Skip to content

Fitness Enthusiasm

June 14, 2011

Looking back at my posts over the past few weeks I’ve realised that they are mostly about “life” things rather than specifically about food or fitness. That’s a reflection of the fact that life has been good – I’ve spent a few days in London with my Mum, I’ve been to a fabulous wedding, I took part in my first street party and I bought some new jeans and socks. You might be forgiven for thinking that food and fitness have taken a back seat, but that’s not the case. Yes, I’ve been a very lazy blogger and neglected to take photos, but I’ve had some VERY good food (as my waistline is attesting at the mo!) and my enthusiasm for fitness has definitely not waned.

In fact I think I’ve gone a bit crazy. Within a period of about half an hour on Sunday afternoon I had entered the York Run For All 10k at the end of July and the Great Eastern Run in Peterborough (a half marathon!!!) in October and I bought a Garmin Forerunner 110.

My first 10k is the Leeds Run For All on Sunday! It doesn’t seem that long since I entered the race without having ever run properly outside before, but it was actually at the beginning on February. I had a set back soon after I entered when I discovered that I had broken my right sesamoid bone (the one on the ball of your big toe) and had wonky (a medical term) biomechanics, causing ITB syndrome and back and pelvis problems. Some prescription orthotics, chiropractic treatment and two months off impact exercise allowed me to recover enough to start running again about 10 weeks ago.

I’m not actually that nervous about the run itself – I have run the distance a couple of times before with relative ease and I’m not concerned too much about my time for my first race. I am a bit anxious about the whole process though and have re-read my race pack many times (and will do several times more). I have one question for you seasoned racers:

What do you do to keep warm before the race? I think I’ll be hanging around for quite a while beforehand and I feel the cold, but I don’t know what to do with any extra jumpers etc. that I decide to take.

So, running has been going well and I have been sticking to the Zest 10k plan I chose to follow, but the rest of my fitness routine has evolved over the past month or so. I’ve fallen for yoga and I regularly go to two classes a week, although frustratingly other stuff keeps getting in the way and I won’t make it to any classes this week. I’ve stopped swimming for the time being because my enthusiasm dwindled, but I’m sure I’ll go back to it at some point. I’ve been doing more home workouts with the 30 Day Shred and various workouts I’ve found in magazines like Women’s Running. I do feel that my general strength and core needs some more work, so I’ll make that I part of my plans for the next 10k and half marathon.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 7:23 pm

    Oh you must be so excited for your race! I’m certainly no seasoned racer, I think for the GNR I took an old hoody and then just left it at the start line – James took my waterproof with him and met me at the end with it. You’ll do brilliantly!

  2. June 14, 2011 7:26 pm

    Awesome that you signed up for those races. You will be awesome!

  3. June 14, 2011 7:54 pm

    I either wear a top which I tie around my waist while I run (for shorter distances and colder weather I don’t mind that) or I am just cold at the start and warm up as I run! I see people wearing bin bags which you can they throw in the cup bins etc.
    Exciting about the races 🙂

  4. DonnyFan permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:03 pm

    wow! that’s fab – don’t fret about the distances, the crowds see you through on the day 🙂 x

  5. June 14, 2011 8:35 pm

    Just found your blog and i love it! It must be so exciting to be signed up for those races and to know that you can achieve something like that 🙂

  6. June 14, 2011 9:15 pm

    Yep, I go on race-entering sprees too.

    At races I usually hand my clothes to my Mum/Dad just before the start…or wear cheap/old stuff that can be easily thrown away while in motion. Unfortunately for the Hadrian’s Wall race I misjudged things totally and had to ditch perfectly good clothes, so now I always err on the side of being too warm (i.e wear less clothing) as I find being hot more uncomfortable than being cold.

    Good luck with all your races: you’ll be fab 😀

    xxx

  7. June 15, 2011 12:14 am

    Yay for signing up for new races!

    It never gets TOO cold here, but I did a 10k on Thanksgiving last year that was positively freezing. My dad gave me his gloves to wear and I was jumping up and down to keep my feet warm. It didn’t work- I could hardly feel my feet for the first mile!

    Do you love your Garmin?! Getting mine was one of the best things that ever happened to me, haha!

  8. June 15, 2011 10:48 am

    Ahh so exciting for the race! I’m not sure about keeping warm, I’ve only ever done races on really hot days, except for one which I arrived late to so I didn’t need to keep warm.. I know some runners buy throwaway clothes from a charity shop and just ditch them..

  9. June 15, 2011 12:08 pm

    Check with the race organisers, they sometimes (I’ve heard, never experienced though) that if you wear an old sweater you can “throw it away” at the start as they recycle them to charities or the like.

Trackbacks

  1. My Current Fitness Routine « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

