa day catching up with some blog reading, TV and eating some good food.

The important thing is that it was a beautiful sunny day for the street party that was held on the street where Peter lives yesterday. It’s the second annual event and all profits from the sale of cakes, books, bric-a-brac and food go to charity. It’s such a great idea and I spoke to neighbours of Peter’s that I probably would just walk past otherwise.

497

523

There was also live music and juggling and dancing lessons.

507

Unfortunately the neighbours carried the party on into the early hours, but I must have been tired because I managed to fall asleep despite the thumping tunes (maybe the bottle of Magners cider before bed might have helped).

I’m wearing my new pair of Levi jeans today. Shopping for jeans is one thing that really gives me nightmares and I’ve needed a new pair for some time, but I’ve been avoiding it. I have worn Oasis jeans for a few years now, and I still think that they are some of the best jeans on the high street. The problem is that I’m now slap bang in the middle of two of their sizes. I was mourning over this fact with my Mum while we were in London when we walked past the door of a Levi’s shop. On impulse I went in and got measured properly. They have a new system called “Curve ID” which means that they now sell three different shapes – slight curve, demi curve and bold curve. The nice man in the shop measured my waist and then took measurements along my hips. Turns out I’m “slight curve”, which means I have basically straight hips. This makes a lot of sense as trousers that fit me on my waist are usually baggy on my hips, bum and thighs.

Levi_Jeans

My other recent clothing splurge was on running socks. As I’ve increased my mileage I’ve started suffering from blisters on the bottom of my feet, so I thought it was time to invest in some proper running socks. I went into Sweaty Betty and bought several pairs and ended up spending £40 on socks! My debit card was flinching quite a lot while I purchased them, but after my run this morning I think it was probably worth it. It felt like I was running on air – I can’t believe that socks make that much difference.

What was your latest splurge? Do you spend a lot on workout gear?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 1:39 pm

    I like Gap jeans for that reason- most trousers that fit my waist are baggy but the Gap ones fit well.
    I love running socks! I have realised that the money is worth it in the end! Although my last spend were some £18 capris so not too bad.

  2. June 12, 2011 1:45 pm

    I haven’t splurged on anything in quite a long time, but I think the last thing I bought was some new trainers! Oh, and a jumper in the sale from Fat Face.

    I swear by Oasis jeans — they are the only ones that I can find that come up high enough, and don’t gape around my waist. I guess I have the opposite problem to you — for them to fit round my arse troosies often end up too big further up. So it’s funny that we both rate Oasis. I think the slight stretch in them helps though. And perhaps we wear different styles. I’ve been interested in these Levi’s since they came out though. Maybe next time I have some money to spend on jeans I’ll try them out.

  3. June 12, 2011 3:35 pm

    Sounds like those levi jeans are great, what a good idea to be able to get an excellent fit. I have jeans from a few different shops but I’ve always liked Gap and Dorothy perkins do some nice stretchy ones too. That street party looks like so much fun!

  4. June 12, 2011 6:03 pm

    I spend 50% of my budget on workout gear (I go through a pair of running shoes a month on a good, injury-free cycle!) and the other 50% on food 😛 There are so many lovely running tops/capris/shorts that I really can’t go into sports or running stores with my purse in my hand, or I’ll splurge terribly. Start Fitness ownes me!

    Jean shopping scares me so much that I haven’t bought a pair since 2007! I have the opposite problem: jeans are always baggy round the waist and cutting me in two on the hips, so I think I’d be a ‘super, super curve’ fit. I always love the look of TopShop jeans but sadly I’m totally the wrong shape for them.

    Looks like such a fun party!

    xxx

  5. June 13, 2011 9:52 am

    I do love a good pair of jeans that fit well. I love Diesel and Tommy Hilfiger jeans as they have a nice cut. I also love Top Shop for their jeans as they are not as pricey but still fit well.

  6. June 14, 2011 5:39 pm

    Jean shopping gives me nightmares too! I am desperate for a new pair, I’ll try Oasis out. Good socks are expensive but make such a difference! And they last ages so are a good investment 🙂

  7. June 14, 2011 5:51 pm

    I would love to find a decent pair of jeans. Mine tend to be tight on the thighs, fitted on the waist, and baggy on my rear!

    I’m cautious about buying workout gear after spending about £30 on a fluorescent yellow and pink running T-shirt. To this day I have no idea what came over me and I haven’t found the guts to either wear them or take them back. Now the shop has closed down so I can’t take them back. I guess ebay is the answer…

Leave a Reply

